We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, poor room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Marino Apart Hotel
Ranked #135 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location, poor room”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The hotel is located in Santiago downtown and it's really close to the main atractions like Plaza de Armas, Bellas Artes Museum, the Mercado Central, La Vega market and La Moneda Palace. However, I'd say that it's not that important since you can stay in any part of the city close to a subway station and you could also visit these attractions. The bad part about the location is that at night the streets are desert (but safe). It's hard to find an open restaurant at night.

About the room:

Heating: There's a electric heating system that shuts down automatically at 11pm. There's also a gas-based heating system but the gas canister was empty and the hotel administration did not have another one, so we coudn't use it. REALLY BAD.

Internet: There's no free internet (wired or wireless) in the room. You have to make a reservation and rent a 3G-based USB modem, so you need a laptop to use it. Their website says it's wireless internet, but it's NOT wi-fi! It's wireless because it's a 3G modem.

Parking: It's free, just make a reservation.

TV: There's a 14 inch tube tv with local channels and also a DirecTV receiver with cable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_SP_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

This hotel was an absolute nightmare to find. The address given to me when I booked it was incorrect, as they have moved down the street & next to the police station. The kind, Spanish-only speaking doorman had to escort me to the office at the new address, which was on one of the lower floors of an un-marked condo building. How they expect anyone to know where they are located is beyond me. It would have been nice if I would have been informed of this address change before I arrived, as my Spanish is mediocre at best. Also, I had 3 diff. people meeting me there, all of whom got lost (my Spanish-speaking husband, who couldn't locate the hotel, almost booked another hotel room). However, that said, the room was decent, the beds comfortable, price was really cheap, & there was enough room for all 4 of us. The shower was clean, warm, and powerful. I'm not too sure as to how often they change their bed linen, as we found hair on several of our pillows. We didn't even bother to complain, as we were just so happy to have found the place and each other at that point. I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone, as nothing's worse than traveling to another country (where you don't speak the language that well) and not being able to find your hotel room. And on a side note, we tried to use the space heater ( it was winter season) but the Spanish-English translation instructions they gave me made absolutely no sense & were soooo terrible that it gave us all something to laugh about at the end of our stressful day.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaRTRIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santiago hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

The room is very small and there is no living room, just a small kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Apart from the very strong smoke smell (which desappeared when I left the windows open the whole day). It was a good value for the price. The bathroom was a little dark, but it was clean and the water was nice and hot. New towels and bed sheets. They also clean the room everyday. I stayed on the 9th floor, it was quiet, but it has no view (only to the next door building).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMSPBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the city attractions however found that it did not meet our expectations. This is a residential apartment building and the owner purchased a few apartments that she has set up as the hotel. The staff were unfriendly except for the cleaners who came in daily. There is no ironing board, iron or hairdryer in the room. I had to ask for these. None of the crockery matched and the kitchen was very tiny. The master bedroom is fitted with 2 single beds which we and to put next to each other. The third bed is occupied in the lounge/dining room. There is no airconditioning only an electric fan. Parking is free however you have to make sure that you are given a key upon checkin. The guard refused us into the carpark one night because reception failed to give us a key. The hotel is located next to the police station and the outlook across the street is not a pretty site. Internet was only accessible in the office with no privacy.
Would I stay there again, definitely NOT

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We made a reservation for a four-night stay at Apart hotel San Marino in July 2009. It was a cheap and centrally located option. We did not expect too much from the place, and at a first glance, the apartment looked fairly OK. However, taking a closer look, it was easy to tell how run down the apartment was. The sofa, floor, walls, and bed covers were filthy and had dirty stains. The bathroom was dirty and the bath tub had not been cleaned for ages. Moreover, it was a lot of noise from the traffic outside of the window. We therefore decided to leave after just one night, and got our money back for the other nights. There are so much better options in Santiago. We stayed at Bed and Breakfast Santiago for the other nights, and it was so much worth the extra dollars.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Christmas_Goat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
No photo provided
El Marques del Forestal
#178 of 196 in Santiago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#99 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Santa Lucia
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#123 of 196 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#14 of 196 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Centro Histórico
Museo De Artes Apartments
Museo De Artes Apartments
#115 of 196 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Gran Palace
Hotel Gran Palace
#119 of 196 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marino Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino Apart Hotel

Property: San Marino Apart Hotel
Address: Santo Domingo 760, Santiago, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 196 Hotels in Santiago
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marino Apart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Marino Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing