We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fayette Suites Providencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Fayette Suites Providencia
Ranked #179 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Stayed there for 3 nights in May 2009. Very good and calm location on Providencia, near the subway. Friendly and helpful staff. The room itself is pretty small, but since it has also a small living room we had no problems with that. Tiny bathroom, but ok for a short-term stay. Buffet breakfast included in the rate which was nice. Walking distance from the Giratorio Restaurant (also recommend this one) and other restaurants such as Mc Donalds and Pizza Hut. Would definitely stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank priscilla00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    42
    46
    22
    16
See reviews for
22
62
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

This hotel is realy good room.
Is clean and confortable, the bad is the best because the mattress is realy good.
It has a kitchen that you can make fast meals.
It was just me and my girl friend and we eat at the room 3 times.
The bathtube is not for bath is only to hold the shoer water, I didn´t fit in sitet my self at all.
The shoer is realy good but as the hot water is individual in the roon the boiler only last 15 minuts of hot water at time. Then you have to wait 45 minuts to go again, but this is not a problem is was time enough to both of us to take a good shoer.
The breakfast is realy good nothing fansy but bread, ham, salami, turkey ham, cereal, swets every think realy good.
For finishing a good hotel.
Recommended..

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leandrobacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinhedo, SP, Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed in this hotel for the last 8 days.
The Good:
- Excellent location - easy access, walking distance to several restaurants, cafes and the subway. A sense of safety even walking late night in the neighborhood. I doubt one can get a better located hotel at that price.
- Very good and complete breakfast. A pleasant surprise at that level of hotel.
- Staff is nice and helpful, specially the day shift. I've not checked their English as we speak some Spanish.
- Free computers with internet access. While there are only two, I found one available when I needed, even the hotel being almost full.
- Free parking. Just a few parking spots for small cars, but a welcome free service considering the prices for parking in that area. (That is if you are bold enough to drive in the city. Knowing something of North & South America, I would not recommend for American/Canadian citizens to drive a car in Santiago, unless they like some strong emotions).

The Bad:
- Bathroom way too small, at least the ones in the apartments ending "1". It does have a bathtub but it is very small and slippery, be very careful !
- They advertise they offer "toilletries" but all you'll find is lousy liquid soap dispensers, both in the sink and the bathtub. You better buy/take your own stuff.
- Very noisy day and night (traffic noise). Usually hotels in busy streets are noisy during the day and quiet in the night, not in this case, at least the apartments numbered ending "1" are very noisy, both night and day. Strongly recommended to use ear plugs !

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio_Vinhedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFayetteSuites, Manager at La Fayette Suites Providencia, responded to this review, 1 June 2009
Dear Sir, thanks for your quoting.Please let me know urgently what would you like to improve in the hotel to satisfy your stay also with your room. You can use the form in our website and I will respond directly. www.lafayette.cl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

I would not recommend thsi hotel to ANYONE. It is extremely noisy. The problem with the noise is that it is not just from the outside. I could understand noise from being in the center of the city, but instead you are awoken every morning to horrible elevator-type music in the lobby at a blaring audible level. When I asked the front desk to turn the music down on my floor, they told me that they couldn't because it was used to block out the noise from outside. WHAT?!b The noisey hallway music was much louder than anything outside. It's was insane.

Furthermore, the rooms sucked. The paint was peeling, drawers weren't working and most of the outlets didn't work to charge my laptop. There are notices in the bathroom that there is UP to 15 mins of warm water and then it takes an additional 60 minutes to refill the water tank to get UP to 15 mins more of hot water. So if you have a double room- you better shower and shave quickly if you want more than one shower.

The wireless internet came and went. Most times it worked but there would be 5-10 minutes at a time where it didn't work.

Breakfast was ok. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. You can find a better hotel within the same area at a better price.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFayetteSuites, Manger at La Fayette Suites Providencia, responded to this review, 7 May 2009
Dear Mister, I feel very sorry that you are disappointed with our hotel. The location is on a main street and from early in the morning you can hear the usual traffic. The music on the floor can be lowered down manually as there is a visible switch on every loudspeaker to turn down the volume. Concerning the hot water, every room of our building do have an electric heater with 80 liters of hot water and do need 45 minutes to refill. We are not allowed using gas in our building.Our Wifi is working 24 hrs constantly as we use it in the whole hotel with our notebooks as well.Sometimes foreign Laptops do have problems because of their diferent configuration or our providers do have technical issues. To anticipate this problem, we have 2 contracts and pay 2 Internet providers monthly with an automatic switch to assure a 100% Internet for our guests if one of them present technical problems. ( happens a lot in Chile). However I will check it once again to assure everything.
Our hotel do have a maintenance technician from monday to friday.If you or other guest do have a problem, please contact reception desk inmediately and make a complaint . We can fix the drawer in the very moment or change your room, as we want you to be happy during your stay. Please give us the posibility to offer a solution in the very moment. Our 30m2 suites do have wifi,internet ,air conditiong, breakfast and a lot of other services for a low rate. We are known for our good service and warmness and wish to make your stay as pleasent as posible. Thanks for your reclaim about the outlets, we did not know, and we will check them right away in every rooom so that other guests will not have the same problem in a future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any problem during your stay!
Kind Regards Diana Borchard, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santiago hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

Great location and good value for money. Not the nicest of hotels, but it's average. The rooms are clean.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ri_ra_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

I booked this hotel because of its location in Providencia, quiet close to the metro (5 minutes) and the price (US$ 90).

Unfortunately we checked in after 8pm (with the "night crew" in charge who could hardly afford a smile etc). The first room they gave us smelled like a cigar club and the bath tub had several dents and was rusty. After asking the receptionist regarding the terrible cigarette smell he told me that smoking is forbidden in the whole hotel. Mentioning the ashtrays in the room he insisted that it is a non smoking hotel and that hotel guests have to go outside to smoke?! He offered me a different room which we agreed to. After five minutes (and taking away the ashtray from this room) we moved from the 4th to the 7th floor. The cigarette smell was slightly less, the bath room was better.

The room (or suite incl. little living room and kitchenette) has a good size, aircon and if you don't mind the smell and the slightly run down condition it is o.k. for the money you pay (US$ 90).

A little delight was the breakfast, as the breakfast lady is really nice and the breakfast offers a lot of choice etc.

Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and you find 3 PCs in the breakfast room.

  • Liked — The breakfast lady - absolutely lovely!
  • Disliked — The night receptionist and the cigarette smell in the rooms!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ccwestcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFayetteSuites, Manager at La Fayette Suites Providencia, responded to this review, 12 January 2009
Dear Sir,

I feel very sorry you had problems with the night crew. Our hotel dos not offer non-smoking rooms, as you can check in the web of tripadvisor and our webside www.lafayette.cl.
I will talk to recepcionist concerning the wrong information and service and also give instructions to housekeeping concerning the smell in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

Lafayette hotel is very well located (close to metro, in front of Panoramico Mall, and just a pleasant walk from Cerro San Cristobal). It offers an excellent breakfast, and the room
is a nice apartment with living and kitchen.

There is a nice internet access structure (three computers working 24 hours per day), and the staff is gentle.

The only negative point is that the bathroom is a little bit small, but as was written by another traveller, it´s OK if you´re not a hotel snob.

I stayed two times in my visit to Chile in November 2008 (one on my way to Patagonia and another in the return), and in both times I stayed in the rear rooms (numbers 2 and 3) and enjoyed a lot my stay. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Location and breakfast
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Inacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago
Providencia
Menorca
Menorca
#163 of 197 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Hotel Alcala Del Rio
#124 of 197 in Santiago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Panamericana Hotel Providencia
Intiwasi Hotel
#121 of 197 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Providencia
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
Heidelberg Haus Apart Hotel
#68 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fayette Suites Providencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fayette Suites Providencia

Property: La Fayette Suites Providencia
Address: Avenida 11 de Septiembre 2040 | Providencia, Santiago 2040, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Fayette Suites Providencia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Fayette Suites Providencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fayette Suites Providencia Hotel Santiago
La Fayette Hotel Providencia
La Fayette Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing