We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth visiting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Santiago
Ranked #41 of 198 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Savonlinna, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not worth visiting”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very disappointing few days visit- rooms are really nice and spacious but service not a five stars. While checking out they tried to charge us extra and did not even apologize when they finally understood were wrong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Santiago, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I certainly apologize for the problems you experienced during your check-out. With your comments it has provided me with an opportunity to look into the problem and hopefully resolve it so it will not happen again in the future.

With Kind Regards,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,169
    516
    174
    60
    49
See reviews for
378
724
94
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice spread of appetizers, beer, wine and other drinks for happy hour (from about 5 to 8pm).
Very good service -- even made complimentary pisco sours.
If not very hungry, you could easily make a dinner out of the food.

Be aware that even though breakfast is included on exec floor (just pastries, fruit, cereal), you may not have complimentary breakfast downstairs -- check before as cost was fairly high.

Rooms were comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMfromAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Santiago, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and enjoyed the food and service at the Grand Club. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With Kind Regards,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you are a tourist travelling alone or just as a couple then you may want to consider other hotels in better locations, that being said if you are part of a Tour group with activities planned then the location is fine. Or if you are an independant traveller you can Taxi into downtown in about 25 minutes or walk 15 minutes to the Metro station then catch the subway.
Having stayed at this Hotel I would return even as a Solo or Couple, we thought it was in an excellent neighbourhood and felt quite safe exploring the local area. We dont mind walking or taking public transport to see the sights so it wouldnt be an issue for us.
THE HOTEL ITSELF is a COMPLETE DESTINATION it has 3 on site Restuarants as well as Casual food by the Pool, they include Thai, Japanese and Mediterranean Foods. The Morning Buffet is First Class and there is even an Egg station with Chef to prepare your eggs or omlettes.
The swimming pool is a dream complete with waterfall and lovely surrounding gardens, unfortunatley a bit on the cool side during our stay but would be an oasis in hot weather. There is also a Fully equiped Gym on site and excellent Sauna and change room facilities.
The Hotel is large and feels very Spacious, Rooms are of an excellent size and it appears most are split level with a seperated sitting area with sofa and chair. Beds are very comfortable. Bathrooms modern and well equiped.
Our Checkin was very smooth, checked in as a Group in a seperate room away from Reception Desk. Nice touch.
Shopping Mall large and Modern only 5 minutes walk away, Supermarket a little further in Home Centre Behind the Mall. Many good Restuarants attached to the area at the Mall as well.
It would be nice if the Hotel offered free WIFI, internet charges are a pain for travellers.

Room Tip: We stayed twice, once when we arrived in Santiago and then again for 1 night when returned from Peru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Santiago, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your stay with us and I am glad that we were part of your South American adventure. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Wilts.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Definitely a 5 star hotel. Lovely big, comfortable rooms (ours had a split level down to a big sofa, easy chair and coffee table) where we could sit and gaze through the floor to ceiling windows over incredible views of the Andes! The bed was also large and comfortable and the whole thing was finished off by a modern bathroom with shower, bath bidet and toilet and luxury toiletries - what more could you ask for?

Outside there was a pool which was also breath taking - in a different way though, as the water was incredibly cold! This was the only negative aspect of our experience. We ate in the Thai restaurant one evening and the food was good, if a little expensive. For the other 2 days of our stay we walked the 5 mins it took to reach the large shopping mall with many restaurants to choose from.

The staff were efficient and helpful throughout and breakfast was also very good. I can unreservedly recommend this hotel and would stay again myself in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try to get a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Santiago, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations with the wonderful mountain views as well as the hotel’s facilities. I am glad that our staff also met your service expectations as well. We hope to see you again in the future.

With Kind Regards,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel with excellent service and excellent rooms that was very clean. A very good breakfast buffet with its own "egg chef". The pool area added a very nice touch to the hotel, as a little oasis in the middle of the city. Thank you for a very nice experience!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank H_J_Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Santiago, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I am thrilled you like the hotel’s services and facilities. Please come and visit us again!

With Kind Regards,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Beautiful pool and soroundings. Quiet and relaxing. Excellent restaurants and breakfast. Good service with plenty of people with good intentions, but more correct than effective and knowledgeable. Large convienent rooms. Great location for shopping (5 minutes walk from the largest shopping mall in Santiago), but 10 minutes in taxi to the business district and 30 minutes to downtown. But we enjoyed it and were very satisfied with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view (then you will also have pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Santiago, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay and that you enjoyed yourself while with us.

With Kind Regards,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Really loved this hotel. Our room had large windows facing the Andes, a wonderful sitting area and extremely comfortable beds. Also, loved the pool - it was breathtaking and the pool seats were quite comfortable - another nice thing was the size of the pool towels - big! We received a lovely welcome gift of a bottle of very nice wine along with some fruit. The food in the business lounge was excellent and the servers were extremely attentive. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. It is about a fifteen minute walk to the subway - but you can take a cab there for about $3 USD, If you walk about five minutes - there is a huge mall with a wide variety of stores ranging from Louis Vuitton to Forever 21 - and a large variety of restaurants as well.

Room Tip: Enjoy the pianist in the lobby in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcLorenz, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Santiago, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather is still so beautiful so I am pleased that you had an opportunity to relax by the hotel's pool.

Best Regards,

Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
#7 of 198 in Santiago
836 reviews
Las Condes
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
The Ritz-Carlton, Santiago
#18 of 198 in Santiago
1,287 reviews
Santiago Marriott Hotel
#26 of 198 in Santiago
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Las Condes
W Santiago
W Santiago
#37 of 198 in Santiago
1,609 reviews
Las Condes
Courtyard Santiago Las Condes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Santiago

Property: Grand Hyatt Santiago
Address: Avenida Presidente Kennedy 4601 | Santiago, Chile, Santiago 7560994, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Santiago
#6 Business Hotel in Santiago
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#11 Spa Hotel in Santiago
#22 Luxury Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Santiago 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Santiago hotel is also home to world class, multi-cuisine restaurants, a lagoon-style swimming pool with a waterfall, and the three-story free-standing AKO Wellness & Spa. So, you can enjoy one of the best Spa in Santiago of Chile. The most exclusive golf clubs of Santiago de Chile are only a few steps away from the hotel. Our Las Condes hotel also features a health club where guests can pamper with a variety of beauty and relaxation treatments. The hotel offers exclusive dining in some of the best restaurants in Santiago of Chile and bar options such as Anakena, Matsuri and Senso restaurants, and Atrium Lobby Lounge and Duke`s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Santiago Hotel Santiago
Hyatt Santiago
Santiago Grand Hyatt
Santiago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing