We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aji Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aji Hostel
Ranked #37 of 475 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

It wasn't a bad place to stay. The staff were very friendly, they very helpful especially the night porter! We got in at 6 in the morning and he let me sleep on the couch! Free of charge! The wifi was good as was the breakfast. They had loads of handy men in trying fix the place up. It is an older building though and had a few flaws. The shower was freezing and sometimes not working. There was a terrible smell from the toilets and the living room. We did meet nice people there however at the free dinner. It's a good plot to get travellers in the same room. The free dinner and wine was also really good! If you are looking for a no frills basic hostel then this is your place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damo_thebutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    87
    26
    19
    8
See reviews for
10
39
87
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
308 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

¿Este es un hostel? That's what one of the other passengers in the minibus said when we pulled up to the hostel. I don't know how this place gets such great reviews; nothing particularly special about the place except that dinner is included, except Fridays. The location is good and the staff friendly. The room, a female dorm was clean enough, the bathroom not so much. The pipes had a smell of raw sewage. The frames on the bunk bed felt a little flimsy. The building needs a good paint job, especially when you compare it to the other buildings next to it; It seems like the building is in disrepair, but they are in the middle of doing some construction, to be fair. The breakfast is ok, my complaint being that they only serve you portion of everything, which didn't work for me because I didn't want the cereal but after an hour run, two slices of bed was not going to cut It.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

The hostel looks nothing like its website! You get a great deal for your money: breakfast and dinner (all nights except Friday asado night) are included and are great, the rooms are comfortable, and there is a great atmosphere! It is located less than 10 minutes away from the metro, and right between the city center and Barrio Providencia. It is also right across the river from Barrio Bellavista, which makes going out really easy.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night and had to book another. The prices are great for the prime location with breakfast and dinner included. Dinner make a great meeting atmosphere to have good talk and after go to discover the cities night life. Great...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianStocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Iv just left aji with a great smile on my face. It is good value for money as you receive a breakfast and evening meal. The beds are good quality and there is space in the dorms. The location is excellent too, it is in a good quality safe neighbourhood. The staff, especially daniella and the French guy are probably the friendliest staff iv come across on my travels. The cleaning lady is a proper clean freak aswell so the place is spotless, I hope they pay her enough, she proper cleans all behind the lockers aswell. The only downsides I have are the male bathroom needs modernising and there are no electricity points in the dorms. It is a great place to stay tho and especially if you are a lone traveller because for some reason it is full of single people.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philsidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed at this hostel for 2 nights as a stop over to Bolivia. Staff were very limited with there knowledge of the city and local area, coming across as disinterested. Communial areas were extremely dirty. Beds were comfortable and spacious, bathrooms adequate with great shower pressure. Free dinner was appreciated although meat was unidentifiable! Good coffee, adequate breakfast.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I was travelling around South America for a few months and decided to stop over in Santiago for 2 or 3 days. I ended up staying a week here, falling in love with the hostel and the city. So friendly, a lot of the staff live in the hostel so give great advice on where to go and always up for a party! on top of this, free meals are provided as well as asados and partys!
Love the painting in the dining area, just so quirky and comfortable to be in, massive recommend!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chloedillon-smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
La Casa Roja Hostel
#9 of 475 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Kombi Hostel
#41 of 475 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#17 of 475 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chile Lindo Hostel
#31 of 475 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Santiago Backpackers Hostel
#27 of 475 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 475 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aji Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aji Hostel

Property: Aji Hostel
Address: Triana 863, Santiago 7500000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 475 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aji Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ají Hostel offers you the best value for your money! Free dinner every night, except Fridays (our big BBQ night). The best atmosphere and staff will make your stay in Santiago a memorable experience. Our activities provide you the perfect opportunity to meet other travelers, and our young personnel give you the friendliest service in a relaxed atmosphere. Located in the trendy neighbourhoood of Providencia in Santiago, Aji Hostel is a cheerful hostel featuring accommodation with free WiFi access. A complimentary breakfast buffet with seasonal fruits, cereal and bread rolls is served daily. Guests at Aji Hostel can enjoy a complimentary dinner daily, with the exception of Fridays, when the property hosts a traditional barbeque with plenty of regional wine. Guests are also offered complimentary cocktails on certain days of the weel. Aji Hostel features single beds in mixed or female only dormitories, as well as private double rooms with a private bathroom. All rooms are decorated with vibrant colours, modern parquet flooring and local artwork. The Aji is conveniently located only 16 km from Arturo Merino Benitez Airport, and 200 m from the Savior metro station. Santiago's best restaurants, bars and clubs are within walking distance from the hostel. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Aji Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aji Hotel Santiago
Chilli Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing