We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beats all Starbucks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Juan Valdez Cafe

Juan Valdez Cafe
Ranked #406 of 4,532 Restaurants in Santiago
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Lima
Level Contributor
259 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Beats all Starbucks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Always have coffee in Juan Valdez in Alonso de Cordoba and it has the best ham and cheese croissants I've ever had! Coffee is great as well as the view from the second floor.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    100
    39
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, drinks good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Dropped by this coffee shop and ordered the large maracuya (passion fruit) smoothie. They asked if i wanted milk or water in it, and I chose water. It was large and freshly made, with good service.

But I was a bit surprised to discover that the drink was very basic, unsweetened and slushy. Adding some raw brown sugar from the condiment table helped a lot, but overall it was a bit of a disappointment.

A couple days later I had a mocha caliente from the Juan Valdez on 11me de Septiembre avenue, and it was pretty good. We had just walked past a Starbucks a mile before, and it turned out that the Juan Valdez mocha actually cost a bit more than my favorite mocha at Starbucks. Next time i will go with the Starbucks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salta, Argentina
Level Contributor
210 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Santiago!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Great hang out place, great service and excellent coffee! Not open on Saturday afternoon or Sundays plenty parking space available on the streets

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank argiequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

I am just crazy about coffee and this one was a wonderful surprise when I was walking in Isidora Goyenechea. Perfect coffee, smelled great and tasted better... what else can I say? Oh, yes... I wish there was one of their coffeeshops in my country!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DriCa_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

This is the perfect spot for a nice Colombian coffee. It is right in the lobby of the W hotel. Every morning when I came back from my run I would have a nice hot coffee.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Juan Valdez Cafe also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Juan Valdez Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing