We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post Ski Holiday”
Review of Hotel Ismael

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ismael
Ranked #14 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location, very safe & secure, excellent staff that speak english and have great knowledge about the area. Clean modern rooms and great b'fast. Nice pool on level 9. Free wi-fi in rooms. Nice coffee shop in foyer.

Room Tip: rooms with park views are great, but the dogs fighting in the park may keep you up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kym K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have now spent two periods of several days in this hotel. It is a small, modern hotel in a lovely, central location across from a park and near the university part of town. The rooms are excellent, with small balconies and the central area is usually bustling with younger travellers from many countries. There is a good continental breakfast and the room rate is very reasonable for the room and location. I plan to keep staying there whenever in Santiago for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good showers but no bathtub, unless you are prepared to spend much more for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cleo5244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here one night (room 513) and liked the design and location of the hotel. Located on a linear park, this hotel is near the busy Bellavista area and a nice area just to the southwest of the hotel (where we watched in style- Chile in the World Cup).
The hotel staff was nice and the complementary breakfast was perfect! The only thing missing was a nice quiet hotel bar for a quick evening night-cap. (There are some nearby restaurants, though.)

Room Tip: Ask for a nice park facing room with small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ocean88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked this with some scepticism, wondering about the OTT reviews. We were lucky to get a great price on the Ismael suite and just loved it. Two small balconies with great views of snow covered mountains and overlooking Parque Forestal, wonderful bathroom space. If you like conventional bathroom layouts this would not suit but this is boutique, luxury and quirky.
The food (breakfast was included) was ok, we got a little confused about what it covered, for instance the muesli and yoghurt are not on the menu & we didn't realise we could have that as well until our last day. If breakfast is not included there are many cafes around that would be fine.
The staff were unfailingly charming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them to either advise or arrange.
The location is wonderful. For restaurants in Lastarria such as Opera and Mulatto and so many more it's perfect. A short walk to Santa Lucia, Bellavista, the main squares. We really enjoyed La Vega Central and Mercado Central. La Vega Central was a delight of colour and people watching. An accidental stumbling on the changing of the guard at the Presidential palace was a ,plus.

Room Tip: The Ismael Suite overlooking Parque Forestal was very quiet & the views great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Zorro657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A wonderfully-located boutique hotel near to both the city centre and to the trendier, younger parts of Santiago. Rooms immaculate if slightly on the small side. The service was impeccable, however, which makes a difference when you’re only staying somewhere for a brief period, as I was. The breakfast was somewhat basic (muesli, fruit and yoghurt), but pleasant. There was also a swimming pool. It’s small, but personable, light and beautifully designed. I was only staying overnight before flying onto Argentina, and I’d definitely recommend it from that perspective, although the EcoHotel is around the same price (albeit slightly farther out of town) and edges it out just in terms of sheer personality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were looking for a place that was not a cookie-cutter, cold, corporate hotel. We wanted a place that was close to Universidad de Chile, great restaurants, the Metro, museums and nature. This hotel achieved on all fronts. We had never been to Chile and we were looking for a place that would be warm and friendly, super clean, and up to date. Again, the room was beautiful and spotless, with a view of a wonderful city park, and a balcony where you could see the nearby hills and even the edge of the Andes, which was super cool! I do not agree with NYtraveler6 who criticized the breakfast, quite inaccurately, by the way. You get to have 4-5 different things from a very wide range of choices. You can get a ham and cheese sandwich, even a roast beef or chicken sandwich, and these are not "warmed up" as he claims, but rather, prepared fresh for you moments after you order. There is a very wide range of pastries and muffins, very fresh croissants, fruit, and fresh squeezed orange juice or strawberry juice, and a wide selections of coffees, teas and hot chocolate. We stayed for seven nights and were never disappointed. And of course, the breakfast was included in the daily rate. The Wifi was flawless during our stay and it was fast as well. Room service was consistently excellent, so I do not know what he is saying about room service being non-existent. We also needed some extra tissue and tiolet paper one night at 9 pm and the night manager personally came up to deliver it and even put a new roll of TP himself. What more could you want. As far as the shower being inadequate, I personally found it superior to most of the hotels in the US at similar daily rates. The shower is a shower wand that adjusts from a wide to a narrow spray depending on your preference, and it has a long hose so you can clean yourself much more easily than with a fixed shower head. Mr. NYtraveler6 also complains that the shower water spills out. Well, that could happen if you do not pay attention to where you are pointing the shower head, but that is a matter of physics, not something that the hotel can control. The hotel manager says that within 6-7 months--let's say in January 2015, the hotel will have a full fledged restaurant on premises, but since there are outstanding inexpensive restaurants five minutes away in Lastarria, this is not so significant. The staff all speak quite fluent English and are very friendly, always asking if there is some way they can help. We will absolutely return here if and when we go back to Santiago. A great value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park, up around the 5th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank morganhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel was good but I feel that the tripadvisor reviews and very high ranking have not been doing justice to its “cons”, so I will describe those I saw.

First on the “pros” let me say I agree with most people who have commented: great location, next to a park where one can run, close to metro and fun restaurants, etc. The hotel is clean and the staff were generally nice and friendly--they try. Good and varied pillows. Very nice views if you are on the park side high floor. quiet on that side too -- good sleep.

The “cons” come from the size of the hotel (small) and design issues.

First, if you like to exercise and want a gym, forget it. The staff told me they could give me the address of a gym, but they do not have a deal with one so you are essentially walking off the street—not a smooth process and far away. Room service? Again, forget it. The breakfast is not a real breakfast; they don’t seem to have a real kitchen. So they just give you a sandwich warmed in a toaster and coffee. It is actually well done, but not up to standard. The wifi was adequate, but just. In short, if you are used to the comforts of a “real” hotel—as many business travelers like myself are—this one doesn’t cut it.

Finally, design. The hotel looks good and the architect clearly made the best of small spaces (the rooms are very small but feel ok due to smart/little furniture). But then there are issues like the shower. The bathroom is so small that the shower has only half a glass door, so water splatters out. The carpet is very simple to compensate for low ceilings, but one can already tell it will age badly, especially with all the water splattering out.

In short, I feel this hotel is a good choice, just not a home run due to size and design, at least if you care about the things I do.

Room Tip: High rooms on the park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NYtraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#13 of 204 in Santiago
372 reviews
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#2 of 204 in Santiago
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#4 of 204 in Santiago
323 reviews
Santa Lucia
Luciano K Hotel
Luciano K Hotel
#19 of 204 in Santiago
427 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#20 of 204 in Santiago
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ismael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ismael

Address: Ismael Valdes Vergara 312, Santiago 8320089, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: £100 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ismael 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Call it Ismael 312. Some years ago — never mind how long precisely — having little in the way of design hotels, and nothing particular to interest the restless global nomad, the insular city of Santiago quietly took to the construction of a new crop of contemporary boutique hotels. Among the first fruits of this new wave of hotel construction is Ismael 312, a nine-story contemporary boutique hotel in an easy-on-the-eye modern minimalist style, just off the Parque Forestal in Santiago’s historic city center. Semi-transparent glass-walled bathrooms, flat-screen televisions, full-length windows — it’s clear Ismael 312’s proprietors have been paying attention to the interior-design conventions of the boutique-hotel world. This clean-lined look has quickly become the global standard, instantly rendering a million flowery bedspreads obsolete. Here, if you’re fortunate, you’ve got a view of the park from a private balcony; if not, you can content yourself with the pared-down simplicity of your room’s contemporary design. Don’t expect five-star extravagance — Ismael 312 is little more than a pied-a-terre. In this neighborhood, though, that’s more than enough — you’re surrounded by restaurants and picturesque old streets, not to mention the park with its selection of museums, perfectly placed to circumambulate the city of a dreamy Sabbath afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ismael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing