We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice rooms, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Director El Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Director El Golf
Ranked #54 of 198 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and only paid £40 per night, great location close to some good restaurants, good friendly staff, rooms were very nice. Bed was very comfy. Only downside was that the computers werent very good and the wifi was very inconsistent. Santiago is such a beautiful place, would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    104
    35
    6
    0
See reviews for
73
82
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is a very simple, basic hotel that is in a very nice area of the city. It is very quiet and close to tons of great restaurants. It lacks amenities like iron and ironing board and coffee machine. My room had a mini-bar with the basics. The floors are hardwood and the beds have wheels with no stops so you are in for a surprise if you prop your pillows up and sit up against the wall! The hair dryer has only one setting: very hot and slow fan, so bring your own unless you want to scorch your hair. Water pressure in the shower was very weak. The breakfast spread was very very limited too.

A friend called and left a message for me at the front desk, but I never got the message.

This is an okay hotel if you are low maintenance and want to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingEarthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This hotel is the better hotel to stay in Santhiago in my opinion! The location is great!!!
The Las Condes is the best part of Santhiago to stay! There's a lot of restaurants, drugstores, grocery staores, etc. near the hotel! The staff is very helpful and the rooms are so big and comfortable!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eduardo602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

The hotel is well located in a nice part of town handy to restaurants and not too bad at the price when booked over the internet. However when we arived to this place after a stay in peru doing the ince trail we had a bag of washing which we needed doing. We asked how much it would cost and were told there was a price list in the room which we couldnt find and didnt follow this up as we were expecting it to be only a little more than laundry mats which typically charge around $5us a load to wash dry and fold your clothes. We made a big mistake here. Our bill came back with our clothes and was around $140us, which is considerably more than we paid for the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NzkiwiMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Enjoyed our 2 days in Santiago here. Friendly, helpful staff, nice room with fridge for cold drinks, great bathroom and very near the metro, restaurants and supermarket.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauiViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

First off, I didn't have a choice in the matter when it came to selecting this hotel. Our client recommended it due to the proximity to their office and the nightly rate was very good.

First impressions from the website:
The pictures on the website are deceiving to say the least. The hotel is dwarfed by buildings all around it. Don't expect any kind of a view.

Check-In Process:
We arrived very early in the morning...most international flights from the U.S. do. A group of 10 of us were only able to secure a couple of rooms to put our bags down. Regular check in is around 3p. The front desk staff is attentive and responsive, but I felt that some basic people skills were missing.

The Room:
The rooms are a decent size, but are extremely dated and tired. The furniture, rugs, beds, bathroom, fixtures, and pretty much everything look to be at least 30 to 40 years old. This place is screaming for a renovation. Having said that, I only really used the room to sleep in and things were quiet at night.

The Conference Rooms:
Simple...don't have a conference here. Rooms are smallish and once again, in dire need of an update. Our company also had usage of the "Penthouse suite" for a day and this was probably by far the best room in the hotel with a decent view. The room was large, with a loft area with a king size bed and jacuzzi in the master bath. If you must stay here, see what you can do to book this room...however, it still needs an update as well.

Restaurant:
Very small restaurant, but with a very attentive staff. However, having said that, do not eat anything here besides breakfast. There are far too many good places to eat nearby to waste a lunch or dinner meal here.

Location:
No question about it, the location is pretty much the only main positive thing this hotel has to offer. Its in a very clean & safe area of the Las Condes neighborhood with proximity to good restaurants, the W & Ritz Hotels, coffee shops, the metro, etc. No issues riding the metro, by the way, and I'd consider it the cleanest system I've ever been on besides the Washington D.C. metro system.

Internet:
The wireless internet is ok. I dropped my connection a few times. There is a charge to us it in your room....no charge if you're down in the lobby area.

Bottom Line:
Don't stay here unless you have to. I learned that there are plenty of other hotels in the area for the same rate with many modern updates and amenities. I'll be going back to Santiago but I won't ever stay here again.

Santiago is a very beautiful city and I'd highly recommend visiting this city, just don't choose this hotel.

As always, if there are any questions, don't hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolphin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2009

This hotel is in serious need of upgrades in its common areas and the little kitchenettes in the rooms. The friendly staff and good location can't chase away the feeling that you're staying in an old retirement home or something. It's a decent hotel, but for the price I would choose a newer hotel. I'm surprised that people rate it as high as they do. The friendly staff must be what keeps people coming. . .

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
0.2 mi away
Atton Hotel El Bosque
Atton Hotel El Bosque
#34 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Sebastiana Suites
La Sebastiana Suites
#52 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Time Select
Time Select
#67 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eurotel El Bosque
Eurotel El Bosque
#90 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Presidente Suites Santiago
Presidente Suites Santiago
#36 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Director Hotel - Vitacura
Director Hotel - Vitacura
#29 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Director El Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Director El Golf

Property: Director El Golf
Address: Avenida Carmencita 45 | Las Condes, Santiago, Chile (Formerly Director Suites Hotel - El Golf)
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Santiago
#39 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#44 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Director El Golf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Director El Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Director Hotel El

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing