We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO Guinness on St. Patrick's Day” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dublin Irish Pub

Dublin Irish Pub
Ranked #521 of 4,497 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
420 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“NO Guinness on St. Patrick's Day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We went to the Dublin Pub on St Patrick's Day, hoping for a pint of Guinness to finish off the evening. The pub was filled with people in green hats and scarves, but they had NO Guinness. And there was no place to sit; the pub was packed to the rafters with people pretending to be Irish for the evening. They were all Chileans, as far as we could tell, but enjoying St. Patrick’s Day in true Irish fashion – drinking heartily!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dublin Irish Pub, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Gregory;

Thank you for the comment given to our restaurant through this platform.

We deeply appreciate the time and effort you have put on your review, and we are proud of having been able to please you on your time with us.

We also deeply regret the situation about Guinness you mention. As you very well stated, we were complete packed on St. Patrick's day, and we run out of beer very early during the celebration, as we were surprised by the love and commitment our fellow Chileans showed us that day, and their desire to celebrate St. Patrick's like true Irishmen.

We hope to see you soon, and, this time, surely with a pint of good old Guinness in your hand.

Kind regards,
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    183
    73
    25
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lunch was moderate...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Our server was great. He tried his best to speak English and help us with the menu. We had beers which were great (one was his recommendation). We both ordered hamburgers with fries. The meat was a little pink which in my book not good for a hamburger but huge patty. Tasted fine. Fries were mediocre. To do it over? I would pick another restaurant as there are many to choose from.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dublin Irish Pub, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Barbara;

Thank you for your comment and review here at TripAdvisor.

We hope you to see you soon around here, and we’ll be waiting as attentive as always.

We also appreciate the advice given to us, specifically about the pinkish hue on our patties, and measures have been taken to ensure we give out a better presentation.

Warm Regards,
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Unbelievably BAD!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This place utterly sucks! Just walked out after 1st time trying to get drinks without food...no joy, useless staff!!! 2nd time thought we would order food so ordered beers with a sandwich......waitress hopeless! Waited 40 minutes for sandwich...2 others customers....she paraded a new outfit, greeted passers by but made NO effort to serve us or check on our food...after nearly an hour we paid for beers and left....avoid this place like the plaque....Santiago's bad food bad staff and complacency at its best.....travelled the world for 50 years in Irish bars on every continent.....this is the worst!!!!!!!!!!!!!!L

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lobsterlover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dublin Irish Pub, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Rosie

Thank you for your comment here at the TripAdvisor community. the advice and criticism you have given us will sure be taken into account, and informed to the highest management here at our restaurant.

Rest assure we will deal with any and all matters needed, and the quality of our service and food will continue to improve.

Warm regards,
PR Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No drinks without food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

As mentioned in a few other reviews this place would serve us drinks unless we ordered food. This was the law apparently but one which is being flaunted in plenty of other bars. Anyway, we didn't want food so we left but a bit of a fiasco which was a shame because the selection of drinks looked good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciderboy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“To be avoided...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I won't be long... I went there with 8 friends and overall it was a disaster. Food was disappointing... VERY slow service, cold dishes and 3 of us had stomach pains after eating pizzas. Not really what you want for a friday night in Bellavista. They really need to start caring about the customers... However I doubt they will as the concentration of tourists is very high. Just pick another place as there are plenty around there. Only positive thing is they accepted to take back 1 item as it came so late we already had decided to leave...

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dublin Irish Pub also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Dublin Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing