We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Andes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Andes Hostel
Ranked #93 of 198 Hotels in Santiago
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Awesome Hostel”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was totally shocked when I saw our service apartment. Its located centrally and very safe. Since we took hop on-off bus, the hop on location was very near to our place of stay. We stayed in a 1BHK apartment. Very clean apartment and laundry services. There was a supermarket just next to apartment. We enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Priyadarshini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    233
    85
    30
    24
See reviews for
45
131
176
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Andes Hostel is in a great spot of downtown Santiago. There are always activities going on in the hostel and the staff is super friendly and helpful. Andres helped us plan transportation and tours around the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at Andes Hostel for a week in July of this year, and I have nothing but good memories! All of the receptionists speak English and Spanish, which was helpful for me because it was my first time in a Spanish-speaking country. Our favorite receptionist Andres helped my sister and I get acquainted with the area and also taught us some chilenismos (very helpful for learning chilean spanish). It was definitely the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in, and felt very comfortable sleeping there. My favorite part was the events that they have - there's something going on almost every day of the week that makes it really easy for travelers to get together and talk, eat, party, etc. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World Traveler
Level Contributor
213 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed at Andes Hostel for 12 nights, 4 nights the first time, 8 nights a month later. I found it to be an OK hostel property, its staff the best thing about it.

Andes has an okay breakfast, a nice dining room, but it is the same dull breakfast everyday with poor nutritional choices, meriting a low 2 on my 10-point scale of healthy, nutritious breakfasts (adding more options, daily variety and some fresh fruit, whole grain cereals, bread and rolls, real coffee (not powder) and a non-sugary juice would improve it). Other hostels in Santiago and Chile routinely provide better breakfasts. I would rather see Andes drop the free Wed night pasta/wine dinner and free Friday night hot dogs to improve its daily breakfast. So for a day or two the breakfast works, but longer than that, forget it. The breakfast was late 10-15 minutes several mornings and one morning there was no gas to the kitchen, so no hot water for coffee/tea.

Andes has good luggage storage, great room lockers, and bathrooms. Facilities are clean and well-maintained, the dorm beds are made each day by its maid service, the location is excellent, right across from the Bellas Artes Metro Station, the staff is helpful and friendly. At Andes the blue faucet in the shower is often the hot faucet, and the red is the cold, unlike the rest of the world. I liked that Andes offered payment options in Chilean pesos, US dollars or credit card with no extra fees.

But the humongous problem at Andes is its sucky WiFi. It is just too unreliable, Andes WiFi loaded only partial pages or was slow to load pages and it often dropped the connection on all of my devices. Save your work frequently, so you just lose buckets of time and not all your work. It took multiple attempts to upload photos to Facebook or Tumblr, very frustrating, often at the end of an hour I had nothing to show for it. This is a major downside to staying at Andes if WiFi is important to you.

Andes has the potential to be a great hostel, but right now it is just OK.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very good hostel, the location was great. I stayed in very good dorms, with plenty of space and clean. I also stayed in an apartment with friends, and it was really good, beautiful and quite new. But the very best was the staff, which was very helpful 24h a day for everything I needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A great little hotel with a friendly, supportive staff that is also a good value, English speaking front desk. Great rooms, beautiful bathrooms with great showers and well located as well!
Cons: wifi NOT in the rooms, breakfast ok.
But well, I think I will go back for my next Santiago trip!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We made our two reservations with almost three months before the arriving day and when we got there, AFTER PAYING THE ENTIRE BILL with credit card, we simply knew that our rooms were occupied. The result? We had to move to another place without knowing anything or anybody at that point and the worst part, we didn't have our money back on the next day and so far, 10 days after the payment, I still haven't got the credit refund.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Hotel Paris Londres
#144 of 198 in Santiago
193 reviews
Luna Suite Apart Hotel
#183 of 198 in Santiago
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
Ibis Santiago Providencia
#64 of 198 in Santiago
3,867 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#15 of 198 in Santiago
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andes Hostel

Property: Andes Hostel
Address: Monjitas 506, Santiago 8320107, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andes Hostel & Apartments is located in Barrio Bellas Artes/Lastarria, the trendiest neighborhood in downtown Santiago. We are just walking distance away from the must-visit spots in Santiago: Plaza de Armas, Cerro Santa Lucia, Bellas Artes Museum, Parque Forestal, Bellavista, Cerro San Cristobal, La Moneda (government palace) and Mercado Central. Charming cafes and restaurants of all styles surround Andes Hostel. And if you ever feel like visiting other Santiago neighborhoods, the Bellas Artes Metro Station is right across Andes Hostel. Our Apartments are located just one block away from Andes Hostel, but you have to check-in and check-out at Andes Hostel, in Monjitas 506. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andes Hostel And Apartments
Andes Hostel & Apartments Hotel Santiago
Andes Hostel Santiago
Andes Hostel Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing