We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - like home”
Review of Makus Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Makus Hostel
Ranked #47 of 511 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Arrived at the hostel and was promptly greeted by the hostel owner.
Price is good. I slept on shared rooms but made quick friends with the occupants.
Very hot water (which is cool!).

I found housing sooner than anticipated and the owner had no trouble refunding the days I had already paid in advance.

Would I use this option again? Hell yes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adeluccar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

I spent about a week there during the winter. The blankets were warm for the cold weather, the entire place was cozy, and the family was very friendly and helpful. The location was nice and I had a very nice time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Max408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hostel is run by the owners, and they treat you like you are from their own family. I've never felt so welcomed in another country. They go out their way to help you with your necessities.
The breakfast is good, and one day we woke up at 2pm and the let us have it. You can also cook your own meals.
There's is a common space with TV and a few games.
Good wifi connection.
The rooms (though small) and the restroom are clean.
Near a subway station, good location, in the centre of Santiago.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I've stayed here for three weeks and I feel sad I have to leave. The place is clean, the people are really friendly. It's a wonderful place to stay.you can cook your own meals, the breakfast is good, the wi fi connection is fast, I have to say.. thank you guys and see you soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevebravodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ni_ferraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: òtima localização
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Raquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Landay Hostel
#80 of 511 in Santiago
162 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal de la Barra
Hostal de la Barra
#38 of 511 in Santiago
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Atacama Low Cost
Atacama Low Cost
#350 of 511 in Santiago
31 reviews
Atton Vitacura
#29 of 202 in Santiago
1,903 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#6 of 511 in Santiago
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makus Hostel

Address: Roman Diaz 186 | Providencia, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 511 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: £13 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Union is located near the trendy Manuel Montt, run by its owners, near the Bellavista neighborhood, and downtown Santiago. Parking is available (booked on request and confirmation), free Wi-Fi in its two common areas and in all rooms, also guide our clients on which are the best activities during your stay in Santiago. Hostel Union has spacious dorms and private triple or double rooms with shared bathroom and all of them have innerspring mattresses which makes it more pleasant your stay with us. Breakfast is included and due to its central location is surrounded by lively restaurants and bars. The hostel is located 16 km from Arturo Merino Benitez Airport and 2 minutes walk from the subway station Manuel Montt. We care that our passengers enjoy as much as possible in our beautiful country and for this reason is that they are given the opportunity to leave their belongings on the day they leave us and take advantage until the last minute your stay with us. The hope and regret not being with us. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing