We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming boutique hotel in Providencia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmenere Eco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmenere Eco Hotel
Ranked #2 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel in Providencia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here on the back of TA recommendations and were not disappointed. The hotel is situated in a quiet area, but within 10 minutes walk of the Metro which in Santiago is great for getting you around this big Metropolis. There are a few restaurants nearby and we tried the Indian and Peruvian which were recommended by the hotel and very good. On Sundays there is only one bar open in the vicinity, but the hotel are happy for you to order food in which they will help with. There is a 24 hour coffee bar available which also had nice home made sandwiches and cake. Breakfast is simple, but freshly made eggs or pancakes were a very nice touch.
The only thing I find about these boutique hotels in South America is that invariably they are converted family homes and being a light sleeper I tend to hear most noises and if you are the same then bear this in mind.
Our room was comfortable and we were given a very useful booklet setting out the Eco style of the hotel and what to be aware of.
However, what sets this apart is the excellent reception desk staff, who cannot do enough for you and were brilliant in arranging all of our requirements whilst we were in Santiago, speaking as a minimum Spanish and English. Like other fellow travelers would certainly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    47
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
162
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel was a highlight of our trip. They set it up for us to be picked up from and dropped off at the airport. The staff was all extremely friendly and took very good care of us (and all spoke English which was lucky!). They organized tours for us and, when we had to leave early in the morning for Easter Island, arranged for us to have breakfast before we were to be picked up and taken to the airport. When we returned from Easter Island we stayed in the same hotel. They provide a great breakfast! The pancakes with caramel in the center were delicious.

The rooms were very nice and it has a cute courtyard in back.

The shower did take a while to warm up but we were warned about this ahead of time so it wasn't a big deal to us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyWichita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here for just a single night before flying back home, but EcoHotel was one of the most memorable places I stayed over my entire time in South America. I arrived at 11.30pm and was given a personal greeting, iced tea and a tour of the facility (including the beautifully stocked wine cellar downstairs). After retiring early, the next morning I was treated to a wonderful breakfast that was made up fresh for me of pancakes and chilli eggs. The rooms and hotel itself are impeccable, but the service really swung it for me. It felt like you were staying in a five star property and, although I'd stayed in other very nice hotels whilst in Santiago, I found myself wishing that I'd spent it all here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have a backlog of hotels that I need to write reviews about, but this one was at the top of the list. It was, hands down, the absolute best hotel service I've ever had. It has a lot to do with the staff and it has a lot to do with the fact that there aren't that many rooms, so full attention is paid to all the guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have a backlog of hotels that I need to write reviews about, but this one was at the top of the list. It was, hands down, the absolute best hotel service I've ever had. It has a lot to do with the staff and it has a lot to do with the fact that there aren't that many rooms, so full attention is paid to all the guests.

But that said, there are plenty of bed and breakfasts out there with a couple of rooms, but the service at Carmenere is absolutely phenomenal. We got into Chile after a red-eye flight from the States and hoped that there would be a room ready so that we could at least put our things down. Not only did we arrive to a room that was ready, but we were also offered breakfast. The scrambled eggs and pancakes were outstanding.

Claire, who was at the front desk at the time, greeted us and quickly became the person we relied on for advice on Santiago. But whereas good service is attentive and helpful, phenomenal service like they had at Carmenere is going way beyond expectations - Claire gave us a hotel mobile phone in case of emergencies, the phone is connected to all of the staff through Whatsapp so you can ask questions when you're out and about, Kati helped us reserve a table at a restaurant while we were out, and some combination of Claire and Kati researched and quoted rental cars for us to get for Valparaiso. I know I'm missing other things that they helped us with - it was absolutely invaluable.

Location-wise, it was very central - about a 10-minute walk to Bellavista and Cerro San Cristobal and walkable to Mercado Central, Plaza de Armas, and Providencia. It's also in a quiet spot, but close to the action.

When the worst thing you can say about a hotel stay is that the water pressure could have been slightly better, you know it's incredible. Why Carmenere isn't ranked #1 in Santiago is beyond me. If we are ever back in Santiago, we know exactly where to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwcardinal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Carmenere is a beautiful, tranquil, boutique hotel amidst the hustle bustle of Santiago city. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights stay here. Great location - walking distance from subway stations and many popular sights. Breakfast every morning was hot, fresh and delicious. The pancakes were just out of the world yummy. I only wish they had a few hot items like potatoes or veggies for vegetarians like me but I cannot complain much because they made sure I was stuffed on tasty breads, pancakes, fresh fruit and cakes. The rooms are simple and nice and they have incorporated a lot of environment friendly features to reduce their carbon footprint which is great. The 24/7 coffee and snack bar is a boon since we came in after midnight and a warm cup of tea was just what we needed. However the best feature of this place is its staff. The entire team is excellent, friendly and as one of them rightly mentioned - they love to pamper their guests. Lucas, Caty, Claire, Francesca, Tiara (sorry if I spelt your names incorrectly) are totally awesome! It was interesting to see so many of them from different parts of the world, well adjusted to life in Santiago and speaking fluent Spanish. They helped us plan our sightseeing trips, gave good recommendations on places to eat, booked cabs for us and made sure our stay was comfortable in every way. The hotel also has a nice wine collection downstairs for wine lovers to indulge in. It really felt like our home away from home, well worth staying!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have all read many excellent reports about this hotel and they are all true. BUT what really makes this place the "must do hotel in Santiago" is the team of phenomenal people who run it. They are outstanding in their service and desire to make their guests feel great. Right down to preparing a great breakfast at 4.30am before we left for an early flight and then arranging all our transport at short notice to get us where we needed to be. They are genuinely customer focused and in our experience with them, nothing is too much to ask. I could go on for ever about their wonderful culture and desire to make you happy on your stay, but, do yourself a favour and just go and stay their. You will not regret it, nor will you forget the outstanding service. A great team effort and thank you all for making our visit one to remember for all the right reasons. PS. Great coffee and snacks 24/7.

Room Tip: We had 2 different rooms on 2 different occasions and both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
CasaSur Charming Hotel
#1 of 197 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 197 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Providencia
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#4 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Luciano K Hotel
Luciano K Hotel
#10 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo
#12 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmenere Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmenere Eco Hotel

Property: Carmenere Eco Hotel
Address: Maria Luisa Santander 0292, Santiago 7500845, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmenere Eco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carménère ecoHotel is designed for the traveler who demands excellent service as well as an unforgettable local experience, located in the beautiful and peaceful residential area of Providencia Commune in Santiago de Chile. The property sits at the border with Santiago commune, giving you the best of both worlds; the serenity of our neighborhood, as well as all the major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Carmenere Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing