We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Hotel Panamericano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Panamericano
Ranked #55 of 202 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

\stayed three nights before going on to Val Paraiso Cruisde centre, comfortable rooms with large beds,plenty of choice at breakfast, close to city tour bus stop, and to shopping areas.Frontdesk helpful. Good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hello Darryl;

Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. Our hotel is indeed conveniently located with very affordable prices, which makes it a superb choice for travelers visiting Santiago.

We certainly hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

The front desk was helpful and courteous. The hotel is an excellent location and the area is safe. Many restaurants and coffee shops around. The breakfast was very acceptable given the price paid for bed and breakfast. My two complaints: they put a bottled water next to your bed with no price / anything to denote that it is not complimentary - then when you checkout you are hit with a high priced bottle of water to pay for. Please hotel management make the charge clear to your guests like in other hotels - a simple note either complimentary or the price!! Also they lost my credit card slip used for the "security deposit" when I can to reclaim it at check out - again management please ensure this does not happen!!. Other than that a nice hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darryl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Darryl;

We thank you for your words at TripAdvisor. Obviously the situation you experienced with us was not the best, and we deeply regret every single incident you had.

Be sure that your case has also been completely analyzed and corrected to avoid such unfortunate things to happen.

We must mention that the receipt situation you mentioned was a mere accident, the situation was completely exceptional, and we have corrected the protocols to insure it never happens again.

Also, if possible, could you please send us your personal information, since we agree completely on the Bottled Water issue, and we would like to give you your money back.

Our every best.
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a lovely stay here all the staff were really friendly and the food was quite nice but on the last day we popped into town for half an hour at around 9 in the morning before checkout (12pm) to come back and find we had been robbed of a 10£ note and a 20€ note which was left in one of our hand luggage to use whilst waiting for a connecting flight in Paris. this was done by one of the cleaners who clearly entered the room for this purpose she had no need to enter the room as it was not yet check out and there was still a couple of hours left till checkout. We spoke to them and they admitted it and offered to pay the money back, they never did!
The safe was jammed but other than that it was a nice stay. I was just disappointed that they hire staff that would do this, they left me in Paris (which ended up to be a 12 hour delay) with no cash.
Also there was a lot of building work going on at the time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighleigh269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Leighleigh:

We here at Hotel Panamericano have read your message, as we do with all reviews that we get, in deep and serious fashion. It is by this reason, and because we know the prestige we have, and the quality of workers that we have, that we were very surprised at this review sent by you.

This was until we read a very confusing part. You mention about being stuck, thanks to the theft you suffered, for 12 hours in Paris.

We must remind you that we are a hotel in Santiago, Chile, so, there is no physical way to be related to a theft in Paris.

As a Hotel, we would like to formally ask you to correct, or better yet, ask for a comment deletion, since it's the reputation of a hotel many miles, and continents away, that you are affecting, and in no way can we be accused, or even related, to the situation you experienced.

We are, however, eager to have you as a guest for a future visit to Santiago, Chile (no relation to Paris,. France, whatsoever) if you choose to come.

Thank you in advanced, and warm regards

PR Management,
Hotel Panamericano
Santiago, Chile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Good location very close to the tourist attraction and metro station. The room was clean and the area around the hotel safe. Front desk helpful and courteous. Breakfast could be improved. WIfi excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hello Rossgoa;

Thank you for your kind words about us here at TripAdvisor. We appreciate, and look for constant feedback from our guests, since your guidelines is what helps us improve everyday.
We are truly glad you had a great time with us, and hope to see you again soon.

Our every best.
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for two nights in early February. Contrary to some other reviews we found the front desk extremely helpful and courteous. Their English was impeccable. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a huge bed. We had no problems with the shower which was hot and powerful. Breakfast was adequate, although I agree that the staff could have been a bit friendlier. We had a lovely time in this beautiful city and would recommend the tourist bus, tickets were available from reception. The bus stop is just round the corner from the hotel. For the price this hotel is good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hello Trevor;

Thanks for sharing your experience at our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. Our hotel is indeed conveniently located with very affordable prices, which makes it a superb choice for travelers visiting Santiago.

We certainly hope to see you back in the near future.

Very best,
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hotel is clean, and well located. Though downtown I did not find the location dangerous. It's possible to walk to many of the sites in Santiago such as the Museo de Arte Pre-colombino, Plaza de Armas, Plaza Constitucion, Cerro Sta. Lucia and the shopping galleries on Paseo Huérfanos, Paseo Ahumada . The breakfast is good with a table for fresh fruit, another for breads, another for cold cuts, and a table with scrambled eggs. Juice is also served along with coffee,hot milk, and tea. However, I found the staff surly and not very helpful. They do not speak English or Portuguese and don't seem willing to speak Spanish slowly. The restaurant staff is also surly if you don't speak Spanish. I would suggest that a hotel so filled with tourists from other countries have a staff more willing and able to deal with foreigners. I would suggest that the staff smile. Smiling is a universal language and goes a long way to help create a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear DKReez:

We appreciate the time taken to review us here at TripAdvisor, since we as a company seek every day to improve. Your comments and advices are always important to us, and will be taken into serious consideration.

We have also organized a staff meeting with every member involved in what you have told us, and after reviewing together our service protocols, we can ensure that only excellence of service is what we will continue to offer

We hope to see you soon,
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is well priced and well located. The rooms are fairly standard, as is the breakfast. It seems that the superior rooms in the hotel have been newly renovated. The standard rooms have furnishings that are a little older, but they are fine and still comfortable. The water in the shower does not get cold, so we mostly had luke warm showers. Nevertheless, I found the bathrooms and the rooms themselves clean. Most of the staff at the front desk spoke little English, if any at all. I recommend this hotel for its location. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dora085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro F, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Panamericano, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hi Dora,

Thanks for sharing your comments about our hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We are very glad to hear that overall you found our hotel up to your expectations.

We have considerably improved our internet service and most of our front desk staff is now fluent in english.

If you are planning to visit Santiago again, we hope to see you back in our hotel.

Very best,
PR Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
RQ Santiago
#47 of 202 in Santiago
502 reviews
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#69 of 202 in Santiago
4,052 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#19 of 202 in Santiago
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Galerias
#73 of 202 in Santiago
901 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#18 of 202 in Santiago
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panamericano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panamericano

Address: Teatinos 320 | Corner Huerfanos, Santiago 8340416, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Santiago
#48 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: £59 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Panamericano 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Panamericano Santiago de Chile is located in the heart of the Centro or Downtown Santiago. The Hotel is located within walking distance from the Government Palace, one of the safest areas of the capital of Chile, which is the Financial, Cultural, Civic and Trade center of the country.Hotel Panamericano stands out among the many deals in hotels in Santiago since it incorporates a full range of hotel services, features 170 cozy and spacious rooms and modern "Junior Suites", tourism services in Santiago and its surroundings, car park, laundry, gym and boxing school for executives, meeting rooms, conference rooms, meeting rooms and rooms for marriages. We have a luxurious VIP meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Panamericano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panamericano Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing