We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Herman B
Sawai Madhopur, India

Short stay before departing Santiago.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Mar 2017
Clean and spacious rooms. Staff were very helpful. Hostel is only a short walk from grocery stores, restaurants and bus and subway. Bus to airport was especially useful as it was close and convenient. We would definitely stay there again.
Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review
Responded 15 Mar 2017
Dear Herman,

Thanks a lot for your great evaluation and kind comments about our services, facilities and convenient location. We can´t wait for your next visit :)

Grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£61
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £61
1.2 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
£158
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £158
3.2 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£101
  • Booking.com
  • Tapestry
  • Hotels.com
3.7 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£128
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    £108
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
4.4 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
£127
  • Tripadvisor
    £101
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
3.7 miles from Happy House Hostel
Exterior view
£71
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £58
  • Booking.com
1.6 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £134
  • Expedia.com
    £166
3.2 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    £27
  • Hotels.com
1.7 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £157
  • Mandarin Oriental
5.3 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free parking
Pool
  • Novotel
    £158
  • Expedia.com
    £132
  • Hotels.com
5.6 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santiago
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017

This hostel provides decent value for money with very friendly and helpful English-speaking staff, common areas that are inviting to spend time, and clean & comfortable rooms. This is a beautiful old building with wooden floors, stairs and walls - which means you can hear everything going on in the hallways, neighboring rooms and even downstairs. People staying up late in the common areas or coming in in the middle of the night can be heard in the rooms, which doesn't make for the most restful of nights. Also the common bathrooms need to be cleaned more often during the day.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cbg2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the time that you´ve taken to write your review and good comments about our services and facilities, also the for the suggestions. We are trying hard to enforce our procedures regarding to the noise than guests can make during their stay in order to avoid problems with other travelers trying to rest. We´ll keep an eye on that.

Grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Happy House is a retreat! Great staff, great facilities in a quiet residential neighborhood. I'm coming back the next time I'm in Santiago. This old mansion with high ceilings and a beautiful back patio couldn't be better!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear Jeff,

Thank you so much for your excellent evaluation and kind comments. We are very glad to know you´ve enjoyed the hostel and we can´t wait for your next visit.

We wish you the best. Grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

I stayed one night only & it was great. The hostel is located in a huge mansion c/w swimming pool, deck, outdoor seating area and large foyers. The 24 h check in worked well for me as I arrived late. The bed was comfortable and very clean. Very quiet. In the am, the breakfast was self-serve style and very generous - fried eggs, toast, fruit, yogurt and pineapple juice. My only hesitation in recommending this place is its location? I like to walk and it took me 30 minutes to walk to Quinta Normal metro station. If you like to walk, you won't find better value in Santiago.

Room tip: The dorm room is fine for solo travelers -clean, quiet, safe.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio8069
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear Antonio,

Thanks a lot for your great evaluation and detailed comments about our services and facilities. We are very well located in the middle of the city nearby 3 subway stations (Los Heroes, Santa Ana and Cumming), however, the Quinta Normal park and metro station is located in another district (Estacion Central) so from the center or anywhere else it would take you some time to get there.

We wish you the best and grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

STGO is a busy, loud city. Happy House is the perfect haven away from it all. A bit pricey, but worth every penny. Great breakfast, comfy beds, big lockers, great pool, and ample sunshine. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank backpacking3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your great evaluation and kind comments about our property. Actually our badge is "Happy House Hostel... An Oasis in the heart of Santiago " so your impressions are totally welcome and appreciated.

We wish you the best and hopefully we can have your visit again in a heartbeat.

Grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Clean, good breakfast, and friendly staff. Not a party hostel and convenient location that was close to good local restaurants and activities. There is no elevator and many stairs so be aware of this.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gmakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Karen,

Thank you so much for your great evaluation and comments. We definitely are not a party hostel (thanks for pointing that), but we still provide different activities for our guests to have fun. We strongly believe that managing the hostel in this way, everyone is able to have a good time without disturbing the right to rest of the others travelers when bedtime comes. It´s true we have 3 floors and no elevator, however, when your booking takes place on the 2nd or 3rd floor, all our staff are very disposed to give you a hand with the luggage. Feel free to ask :)

We wish you the best and grettings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews