We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kees v
Pijnacker, The Netherlands

Upper class (youth) hostel atmosphere

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Mar 2017
For young and old a congenial place to stay with full facilities ranging from spacious colonial style rooms with private bathroom to dorms. The backyard is available for lounging bbq and dipping in the pool.
Date of stay: April 2016
Room Tip: There is something for everybody. We liked the colonial style rooms on the ground floor.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Mar 2017
Dear Kees,

Thanks a lot for your great evaluation and for pointing that our place is transversal for all types of people. We actually are very proud of having built a place that can accommodate different types of travelers of different ages, interests and with different budgets as well. At Happy House everyone is very welcome to have a good time.

We wish you the best and grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£87
  • Booking.com
  • Tapestry
  • Hotels.com
3.7 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£112
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £81
  • Booking.com
4.4 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
£140
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £117
  • Booking.com
4.0 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£169
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £142
  • Hotels.com
5.6 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£104
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.2 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£84
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.0 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £31
  • Hotels.com
1.7 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    £107
  • Expedia.com
    £117
1.2 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £125
  • Mandarin Oriental
5.3 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free parking
Pool
Aerial
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £90
  • Expedia.com
    £140
6.0 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Santiago
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017

This hostel has a great vibe with bright walls, vintage decor, pool tables, patio, and pool. If you can forgive the slightly frayed and fading finishes (let's be honest everything's a little aging) it's a great place to hangout for a couple nights. The organized activities and outdoor patio provide a great way to meet people. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful providing any advice and recommendations you need for your trip. Bathrooms are basic, breakfast is hearty.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Caitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Caitlin,

Thank you very much for your excellent evaluation and nice comments. We are very happy to know you´ve enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon.

Grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

First, I must clarify that I was actually there about 4 years ago (2013, but this input page doesn't have that selection option,) and am only now getting asked for a review. That said, it was a great place to stay. There was a common kitchen for use. Pool table and swimming pool were nice too. Luggage closet was important for leaving stuff before/after check-in/check-out as there could be long waits for transport (planes, buses...) Friendly staff.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lajahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Lajahu,

Thank you so much for your great evaluation and clarification about the date of your stay. We´ve been wishing the best to all our historic customers for this 2017 since the hostel was opened, that´s why, you´ve received the email from Tripadvisor. Since the date you stayed at HHH we actually have been improving a lot of things, so if you come back again, I guess you'll be very surprised and we hope you can make it to Santiago soon.

We wish you the best and grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

From the reviews, obviously the Happy House is a very highly rated Hostel. As I am usually a hotel versus a hostel guest, I will try to not compare the Happy House with a typical hotel experience. I had a few issues that the Happy House could address however: 1) The upper floor rooms could have area rugs to dampen sounds as the high heels walking about in the unit above me were quite loud at 2 am; 2) The sitting area in the lower level near the front desk could have a quiet hours sign as discussion can be heard in the lower floor rooms late at night. 3) Smoking could be restricted to one of the outside patios nearest the pool. Second hand smoke from the near patio next to the inside breakfast area allows smoke to waft into the hostel building making it unpleasant for guests.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StephenL342
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Stephen,

Thanks for your review and suggestions. To be honest the wood floors are part of the character of the bulding, however, we understand they may be a little noisy some times, that´s why, this year we are working on a project to change them by ceramics (2nd and 3rd floor). Our procedures look after the silence after midnight, especially on the 1st floor nerby reception. If you have any trouble it must have been something totally exceptional not an everyday situation. There are people who smokes and the patio area is one of the places authorized for these purposes. Remember there are 2 doors between the breakfast area and the patio. If you felt disturbed, you could ask the other guest to go way from the bkf area, considering that the patio is huge. I would have wished that you highlight some positive aspects and not focus only on the negatives, especially considering that from the beginning of your comment you´ve indicated that you are a user of hotels instead of hostels.

Grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Stayed at the Happy House during a ski trip through southern BC. Great space with a well stocked kitchen (fridge space was a little tight), within a 1min walk to grocery and liquor stores. The hosts were very accommodating, it rained to the top of Red Mountain and they offered a full refund when we cancelled our last night to go find snow.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CarteC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear Carter,

Thank you very much for your great evaluation and comments. We actually now have 2 big fridges at the guests kitchen in order to provide more space for storaging food. Glad to know you´ve enjoyed your stay with us :)

We wish you the best and grettings from the entire Happy house Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

A great place to stay, pool, kitchen, range of room styles and very clean and organsied. close to local street full of bars and restaurants. close to metro line in a safe neighbourhood. Rooms are modern decor.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Laurajane63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Dear Laura,

Many thanks for your excellent evaluation and comments. We´ve been working hard to reconvert this beautiful colonial building with a lot of chacater as you said into a comfortable and 5 stars place to stay. Glad to know you´ve enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to receive your visit again soon.

Grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews