We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Only 3 stars? Surprising! Wonderful hotel in a great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ismael 312

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ismael 312
Ranked #13 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only 3 stars? Surprising! Wonderful hotel in a great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Ismael three times (3 nights each stay) over the course of 5 weeks. I normally stay with family (having been born in Chile) but I travelled with my partner this time and I chose Hotel Ismael based on TripAdvisor reviews - I was NOT disappointed!

The staff made everything so easy! We were able to leave our suitcases at the hotel with no problems while we visited other parts of Chile. When we returned the staff remembered us and were so friendly, we were even gifted with a bottle of champagne for our loyalty on our final stay. The staff felt more like our friends! They always had a smile on their faces.

The location is great. A 10min walk to La Catedral, Plaza de Armas, Paseo Ahumada etc. A 10min walk to the pleasant Barrio Bellavista and 5mins to Calle Lastarria (Complete street name: Jose Victorino Lastarria). Living in Melbourne, I love my coffee, the only place to have a decent latte or capuccino is Cafe Wonderful on Calle Lastarria.

The breakfast was wonderful! We weren't aware that it was included in the daily rate so that was a pleasant surprise. You get to choose 5 things per breakfast (continental) - eg coffee, croissant, yoghurt (so good!), muesli and a ham & cheese toastie. There's no time limit either! You can have 'breakfast' at 9pm! (There's more substantial options like roast beef sandwiches for example).

Room servicing was impeccable. Being a woman I had clothes and shoes strewn everywhere. We arrived back to our room in the evening and WOW - my clothes were hung up / folded. My shoes were neatly in the cupboard. My makeup was all put in the bathroom. My PJs were even folded under my pillow! Very nice touch.

I do agree that the bathroom is a little small and if you're not careful with the shower head you can wet the floor a little but in the whole grand scheme of things - does this really matter when everything else is so great? A slightly wet floor definitely didn't ruin our stay! That's what towels are for right? =)

Spend a little more and get a park view room, nice view of the Parque Forestal, Cerro San Cristobal and the Andes. I've read that that side of the hotel is also quieter - I thought it was. The dogs bark a little at night from the park but that's just Santiago - stray dogs everywhere, nothing the hotel can do about that!

I see that this hotel is rated 3 stars. That is surprising as I have stayed in other 3 star hotels that didn't have half as good service and cleanliness as Hotel Ismael!

Gracias Hotel Ismael - keep up the GREAT work! =)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank kjones 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    137
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
323
54
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Ismael is a hotel that exemplifies quality service in a friendly atmosphere.
It was my first visit to Santiago and had no idea of what sites to see or the must do things in this lovely city. However the wonderful staff took the time to help point me in the right direction to make my stay as wonderful as it could be.
The room was very comfortable with top quality bedding and great pillows for a lovely nights sleep.
Breakfast which was included was above expectation and served with a smile.
I usually have my coffee with Soy Milk which was not available when I arrived on my first morning for breakfast. However on discovering that was my choice they had taken the time to acquire Soy Milk for my breakfast for the remainder of my time there.
I was even offered a late check out because I had a late PM flight out of Santiago.
With a fantastic location across from the park and close to the subway train and great restaurants this hotel is perfect for exploring the city.
I have stayed in great hotels all over the world but I must say the Ismael was one of the best overall experience I have had to date. 10 out of 10

Room Tip: A room facing the park or facing east towards the snow capped mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great location, very safe & secure, excellent staff that speak english and have great knowledge about the area. Clean modern rooms and great b'fast. Nice pool on level 9. Free wi-fi in rooms. Nice coffee shop in foyer.

Room Tip: rooms with park views are great, but the dogs fighting in the park may keep you up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kym K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have now spent two periods of several days in this hotel. It is a small, modern hotel in a lovely, central location across from a park and near the university part of town. The rooms are excellent, with small balconies and the central area is usually bustling with younger travellers from many countries. There is a good continental breakfast and the room rate is very reasonable for the room and location. I plan to keep staying there whenever in Santiago for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: All the rooms have good showers but no bathtub, unless you are prepared to spend much more for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cleo5244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here one night (room 513) and liked the design and location of the hotel. Located on a linear park, this hotel is near the busy Bellavista area and a nice area just to the southwest of the hotel (where we watched in style- Chile in the World Cup).
The hotel staff was nice and the complementary breakfast was perfect! The only thing missing was a nice quiet hotel bar for a quick evening night-cap. (There are some nearby restaurants, though.)

Room Tip: Ask for a nice park facing room with small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ocean88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked this with some scepticism, wondering about the OTT reviews. We were lucky to get a great price on the Ismael suite and just loved it. Two small balconies with great views of snow covered mountains and overlooking Parque Forestal, wonderful bathroom space. If you like conventional bathroom layouts this would not suit but this is boutique, luxury and quirky.
The food (breakfast was included) was ok, we got a little confused about what it covered, for instance the muesli and yoghurt are not on the menu & we didn't realise we could have that as well until our last day. If breakfast is not included there are many cafes around that would be fine.
The staff were unfailingly charming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them to either advise or arrange.
The location is wonderful. For restaurants in Lastarria such as Opera and Mulatto and so many more it's perfect. A short walk to Santa Lucia, Bellavista, the main squares. We really enjoyed La Vega Central and Mercado Central. La Vega Central was a delight of colour and people watching. An accidental stumbling on the changing of the guard at the Presidential palace was a ,plus.

Room Tip: The Ismael Suite overlooking Parque Forestal was very quiet & the views great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zorro657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

A wonderfully-located boutique hotel near to both the city centre and to the trendier, younger parts of Santiago. Rooms immaculate if slightly on the small side. The service was impeccable, however, which makes a difference when you’re only staying somewhere for a brief period, as I was. The breakfast was somewhat basic (muesli, fruit and yoghurt), but pleasant. There was also a swimming pool. It’s small, but personable, light and beautifully designed. I was only staying overnight before flying onto Argentina, and I’d definitely recommend it from that perspective, although the EcoHotel is around the same price (albeit slightly farther out of town) and edges it out just in terms of sheer personality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#3 of 197 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Santa Lucia
Luciano K Hotel
Luciano K Hotel
#8 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo
#12 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#21 of 197 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
CasaSur Charming Hotel
#1 of 197 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ismael 312? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ismael 312

Property: Hotel Ismael 312
Address: Ismael Valdes Vergara 312, Santiago 8320089, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 197 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ismael 312 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Call it Ismael 312. Some years ago — never mind how long precisely — having little in the way of design hotels, and nothing particular to interest the restless global nomad, the insular city of Santiago quietly took to the construction of a new crop of contemporary boutique hotels. Among the first fruits of this new wave of hotel construction is Ismael 312, a nine-story contemporary boutique hotel in an easy-on-the-eye modern minimalist style, just off the Parque Forestal in Santiago’s historic city center. Semi-transparent glass-walled bathrooms, flat-screen televisions, full-length windows — it’s clear Ismael 312’s proprietors have been paying attention to the interior-design conventions of the boutique-hotel world. This clean-lined look has quickly become the global standard, instantly rendering a million flowery bedspreads obsolete. Here, if you’re fortunate, you’ve got a view of the park from a private balcony; if not, you can content yourself with the pared-down simplicity of your room’s contemporary design. Don’t expect five-star extravagance — Ismael 312 is little more than a pied-a-terre. In this neighborhood, though, that’s more than enough — you’re surrounded by restaurants and picturesque old streets, not to mention the park with its selection of museums, perfectly placed to circumambulate the city of a dreamy Sabbath afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Ismael 312 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing