We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and central B&B in Santiago Chile”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Moro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Moro
Ranked #17 of 156 Santiago B&B and Inns
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and central B&B in Santiago Chile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Casa Moro is a very comfortable and plesant B&B. The location is great, it allowed us to see the majority of central Santiago on foot or via the Metro that is only 2 blocks away. It is also very close to plenty of restaurants, bars and supermarkets.
Walter and Marcello were great host and their hints and tips on visiting Santiago combined with their fabulous breakfasts were both invaluable ahead of a day exploring the city and beyond.

Highly recommended, loved the cats and dogs too, so friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    45
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
207
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This review is quite late, but I had thought it was done back then.

I stayed with Walter and his partner some 18 months ago, and couldn't have been more pleased with the experience. they are both lovely men, very pleasant to spend time with. Casa Moro is very centrally located in downtown Santiago, close to everything, yet at the same time, very quiet, which is extremely important to me. It's very much their home as well as a B&B. Lots of art work everywhere, lots of cats and a dog or two, all of whom are friendly and very much a part of life there. Breakfast was excellent. The guests were also stellar-- one of the few times I've stayed at a small hotel and met nearly everyone there, enjoying their company and experiences.

I can't recommend the place highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Prior to our arrival a local expressed concern about the location of the B&B, saying it was dangerous. We considered changing accommodations but are so glad we didn't! Just as so many others have said, the friendliness of the proprietors, the art-filled, quirky, cool house, the wonderful fellow guests and the fairly convenient location all combined to make our stay in Santiago fabulous.

The breakfasts were just right. We also did the dinner one evening, with 5 other guests (Hi Margaret!), which was excellent...highly recommended if you can fit it in.

We happened to be there on the first morning of the school season and we could hear a fairly loud speaker system as well as the kids screaming with excitement before class as they played. (Room 3) It didn't bother us, as we weren't late sleepers, but it may bother others.

This is a place with personality! STay here! (p.s. - ask Walter about some of the art in the house. It's amazing.)


Thank you Walter y Marcelo!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geenance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Spent four nights at Casa Moro in Santiago and what an awesome experience. It felt like home away from home. Walter and Marcelo were absolutely amazing and made us feel at home from the minute we arrived. Walter also provided us with great recommendations as to where to eat and what to visit. He also made getting around so much easier by providing us with dummy proof directions. We decided to do dinner at Casa Moro one night and what a great decision. The dinner was absolutely amazing, with lots of food and wine and nothing tops a home cooked meal. I would totally stay at Casa Moro again and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Santiago.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This B & B made you feel right at home. The special evening meal was very nice. The bedrooms were very unique. Nice upgrades, but not gaudy! Visiting with the other couples there was lots of fun. I was expecially touched by their love of animals. I am a dog lover, and it broke my heart to see all the homeless dogs along the streets. Having 5 dogs and a couple of cats wandering around was nice. Thanks, Walter and Marcelo!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laughalot14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Thanks to Trip Advisor for guiding us to Casa Moro. We stayed a total of about 1 week, and we found the hosts Walter and Marcelo to be friendly, attentive, interesting and knowledgeable. The rooms are simple, but clean & comfortable. The breakfasts are very nice, with fresh fruit and homemade scones or muffins, with homemade jams, and they will also cook you up some eggs if you like.
We loved being able to interact with their furry family of rescued cats & dogs. The location is on a relatively quiet side street, a few blocks from the nearest Metro. A great B&B experience, very memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Highly recommended. Walter and Marcelo were wonderful hosts. Highly recommend staying at Casa Moro and requesting an evening meal. Walking distance to downtown Santiago. Walter was very helpful in arranging a tour and transportation to Valparaiso.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 198 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Crowne Plaza Santiago
#43 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#21 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#92 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
CasaSur Charming Hotel
#1 of 198 in Santiago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Moro

Property: Casa Moro
Address: Corte Suprema 177, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Santiago just three blocks from the Presidential Palace and metro. The street is charming and tree lined and very safe for late arrivals. We are great cooks and offer dinners on request. Along with our four legged friends, we will do our best to ensure you have a pleasant experience here at Casa Moro. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Moro Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing