We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse and expensive”
Review of Atacama Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atacama Hostel
Ranked #96 of 467 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
GreenLeadersGold level
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worse and expensive”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

To tell the truth, can't understand the good recomends. Dirty at all, bad smelling room, unorganized reception, not able to call a taxi?! Not able to wash my clothes at beginning even there was a sheet at the reception " lavanderia express 6000 pesos" ( not cheap ) cold water all the time. A not nessesary hudge TV in a small room. While sitting on the toilet, the other dorm could watch you. Very expensive at all, and for what you get in any event. Anoying door bell.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank americadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atacama H, Administradora at Atacama Hostel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimada:

La pagina es abierta a toda la comunidad de viajeros, por lo tanto las buenas y malas experiencias vividas dentro de nuestro establecimiento son siempre bienvenidas.
Tal como se lo debió haber explicado nuestra recepcionista, el servicio de taxi debe ser solicitado con al menos 1 hora de anticipación, esto para verificar la disponibilidad de la empresa que nos provee los taxis.
Respecto al servicio express de lavanderìa, este consiste en lavado, secado y planchado de ropa, el valor efectivamente es de $6.000 por el servicio completo, y hasta hoy, nos enteramos que lamentablemente fallamos en brindárselo y nos disculpamos por aquello.
Dentro de nuestra pàgina web, se pueden visualizar los tipos de habitaciones con las que contamos y la infraestructura del hostal, toda esta informaciòn respaldada por fotografìas, asì también las tarifas y ofertas por temporadas. Recomendamos siempre verificar esa información antes de gestionar las reservas para evitar futuros comentarios respecto a los precios.

Muchas Gracias por contarnos su experiencia, nuestro equipo trabaja día a día para mejorar todas las falencias encontradas.
.
Saludos
Stephany Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    48
    24
    19
    16
See reviews for
11
30
57
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This place is lovely, clean and very very friendly!!! I'm sorry for the people who had a bad experience but i had a really good one =) Sthepanie is awesome, helpful and always giving you advices about what u can do in Santiago.

I'LL DEFINITELY COME BACK!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezabel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

i've travelled everywhere in the world and i must say this is for sure one of the best places i have stayed!!! the stuff is soooo friendly and helpful (especially Ale & Carla)!!! the location is very good on the area of providencia. the facilities are excellent, rooms and bathrooms are extremelly clean.

unfortunatelly in this place, works a THIEF and his name is Luis. i left my iphone on the table of the reception room for 5' one night, i came back with some friends, he was the only one there, i asked him where it was and he was saying "i dont know" and things like that. i called from a friends phone and it was ringing in the private stuff office where he had put it!!! he steals things and maybe he has done it b4 but he will do it again, so watch out for this criminal!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atacama H, Administrador at Atacama Hostel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Luís
Lamentamos mucho saber esto, pues es una situación muy compleja, que realmente nunca antes había sucedido, pero ya tomamos cartas en el asunto con el fin de solucionarlo y de asegurarnos que nunca mas vuelva a suceder.
Pido las disculpas correspondientes frente a este mal rato vivido en nuestro Hostal y agradezco su comentario, pues nos da la oportunidad de mejorar y ofrecer así un mejor servicio a nuestros pasajeros.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Old style hostel with pretty basic facilities in a good location within Provedencia. Our room was old & and in need of a good clean. Breakfast was unorganised so we decided to go for a walk & buy our own instead. Happy our stay here was only for one night.

Room Tip: Get the private bathroom rooms as the shared facilities are horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaunwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacautin, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I plan on coming back soon. The people who work there are so cool.The friends i made there will always be remembered. This was my first stop in latin america, and one of the best. the only thing i didnt like is that my bathroom smelled like bleach, and the building is old, but i got over that quick because i was having fun.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Great location in Providencia -beautiful neiberghood- a few blocks from the metro. Not super clean , but with a very friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elfraio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italiana en chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2010

they told us about a beautiful room but we had an horrible one, they told us it was just for one night but the day after because of a problem they couldn't change our room...so we left: we pay a lot for a night in an old dirty and bad place.Terrible organization and accomodation...and the breakfast was...unforgettable :(

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moreliana49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santiago hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Atacama Low Cost
Atacama Low Cost
#332 of 467 in Santiago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Newen Kara Hostel
#59 of 467 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Chile Hostales
#63 of 467 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#18 of 467 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Kombi Hostel
#41 of 467 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 467 in Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atacama Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atacama Hostel

Property: Atacama Hostel
Address: Roman Diaz 130 | Providencia, Santiago 7500607, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 467 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Atacama Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atacama Hostel is a new concept in accommodation for the domestic and international traveller. We are focus on delivering the best and more complete service in a great and comfortable atmosphere.Our house was reconditioned for you to come and relax and also to enjoy the amenities with your friends. At Atacama Hostel you can enjoy the TV and DVD communal lounge room, the BBQ area, and the terrace to observe the sunset. Our Hostel is conveniently located (100 metres off Providencia Avenue) at only few steps from the subway and the bus station,the location is the best, most secure, clean, and attractive suburb of Santiago From Atacama’s, it’s an easy stroll around Santiago’s inner city streets line with shops, cafes and eateries. At night, this area comes alive with cocktail bars, nightclubs, and diverse restaurants. Additionally, we are located very close to regional bus and flight agencies agencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Atacama Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing