We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, appealing decor”
Review of Su Merced

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Su Merced
Ranked #26 of 199 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
912 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
“Nice location, appealing decor”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you want to stay near the historic center, this place is ideal. The building has been restored and is appealing in decor. The park view rooms are larger than the street view rooms. The rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms are modern and large. Water pressure was excellent. Restaurant row is just a few blocks away, as is the market with great seafood.
The hotel makes a great cup of coffee and breakfast is included.
On the downside, there is a flat panel TV, but it's tiny, maybe 19 inches. One wonders what the point is. Internet could be faster as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seb_Cortes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Su Merced, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your opinion!

One of our advantages is having a prime location allowing to our passengers to have an easier access to public transport. While they are connect with cultural and tourist activities in the neighborhood Lastarria.

Our interior designs were selected considering keeping a vanguard style without excess. Maintaining the delicacy and sophistication.

Thank you for choosing us!

Will be waiting for your next stay.

All the best!

Kind Regards


Constanza Trejos R
--
Customer Experience & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    91
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
218
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Had a one night stay in Santiago, had read other reviews about this hotel, and it was just as good as everyone has been talking about, It's a great little hotel, close to parks, and the centre of town, the staff where friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seb_Cortes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Su Merced, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your comments !

It was a pleasure to solve your needs.

Our staff will always be aware of your requirements

So we will be waiting for your next stay. There is always something to discover.

..." Time is irrelevant, experience is everything"...

Thank you for choosing us.

We will be here for you.

Wishing a great week!

Kind Regards


Constanza Trejos R.
--
Customer Experience & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and tastefully decorated, breakfast is awesome and the hotel is very well situated to all the trendy parts of Santiago. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet. We stayed there for four nights - three firstly, and then after touring Patagonia and Machu Pichu, we came back for our last night in South America. Returning to the hotel felt like coming home! I don't think you can go wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seb_Cortes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Su Merced, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your opinion!

We're glad to know you enjoyed staying with us !

Our effort its reflected in the smiles of our guests, so the work continues.

We will seek the best alternatives and tools to get our goal of being the best.

Be welcome anytime. We will be waiting .

Wishing a nice week!

Kind Regards


Constanza Trejos R
--
Customer Experience & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Su Merced, and we had a great experience. We were a little concerned when we first arrived (we arrived very late at night and were dropped off what seemed to be a back alley where the walls were covered in graffiti), but our initial concerns were unfounded.

Once we got into the building and checked in, our room was wonderful - extremely clean and modern. Our room even faced a beautiful park, so we had a great view. During breakfast in the hotel restaurant (hot breakfast included in the room rate), we watched all the activity in the park (bikers and runners everywhere).

We stayed for a few days. The breakfast in the restaurant is very good, the hotel location is right downtown, only three blocks from the Banquedano metro station. The Patio Bellavista (a large restaurant/shopping location) is just across the bridge, about a 10 minute walk. We always felt perfectly safe, even late at night.

When we checked out, the front desk held our bags so the we could go on a daytime tour.
Highly recommend this hotel. We would definitely stay again if we were to go back to Santiago.

Just a couple of minor issues. Most of the time there are staff members available to speak English, however, there were a couple of times where the person on duty did not speak any English. Not a major issue if you speak a little Spanish, but otherwise you may struggle. Ordering breakfast was a little confusing. Each night the staff provided a breakfast ordering card on your door handle for you to fill out with what you wanted for breakfast the next day. However, we never got any instructions, so we were confused about if we were ordering room service or if we were just providing the restaurant kitchen with a heads up about what we wanted to eat the next day. It was also unclear whether or not everything on the menu fell within the room rate or if we'd have to pay extra for certain items. We asked the front desk clerk, but he was not able to provide any clarity.

Room Tip: North facing rooms face the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seb_Cortes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Su Merced, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your comments !

It's good to know that your experience was nice at Su Merced.

We will continue giving every possible tool to each member of our staff to allow to give the best of themselves ensuring your welfare and comfort

And as the saying goes:

.." Everyone sees just how it looks , just a few .. what really is" ...

So, Thank you for choosing us.

We will be waiting for your next stay.


Wishing a great week!


Kind Regards



Constanza Trejos R
--
Customer Experience & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denman Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Su Merced. It was a wonderful start to our tip to Chile and Argentina! The room was very comfortable and although on a busy street there was no traffic noise due the quadruple glazing on the window. The restaurant was really good and the service excellent. We ate all our evening meals there. Breakfast was good to and served at the table as space is limited. The young man at the front desk was extremely helpful in obtaining information for us regarding buses and tried very hard to get tickets on the internet. It turns out that foreign visitors can not buy bus tickets on the internet because we do not have and identification number required. He did find out where we could buy the tickets and gave us god directions on how t get there.
I would recommend this hotel and restaurant to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgdayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seb_Cortes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Su Merced, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear,

Thank you for your comments!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed all of our services and always happy to provide our guests a friendly, personal atention.

Su Merced Hotel is the best starting point for any trip. and we provide many alternative and complimentary tours according to what you are looking for.

We will be waiting for your next stay in Chile.

Thank you for choosing us.

Wishing the best

Kind Regards


Constanza Trejos R.
Customer Experience & Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The small hotel is very clean modern and well situated. Close to the excellent tube/subway (except at rush hour). The staff are very friendly and helpful - most with very good English. There is a busy road on one side so if you are in a room overlooking it, it is noisy. The area is relatively quiet otherwise although there are shops and banks nearby. It is also close to a very busy restaurant area which is worth a visit or a meal. Breakfast selection is good with option for cooked eggs.

Room Tip: Room away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seb_Cortes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Su Merced, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear,

Many thanks for your comments!

All guest staying at Su Merced experience our personalized service. Where we provide the best products and services.

We are located in one of the most central locations in Santiago, so that activities both outdoors, restaurant, retail, transportation, etc. are easily accessible to all our passengers.

Thank you for choosing us

We will be waiting you for a future stay

Wishing you the best


Constanza Trejos R.
Customer Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed there with my wife for one 2-night stay and two one-night stays in December and January. This is a smaill hotel located in a beautiful area of Santiago, just facing a park. The hotel is small with very friendly staff. The rooms are nice, even though the streets around can be a little bit noisy. The breakfast is absolutely wonderful. You order your breakfast the night before and they bring you all sorts of foods, and there is almost not limit to what you can order (scrambled eggs with salmon, youghurt, the dish of hte day, coffee, tea, bread, etc...) and refills are all included in the price.
Staff was very helpful to take care of our luggage when we were away visiting Chile. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seb_Cortes, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Su Merced, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear,

Thank you so much for your comment!

Every time we know that our guests have had a very good experience we felt proud, and we see that all the effort is paying off.

As you could see, every time you stayed with us, was a fully new experience.

Our staff is always prepared for what our guests need.

The breakfast that we offer in "Su grill & Wine Bar", are planning on keeping a balanced and healthy diet, allowing the passenger to request more than one serving of fresh food always tasting and seasonal.

We look forward to seeing you on a future stay

All the best


Kind Regards


Constanza Trejos R.
Customer Experience & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Hotel Ismael 312
Hotel Ismael 312
#12 of 199 in Santiago
710 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#16 of 199 in Santiago
333 reviews
Santa Lucia
Luciano K Hotel
Luciano K Hotel
#11 of 199 in Santiago
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Lastarria Boutique Hotel
Lastarria Boutique Hotel
#14 of 199 in Santiago
659 reviews
Hotel Loreto
#20 of 199 in Santiago
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Su Merced? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Su Merced

Property: Su Merced
Address: Coronel Santiago Bueras 121 | Merced 120, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 199 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Su Merced 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant construction, declared a historic preservation, is now an impressive building that blends history and modernity. Its strategic location is in the heart of the city, between Barrio Lastarria and the Forestal Park, allows visitors easy access to the main tourist sites of Santiago. In its exclusive 10 rooms, Su Merced offers first class accommodation in a warm and modern atmosphere, with an on hand and personalized service to make your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing