We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 18:00
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Casa Museo La Chascona
from US$42.67
More Info
from US$86.67
More Info
from US$149.34
More Info
from US$62.94
More Info
Reviews (9,377)
Filter reviews
9,377 results
Traveller rating
5,749
2,830
660
96
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,749
2,830
660
96
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pablo neruda audio guide nobel prize chilli poet mathilde homes literature objects san
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 9,377 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2019

A gorgeous day but no pictures other than the garden. See the film as you start -- it sets the tone. Enjoyable but really no narrative about what you're seeing the rooms. Small giftshop sort of interesting.

Date of experience: July 2019
3  Thank jmdevries
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2019

In high school, Pablo Neruda was the only author that I could understand so I could not give up the chance of visiting “La Chascona”. There were so many things I did not know about him! The guided tour with the audio guide was fantastic and sooooo realistic, it really took me back to the 70’s, 80’s. A great experience, well preserved home.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Arianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2019

Whether you know who Pablo Neruda is or not, this place will be a fun visit. I enjoyed walking around, and enjoyed the multi level set up, I loved the dining room which was colorful and fun. The gardens also allowed for some quiet exploration. His living room offered a nice view of city and unique decor with a beautiful fireplace and Diego Rivera painting of neruda’s partner. It gives a great insight into the author’s and the country’s history. It shouldn’t be missed.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank juliissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2019

I knew nothing of Pablo Neruda before planning my trip to Chile but it was suggested that I view the movie Il Postino (The Postman) which was made in 1994. Seeing the movie made me more interested in his life and this house that he built for his secret love, Matilde Urrutia. The unique house has many separate buildings rising upwards. Audio tours take you through the house with good and thorough explanations. We took the metro closest to the house and it was a bit of a walk to get to it but well worth it. I very much enjoyed my visit to La Chascona.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank tlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2019

The museum was very well done. It begins with a short video, then visitors walk up short flights of stairs to various rooms of the house/grounds. Audioguides in various languages are available. Definitely worth a trip.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank ekh2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews