We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”
Review of Hotel Orly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orly
Ranked #24 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed 21 February 2009

This small hotel in Providencia was just perfect. Friendly helpful staff, charming building with lovely public areas in a renovated fine old home. Coffee and tea are always available, and they put out a nice breakfast in the morning. Plus there is a nice cafe right outside the door, and others very close by. We took a taxi to the Plaza de Armas... too far to walk, but just a few dollars fare. If you have a late flight they'll store your luggage, and showers are available to freshen up before the flight. We were sorry we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RikaWashingtonState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    610
    123
    28
    12
See reviews for
262
932
99
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

We loved the Hotel Orly with its pleasant staff and lovely ambiance. The breakfast room was indoors but had an outdoor atrrium which was charming and there was always a pot of tea or coffee brewing with cookies to keep you going throughout the day. We lucked out with this one. Learned about it in Fodor's and Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDIgirl411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Orly ($110 for a twin bedded room) on February 15th, 2009.
The hotel is located in Provedencia Neighborhood on a tree lined street right off the main avenue. Fronting the hotel is their restaurant "Cafetto" where we enjoyed a very nice dinner and a leisurely lunch. The restaurant is an indoor/outdoor cafe type of restaurant. The food was not gourmet, but it was nicely prepared. The service was slow, but we were not in a hurry.
The room was very nice with 2 comfortable twin beds with very nice ribboned linens. It was not spacious, but certainly not tiny either. The bath was very nice with strong water power, done in marble and tile. Nice big, fluffy towels.
The hotel includes a continental breakfast with scrambled eggs, small omelets, fresh fruit, juices, breads, rolls and cakes. Coffee and tea are also included. Breakfast is eaten in the lovely indoor patio and a series of small rooms surrounding the patio.
The only thing lacking was a newspaper in English or CNN in English, though Spanish CNN and Spanish newspapers were readily available.
This hotel seemed to attract a number of Americans, probably due to its good reviews. A delightful place to stay

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OH2TRVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vieques, PR
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

This is a great hotel. It all starts with the staff. Francisco, Christian and the other staff are wonderful. The hotel is stylish, comfortable and in a great location, near a number of excellent restaurant. We will return to Santiago and we will definitely stay at the Orly again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViequesDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We only stayed for one night here, the last night of our three week trip to Chile. Location is great, right in the heart of Providencia. Many restaurants are nearby and the metro station is only a few blocks away. We had a room facing the back courtyard, and so was very quiet. Rooms facing the street are likely to be noisier. Breakfast was very good, help yourself, and staff were professional and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LKJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Hotel Orly is located in a great neighborhood for walking around and getting to know Santiago a bit. The staff knew it was our honeymoon and set up the room with champagne and fresh fruit. The breakfast on the terrace is an excellent way to start your day. The rooms are a little on the small side so it's worth paying for one of the larger rooms.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lots of stairs - the elevator was out
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jonbanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

After stays at wonderful hotels in Rio, Buenos Aires and Mendoza, we were a bit disappointed with Hotel Orly. There is nothing really wrong with the hotel but the atmosphere and, just in general, Santiago did not live up to our expectations. Santiago is not a lively city like those mentioned above, there seem to be a lot of life missing from the city which is weird with a city that has wonderful parks.

The location of the hotel is great, there are a couple of restaurants right next to the hotel. If you're mobile, you can walk to Parque Forestal and take the gondola up to San Cristobal Hill for a wonderful view of the city sans smog, we didn't have any during our 2 day stay.

We reserved a King Room which was spacious, the bathroom itself was a nice size but the bathtub could have been a normal size: I'm only 5'3" and 110 pounds, so if I say it's small, it's small. Surprisingly, the bed was very comfortable and the noise level wasn't too bad but we could hear the street noise, particularly when the guy with the drums comes around the neighborhood banging until midnight.

The common areas were decent... the sunroom terrace used for breakfast is nice but the breakfast wasn't that great. The hotel has free WiFi and there are two computers free of charge to use on the second floor. However, the front desk area is really small and causes a traffic jam when really busy.

In all honesty, there is nothing wrong with this hotel. After staying at Mine Hotel in Buenos Aires and the Park Hyatt in Mendoza, we just did not feel the vibe with this hotel or Santiago. We felt that we did everything we wanted on our first day, and luckily our wine tour guide in Mendoza informed us about Valpariso which was wonderful - only an hour and a half outside Santiago. We did have the best dinner out of our entire trip in Santiago: if you're looking for good seafood, look no further than Puerto Fuy.

The staff at Hotel Orly were nice, courteous and helped us arrange transfers around the city and to the airport. It is a solid choice but it just wasn't for us.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dewtrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 196 in Santiago
945 reviews
Providencia
Solace Hotel Santiago
Solace Hotel Santiago
#6 of 196 in Santiago
392 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 196 in Santiago
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#14 of 196 in Santiago
323 reviews
Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo
#12 of 196 in Santiago
669 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hotel Ismael 312
Hotel Ismael 312
#11 of 196 in Santiago
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orly

Property: Hotel Orly
Address: Avenida Pedro de Valdivia 027 | Providencia, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Santiago
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#27 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Orly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orly Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing