We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Casa Moro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Moro
Ranked #19 of 163 Santiago B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I enjoyed staying with Walter and Marcello at Casa Moro. The place is located near the center of town. Although I was a bit disappointed by Santiago itself, I was more then happy to stay at this place. Communication prior to arrival was perfect. Walter picked me up from the airport and gave me all information I needed. The room is very nicely decorated, confortable bed, small shower and separate room that I did not use. The house is very friendly, a lot of art all around and a great breakfast with wonderful scone (sweet cake).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_hcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

This review is embarrassingly overdue. We stayed with Walter and Marcelo almost a year ago now and it's rare that a month goes by that we don't reminisce about our stay there. Warm hospitality, simple, no fuss rooms and perfectly clean and tidy despite the many locally re-homed pets.

The place has its quirks with an interesting little in-house gallery, and who could forget the P.A from the nearby school that reminded you it was time to start the day each morning!

We loved this place so much that we booked it again for our return trip at the end of our six week South American journey which started and finished in Santiago.

If you stay here, be sure not to miss out on Marcelo's amazing cooking - the three course meal is well worth the price tag and won't leave you disappointed. We were lucky enough to experience Marcelo's cooking on two occasions and both meals were equally impressive. We also asked Walter for his home cooked scone recipe (the best we've had) and he gladly gave it up for us.

Be sure to take advantage of Walters local knowledge of the arts and cultural scene or you might miss out on something special that Santiago has to offer. We were also lucky enough to visit Valparaiso before the recent devastating fires and also to see a theatre production in the city which Walter helped us to obtain tickets to.

From the moment we were picked up from the airport, to the moment we were dropped back, we felt nothing less than family and hope to be back again some day soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Walter and Marcelo were amazingly gracious and wonderful hosts. My wife and I experienced a medical emergency while in Chile, causing us to alter our stay which was no problem for Casa Moro. They accommodated our unique needs in this emergency situation, which was invaluable. The food was excellent as well as the afternoon tea and playtime with their pets, which helped us miss our pets just a little bit less. Walter's recommendations were spot on, no matter if it was food, museums or shopping options. The car service to the airport was excellent and worth the additional cost over the bus options available. We hope to return to Santiago soon to truly enjoy our stay and it will be at Casa Moro.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sears0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

in total, we spent about 6 nights at Casa Moro in Santiago, Chile. We flew in from Auckland, spent a couple of nights at Casa Moro, joined a tour bus to La Paz in Bolivia, flew back to Santiago for another couple of nights at Casa Moro, flew to Easter Island for a few days, then back to Casa Moro for a night or two, then left to fly home. Each time, we arranged for Walter, our host, to pick us up or drop us off at the airport. He was absolutely reliable - always there on time, and always very good humoured about waiting around for us, so it was well worth the fee he charged. The house is lovely, with art works on all the walls, it is close to the centre of Santiago, its quiet, the breakfasts are excellent, and Walter is very helpful and informative about things to do in Santiago. (he has about four dogs and three cats in the house, which may be an issue for non animal lovers)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Thanks TA for this jewel of a find! This was an easy booking from the very beginning. Walter responded quickly, providing me all the information needed to know that this was where my daughter and I wanted to stay on our trip to Santiago in April. He provided plenty of contact so that we knew everything was reserved as we wanted! We loved it! Walter picked us up and took us back to the airport for a very reasonable rate as well. Casa Moro is in a very convenient place in downtown. It was very close to sites and the subway. Walter happily suggested day trips and restaurants to try! He told us about very different places to try (ones where the locals eat.) We were extremely pleased with all of his suggestions. He was very helpful with directions and use of subway/buses. The breakfasts were very good, always using local fresh ingredients. Marcello cooked a typical Chilean meal for us one evening and it was wonderful! Highly recommend that you take him up on his cooking if you get the chance. The meal was beautifully served and paired with delicious wines. They only use fresh ingredients. The B and B was clean and beautifully decorated. The art is amazing! (Walter used to own an art gallery in the US.) Our room was on the second floor and overlooked a cute terrace. There was an outside terrace on our level as well. The beds were comfortable and the ensuite bath well appointed. Walter and Marcello are real animal lovers. Their dogs and cats were well behaved and made us feel right at home! Hope you choose to stay here too-you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelers025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved everything about this place. It feels more like staying at a friend's house than a b'n'b or hotel. In addition to comfortable accommodations and delicious food -- both breakfast and an optional dinner -- we especially enjoyed our conversations with Walter and Marcelo about Santiago and their suggestions for places to visit and restaurants to sample. Their ideas were spot-on, like recommendations from a local friend rather than a list from a concierge. For instance, we'd never on our own have discovered the restaurant/barber shop near the Museum of Memory or the paintings in the Metro stations.

We stayed in Santiago at the beginning of our trip, and that hotel was very good and the tour of the city was fine, but frankly the city wasn't memorable. We weren't looking forward to coming back. Thanks to Walter and Marcelo, our second visit to Santiago provided lots of special moments that we'll treasure. Even our quiet hours in the common room before leaving for the airport were contented, thanks to the purring cat in my lap and the dogs at our feet.

Room Tip: We faced the street, one floor up. It's a remarkably quiet street, so noise isn't a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Casa Moro is an ideally placed delightful and friendly traditional B and B for a stay in Santiago, a most interesting city to visit. Walter and Marcello are perfect hosts and could not have been more helpful. From the time Walter collected us at the airport he helped us in every way to enjoy and understand Chile and Santiago in particular and arranged for us an excellent walking tour. On our first night Marcello prepared an excellent Chilean meal, highly recommended. Our only adverse comment is that the internal stair access to our room would be difficult for anyone with mobility issues. Other than that for anyone seeking traditional accommodation with caring and friendly Casa Moro is perfect.

Room Tip: Upper rooms may be unsuitable for those with mobility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maragani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
RQ Santiago
#48 of 202 in Santiago
502 reviews
Centro Histórico
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
Hotel Plaza San Francisco
#19 of 202 in Santiago
1,602 reviews
Santa Lucia
Lastarria 43/61
Lastarria 43/61
#18 of 202 in Santiago
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
CasaSur Charming Hotel
#1 of 202 in Santiago
399 reviews
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 202 in Santiago
995 reviews
Hostal Rio Amazonas
#1 of 163 in Santiago
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Moro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Moro

Address: Corte Suprema 177, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Santiago just three blocks from the Presidential Palace and metro. The street is charming and tree lined and very safe for late arrivals. We are great cooks and offer dinners on request. Along with our four legged friends, we will do our best to ensure you have a pleasant experience here at Casa Moro. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Moro Hotel Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing