We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chilhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chilhotel
Ranked #113 of 198 Hotels in Santiago
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We love these small hotels.Unfortunately we do not have these types of hotels in my country USA. I could not tell if it was a family run business, but it is clear the small staff loves their job. Mercedes at the front desk was great. The employees are super personable, and willing to assist with any need you have. It is true that the facility does not provide the most modern and newest furnishings, similar to a corporate franchise hotel, but that does not matter when they have such a lovely group of people who take pride in their job. I personally prefer when the staff is closer to my age (40-45 year old-ish) and not younger kids out of school. The facility is on a quiet street and close to metro stop Manual Montt. We would definitely stay at ChilHotel again. And with the money I saved by staying here, I could buy some nice Chilean wool sweaters:-)

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room on the front of hotel with a small balcony that had two chairs. It was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramonwdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    45
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
26
48
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
232 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We traveled up and down Chile for 4 weeks. We started and finished in Santiago. We wrapped up our trip here - staying for 3 nites. Great city to check out. We did a day trip to Valparaiso - organized by Chilhotel folks. All in all this is a good reasonably priced and safe place to stay.
Would not hesitate to recommend to someone looking at staying in a decent place.
Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Nice hotel with friendly staff, well located in Providencia. It's far from being perfect (brakfas room, as well as some rooms, is in the basement, rooms in general are to be refurbished, breakfast is poor), but is clean and very good for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Friendly clean and hospitable family hotel in the Providencia Barrio.....which is a great neighbourhood to stay in. Safe parking for our hire car, spacious and comfortable bed, large bathroom, good internet and a nice blend of local and international guests staying there. Highly recommended. Our rooms were quiet with solid walls doors and double glazed windows. Pleased we stayed here rather than our earlier efforts Santiago which were in noisy poky overrated hostel apartments in Bella Vista. Good coffee shop across the narrow road as well and a good Chillean style breakfast.

Room Tip: We were happy with our rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parwan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

The atmosphere is like a bed-and-breakfast. Rooms all have private baths, breakfasts are simple but quite adequate. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We encountered a political science professor from the U.S. whose principal study is South America and frequently travels to Santiago. He always stays at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sullivan862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Chilhotel is not going to be your typical US Style or business hotel. It is modestly appointed, has no elevator, is somewhat worn in appearance, but all that belies it's comfortable ambiance. We stayed twice during our trip, in different rooms. Bathrooms were functional and the beds were comfortable. I was concerned that the hall noise seemed loud but we slept very well. Cirujano Guzman really is a quiet street and this helps. It is a great location, only 1 block from the Montt metro station and the neighborhood is full of interesting restaurants and more than a few B&B's not in our guide book or on TA. This is a more the residential part of Santiago. Breakfast was typical and is included. Be careful as they do lock the door at night and need to let you in. Some of the staff speak very good English, others not so much. Made our reservation over email and they were very accommodating. Decent WIFI of course!

Room Tip: Second floor is quieter, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Kind of funky hotel, hallways seem tattered, beds were fine, expected a bit more for the price but loved the location. List of good restaurants and shopping near by. Felt very safe.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Los Andes Suites
Los Andes Suites
#162 of 198 in Santiago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Santa Lucia
Foresta
Foresta
#119 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#65 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Tulip Inn Presidente Hotel Santiago
Providencia
Apart Hotel Providencia
Apart Hotel Providencia
#97 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Providencia
Reyall Hotel Boutique
Reyall Hotel Boutique
#84 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhotel

Property: Chilhotel
Address: Cirujano Guzman 103 | Providencia, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chilhotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chilhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilhotel Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing