We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, somewhat dowdy hotel, convenient and quiet.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Director Hotel - Vitacura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Director Hotel - Vitacura
Ranked #30 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfy, somewhat dowdy hotel, convenient and quiet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I've stayed at the Director on numerous business trips. The rooms are very large and quiet, a good place for a rest. The hotel is convenient to transit and restaurants, in the trendy area of town. Choices in the area are not huge but this one gets a nod for competence and quiet, if not trendiness and excitement.

Room Tip: I like the n09 rooms toward the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nywla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Isabel D, Gerente at Director Hotel - Vitacura, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoy our hotel and appreciate that you have chosen to stay with us on multiple occasions. We are currently working on renovating the restaurant, bar, and lounge area to make our guests’ experiences most enjoyable.

We hope you come back soon and be pleasantly surprised.

Best Wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    202
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
186
64
17
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Hotel Director has renovated its rooms which are spacious, comfortable and clean. We had stayed at the hotel before but this stay in a renovated room was much better. Most of the hotel has been renovated, lobby, the terrace. The restaurant for breakfast and bar still could be benefited with further renovation. The breakfast is good and the personnel provides kind service. Although it may not be one of the trendiest hotels in the upscale neighbourhood of Vitacura, it certainly is an affordable option with great value for the money as well as a superb location surrounded by great restaurants to eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VNL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Isabel D, Gerente at Director Hotel - Vitacura, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the recent renovations to the hotel as well as the service. We are currently working on upscaling the restaurant, lounge, and bar area. We hope that you come visit us again and that we will be able to provide you with the perfect experience all around.

Best Wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
951 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Don't expect anything at this hotel, service is an unknown word. Another unknown word may be cleanliness, I hate when you check into a room and go to look out the window only to see greasy hand prints on the inside. What are they thinking? I did try the all inclusive breakfast one morning, it was so filthy with food on the floor dirty dishes on over 50% of the tables! no appropriate glassware! cold coffee! it was a mess.
So the answer is No N no No no. Not coming back here ever.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AARDVARKKILLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Isabel D, Gerente at Director Hotel - Vitacura, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We can assure you that we are always working diligently to improve our service and provide our guests with a great experience. Our standards of hospitality are high, and we take very seriously your comments. We want to assure you that your experience is unusual and we will be delighted to have you back, hoping that you will have a better experience.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá, Colombia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This place wasn't perfect, but it was good to stay here for almost a week. I was visiting the UN (CEPAL) so it was walkable distance, and the area has very nice restaurants and coffee places which makes it much nicer to stay somewhere.
Breakfast was nice and plenty though not marvelous. Internet was good also. Staff were not really nice when I asked them questions, as if it was a nuisance to have a guest...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosfpardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakar, Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed 3 nights at Hotel El Director and it was a shield from busy Santiago. Quiet. Polite and courteous staff. Good breakfast buffet. The only con: the room cleaning hours are odd. Not pleasant to hear the vacum noise while trying to catch some sleep in the late afternoon.

Room Tip: mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BineFa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed for 5 nights during a business trip.

The pro's are:

- Great location, close to nice restaurants, shops, cafés
- Everything works as it should - internet, TV, alarm clock
- Massive walk-in closet
- The service in all areas is very good - everyone is very nice and helpful

The con's are:

- Walls are very thin - you hear everything your neighbors are saying and doing.
- The building and the rooms show plenty of wear and tear
- Shower pressure is somewhat below average, but workable.

I do recommend this hotel - not fancy, but just what is needed in a great location and good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanderingEarthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
369 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Hotel Director renovated all of its rooms in 2012, and it is a very nice place to stay, with some great restaurants within short walking distance in a very upscale neighborhood. We booked a suite with a separate living/dining room, and it cost us only $165 a night, a real bargain for this quality of room and hotel. I also saw the regular rooms, and the bedroom area is very similar. Rooms are spacious, well appointed, clean and quiet. Beds are comfortable, with mattresses that are firm but not hard. Bathroom is very modern, offers the usual amenities. Walk-in closet, TV, stereo system, mini bar with sink and cupboards

This hotel is on Vitacura Avenue, not far from Parque Arauco and from El Golf, El Bosque, and Providencia. It is easy to get a taxi in front of the hotel on Vitacura, particularly on working days and busy weekend hours, or the hotel can call you one. The closest metro station at Escuela Militar is a 15-20 minute walk along Americo Vespucio, but a taxi ride costing you US$4-5 will take you there if you prefer not to walk that far. City buses also pass along Vitacura regularly.

Breakfast in the hotel dining room is included and is very good. There are many good restaurants nearby. Just go up the street a couple of blocks to Alonso de Cordova. There you have 3 choices:

(A) Go past Alonso de Cordova along Vitacura, on the right side where you will find a pedestrian alley with several restaurants, around and within the alley. For a fanstatstic steak dinner select Cuero Vaca. Go a bit past the alley along Vitacura for a very good Indian restaurant. Il Fornaio offers more informal salads, sandwhiches and other meals, as well as great breads and pastries.

(B) Cross Alonso de Cordova and turn left on that street to find Starnberg, a German restaurant with both traditional German (Bavarian) and Chilean dishes, all very good.

(C) Cross Alonso de Cordova and turn right on that street, walk 2 or 3 short blocks to Dolce Vita for a very nice Italian restaurant with awesome homemade desserts, or a 2 or 3 short blocks farther to Tanaka, a Japanese-Peruvian fusion (Nikkei) restaurant that is fanstastic, offering peruvian ceviches, tiraditos (thinly sliced raw fish in delicious sauces including Leche de Tigre), Nikkei rolls with creative combinations of Japanese and Peruvian ingredients, and excellent desserts (one of the best brownies ever, as well a fabulous maracuya cheesecake or mousse.

If you go up Vitacura past Alonso de Cordova, on the left side you will encounter a Jumbo supermarket and just a block farther a pharmacy and another smaller supermarket, in case you need anything. Or just go to the convenience store directly across the street from the hotel.

To sum it up, Hotel Director provides clean, comfortable, affordable lodging surrounded by great places to eat in an upscale area, with easy taxi transportation to other areas of Santiago.

Room Tip: For a longer stay, spring for a suite. Request a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Vitacura
Atton Vitacura
Atton Vitacura
#25 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Vitacura
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#44 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vitacura
Novotel Santiago Vitacura
Novotel Santiago Vitacura
#54 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Director Hotel - Vitacura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Director Hotel - Vitacura

Property: Director Hotel - Vitacura
Address: Avenida Vitacura 3600 | Vitacura, Santiago 6670172, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#17 Family Hotel in Santiago
#38 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Director Hotel - Vitacura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Director Hotel - Vitacura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Director Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing