We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small hotel with great character”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel del Patio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel del Patio
Ranked #161 of 198 Hotels in Santiago
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A small hotel with great character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

The rooms are somewhat small and the floor creaks when you move across it but this unique hotel has a lot going for it. Be prepared to carry your luggage up the winding staircase to the reception after you have figured out how to be buzzed in and don't expect a large closet to hang your clothes. But the the location right on Patio Bellavista and the very pleasant and helpful staff make up for any of these minor annoyances.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Senior046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
26
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

I'm writing this review while staying at this hotel.

1. Location: Awesome. Lots of restaurants, bars, and nightlife within one block! Downside to this location is the noise from those restaurants and bars which stay open till 4 or 5am, esp. on the weekend.

2. Property Condition: Old renovated house with creaky wood floors and huge doors and plaster walls. It is clean, though you will know you're staying at an old house. The bathroom is tiny--smallest I've ever experienced other than an airplane.

3. Noise: Aside from the noise from the nightlife, there's a building being built across the street with hammering and banging starting at 8am. While the walls are thick, the old house has no soundproofing in doors and windows which don't shut properly and you can hear what is going on in the hallways. I can hear the receptionist talking on the phone and she is not loud.

4. Cleanliness: Everything is clean. There was some dust in the closet, but since I'm not using it, I didn't care. The bed linens are clean and fresh. Bed is comfortable and I slept well with earplugs.

5. Value: I paid $100 per night for this room, which I felt was on the high side for what I got. Upon arrival, I noticed that the posted rate for the rooms is about half of what hotels.com gave me (i-escape.com was the same). So if you are looking for value, call the hotel and book directly and you'll get a great rate which matches up to what you get. If you have a foreign passport, lodging is tax free in Chile, so beware of any hotel taxes which anybody is trying to charge you disguised as booking fees.

6. Service: The hotel staff are young people, probably recently out of college. They are eager to please and very polite. Obviously, they can't do anything about the noise.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theviraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed in 5 hotels in Chile, none of them major chains or American owned hotels, and this was the best one in Santiago for the price. The small, boutique style lodging is located in the Bellavista Barrio which is great for beer drinking and a relaxed, but young, party scene. There is a keypad on the main door for security and the receptionist can easily see all people coming and going which makes the rooms feel secure. The views form the dining area made the simple breakfast last longer. The rooftop deck outside the kitchen is a good place to enjoy a bottle of wine when you want the evening to keep going but need your pillow close by. Def recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRR1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol Stream, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

My friend and I stayed here before and after Patagonia and Easter Island. Hotel is in a great location with lots of restaurants, bars, shops and you can walk to the funicular (down the street). The staff was helpful with arranging breakfast, storing sandwiches, language assistance, etc. The first day we had help going up the stairs with our luggage, however after that we were on our own going up and down (we checked in 3 different times over the course of 2 weeks). There is no air-conditioning so you have to open your window and put the fans on. Being in an area with lots of restaurants and bars means it was REALLY noisy. There was a power outage on one of our last nights which meant there were no fans and we were in a room with no windows so....we slept with our door to the hallway wide open. It was uncomfortable but, you just had to laugh about it. The last morning in the breakfast room, almost all food was gone and all the tables were dirty. All in all, our stay was fine. I just would not recommend the hotel if you must have uninterrupted sleep.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in December over 3 different periods. The location is great. The Bellavista area has a lot of great restaurants and cute shops. The hotel is older, but nice. The rooms are very small. Breakfast was adequate. Our last day there was very little food left out and none of the tables had been cleared from previous guests. Service was inconsistent. The staff was friendly, but didn't seem to follow through on things. Our tour provider left and envelope with our itinerary for our arrival and we didn't receive it until we returned 6 days later. We didn't get our 3:30am wake up call one morning. They said they would leave breakfast out for us that morning, but we never saw it. We stayed in two different rooms and thestreet noise was extremely loud in the first room. Both rooms were very warm and there is only a fan to help you cool off. Our second room was 86 degrees the one night and then the power went out for 5 hours. We actually opened the door to the hallway and slept with the door open. If nothing else, I can say we felt safe!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksonsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

We had 1 nite in Santiago at the end of a long trip. We were not up for sightseeing, so this was a great location for us. It is situated in an older complex that includes an artisan market and restaurants, cafes. We loved it.
The room was a bit small; however for 1 nite it was no problem. We had wifi connection in our room & on the deck off the breakfast room. Breakfast was included and we ate out on the deck, with a view of the Andes mountains.
We were a late checkout so they moved our bags to another room & graciously invited us to relax in their facilities and ordered a taxi for us.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

I read some of the other reviews about the noise , the university is not under construction anymore, I didn't hear anything. Its a small hotel but I liked it a lot.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annscraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Tinto Boutique Hotel
Tinto Boutique Hotel
#29 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Monteverde
#186 of 198 in Santiago
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#20 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casona Loreto
#100 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Nippon Hotel
#109 of 198 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Hotel Boutique Castillo Rojo
#12 of 198 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Patio

Property: Hotel del Patio
Address: Pio Nono 61 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 198 Hotels in Santiago
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Patio 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Patio is very well located in the Providencia District, specifically within the important gastronomical and cultural center called Patio Bellavista. The hotel has a capacity of 10 comfortable, modern rooms with private bathrooms LCD screen TV, cable TV, closets, air conditioning and central heating. Breakfast and internet Wi-Fi are included in the price. Our services include an excellent Continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Our qualified and multilingual staff is pleased to provide guests with information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel del Patio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Patio Hotel
Del Patio Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing