We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Doug A

Great hostel with friendly staff!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Nov 2017
This was my first time staying in a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised. I have always stayed in hotels. The staff here are very friendly and helpful and the hostel is very clean. There is a great courtyard in the back with a pool and lots of places to relax and socialize. There is a breakfast provided in the morning that includes hot eggs made to order. There are a lot of restaurants nearby and the metro is a couple of blocks away. I will be back!
Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review
Responded 20 Nov 2017
Dear Doug,

It was a pleasure for us to have hosted your group, especially considering what you do for our chilean society. Thanks a lot for your great evaluation and kind comments. We´ll definitely be very happy to have you back soon !!!

Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£85
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.7 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£57
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £57
1.2 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
£180
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Mandarin Oriental
5.3 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
£102
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Novotel
    £132
3.7 miles from Happy House Hostel
Tripadvisor
£64
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Mercure
    £81
1.0 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
£91
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.2 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Tripadvisor
£55
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis
    £70
2.5 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    £29
  • Hotels.com
1.6 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Novotel
    £125
  • ZenHotels.com
    £94
  • Hotels.com
5.6 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £135
  • Expedia.com
    £145
5.9 miles from Happy House Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Santiago
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
433
315
92
43
17
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Stayed in February 2017.

I only stayed here for a night as a quick stopover before my flight the next day. The hostel is quaint and with character. The rooms are huge. I stay in a 6-dorm room, then there were 2 young girls who arrived in the middle of the night and chat loudly as if nobody is sleeping! I told them to keep their voices low but i am not sure they understood English, or they are just really rude teenagers! I know the hostel cannot control bad behavior but if they could advise everyone about that very simple rule because not everyone has common sense and proper etiquette :(

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shyllajaggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Shylla,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment, however and as you personally said on your comment here, we cannot control bad behavior. We do advise all our guests in advance and at arrival about the internal house rules of the hostel. Actually at check in you must sign them to be able to stay at our property. Unfortunately if you decided to stay in a dorm this kind of things some times happens (every traveler who usually stays in shared dormitories knows or at least expects this risk) and it´s really unfair for us to be blame and poorly evaluated on tripadvisor because of this situation. We have private rooms with private or shared bathroom where nobody can disturb you, but obviously they are more expensive than a dorm bed.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Nice place and atomosphare, good location of the hotel, friendly employees give good hints.
Food as well quite good, best for expamle pancakes for breakfast :) )
I would recommned it for short stay in Santiago

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 814joannap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Joanna,

Thanks a lot for your great evaluation and kind comments. We are very glad to know you´ve enjoyed the atmosphare, breakfast, staff an so on. We´d love to have you back soon. We wish you the best.

Warm regards from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Was good but not great
Would stay here again if walking but have stayed in better in the area
But was friendly and was very clean so I guess good value for money
But do t know if I would stay again if I had better time to look for another place to stay

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank williammF7651SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear William,

Thanks for you evaluation. We don´t understand exactly why you´d prefer to look for another place, considering that your stay was good at Happy House. Anyway, we wish you the best and we hope you´ll be able to stay with us again.

Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I have stayed at the happy house twice and been very happy both times. This is a beautiful old building with incredible original features. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the private rooms are beautiful (I haven't tried the dorms) and the breakfast is great. It is a short, easy walk from central Santiago and there are nice cafe's and restaurants nearby. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sheenac102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Sheena,

Thanks a lot for your excellent evaluation and comments. We are happy to know you´ve enjoyed the stay both times you were here. We appreciate the recommendation and we hope to get your visit again sooon. We wish you the best.

Greetings from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

I was staying in this hostel only for one night, but everything was perfect. the staff is really nice and helpful, the rooms and bathrooms are clean,... it's really close to center and to the all transports.

if you are going to stay there i am sure you are not going to regret it :))

Room tip: i didn't ask for a special room and it was nice :))
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 438teah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Tea,

Thank you very much for your great evaluation and comments. We´ll be very happy if you could make the arrangements to come back and stay for more than one night, so you´d be able to enjoy even more your stay with us :)

We wish you the best and we send you warm regards from the entire Happy House Hostel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews