We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a happy experience”
Review of Hotel Orly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orly
Ranked #25 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Stayed here for a few nights in Feb 09. The main plus point is the quite good food in the hotel street facing cafe. Apart from this it was very disappointing. There were security issues (a ladies bag was grabbed whilst in reception, our private guide said it was the second time this had happened), services broke down (shower, wifi, lift), the breakfast buffet was laid out by someone very confused and bizarrely, every day they ran out of forks! - most annoying of all the reception staff were slapdash. Example; inquiry, how much for a tour to Valparaiso. A question they must be asked almost on a daily basis. No pre printed tariff. Just an off the cuff figure plucked out the air. Speak to another receptionist later that day and get a different figure! Ask about departure times and it takes hours to ring someone.... eventually I booked directly. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. For me they are all over the place and clearly well past their best.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cameraderie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2009

This small hotel in Providencia was just perfect. Friendly helpful staff, charming building with lovely public areas in a renovated fine old home. Coffee and tea are always available, and they put out a nice breakfast in the morning. Plus there is a nice cafe right outside the door, and others very close by. We took a taxi to the Plaza de Armas... too far to walk, but just a few dollars fare. If you have a late flight they'll store your luggage, and showers are available to freshen up before the flight. We were sorry we couldn't have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RikaWashingtonState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2009

We loved the Hotel Orly with its pleasant staff and lovely ambiance. The breakfast room was indoors but had an outdoor atrrium which was charming and there was always a pot of tea or coffee brewing with cookies to keep you going throughout the day. We lucked out with this one. Learned about it in Fodor's and Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDIgirl411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Orly ($110 for a twin bedded room) on February 15th, 2009.
The hotel is located in Provedencia Neighborhood on a tree lined street right off the main avenue. Fronting the hotel is their restaurant "Cafetto" where we enjoyed a very nice dinner and a leisurely lunch. The restaurant is an indoor/outdoor cafe type of restaurant. The food was not gourmet, but it was nicely prepared. The service was slow, but we were not in a hurry.
The room was very nice with 2 comfortable twin beds with very nice ribboned linens. It was not spacious, but certainly not tiny either. The bath was very nice with strong water power, done in marble and tile. Nice big, fluffy towels.
The hotel includes a continental breakfast with scrambled eggs, small omelets, fresh fruit, juices, breads, rolls and cakes. Coffee and tea are also included. Breakfast is eaten in the lovely indoor patio and a series of small rooms surrounding the patio.
The only thing lacking was a newspaper in English or CNN in English, though Spanish CNN and Spanish newspapers were readily available.
This hotel seemed to attract a number of Americans, probably due to its good reviews. A delightful place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OH2TRVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

This is a great hotel. It all starts with the staff. Francisco, Christian and the other staff are wonderful. The hotel is stylish, comfortable and in a great location, near a number of excellent restaurant. We will return to Santiago and we will definitely stay at the Orly again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViequesDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We only stayed for one night here, the last night of our three week trip to Chile. Location is great, right in the heart of Providencia. Many restaurants are nearby and the metro station is only a few blocks away. We had a room facing the back courtyard, and so was very quiet. Rooms facing the street are likely to be noisier. Breakfast was very good, help yourself, and staff were professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Hotel Orly is located in a great neighborhood for walking around and getting to know Santiago a bit. The staff knew it was our honeymoon and set up the room with champagne and fresh fruit. The breakfast on the terrace is an excellent way to start your day. The rooms are a little on the small side so it's worth paying for one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jonbanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 204 in Santiago
1,070 reviews
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#10 of 204 in Santiago
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 204 in Santiago
323 reviews
Hotel Loreto
#20 of 204 in Santiago
850 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#17 of 204 in Santiago
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orly

Address: Avenida Pedro de Valdivia 027 | Providencia, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santiago
#27 Business Hotel in Santiago
Price Range: £86 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Orly 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orly Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing