We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual menu, good service”

Como Agua Para Chocolate
Ranked #32 of 4,529 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Providencia
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unusual menu, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Having walked through the Bellavista Patio and not seeing a restaurant we fancied, we chose como agua para chocolate as the food on the plates we could see though the window looked appetizing. A waitress came immediately and took our drinks order, and shortly afterwards our food order. Whilst we waited for our plates we enjoyed reading on the place setting all about the aphrodesiac affects of various vegetables and seeing the attractively plated food going to the other tables!
We also had some discussions about the nationality of the restaurant, and wondered if there was a Mexican influence as many of the dishes were served with tortilla crisps.
My salad a la Pescadroa (fisherman) was delicious, with lumps of warm smoked salmon, cold scallops, squid and prwns 7900clp. My husband enjoyed his fresh oysters 7600clp 8900clp (without after effects) and our guest had the mixed clams in cheese sauce with chile prawns, which we all dug into.
The bill came immediately when requested and overall the food was delicious, the service willing and cheerful, in an interesting enviroment at a reasonable price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,272
    2,511
    891
    253
    178
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for date night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have been to this restaurant twice and had two different experiences here. The atmosphere is perfect for a date night: There was a fountain decorated with roses, live music, and really great service. The food was delicious though fairly expensive.

However, I returned with a group for a friend's birthday and it was less than ideal. Definitely better for couples than it is for a large group event.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mm305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice, charming place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Food was good, wines too. The place has a very nice atmosphere and combined with decent, good quality food, a must if in Santiago.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Review_time_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hated everything about it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Food was terrible, and neither me or my husband could eat any of it. On top of that, when after asking for the check to return home hungry and leaving everything on the table, I didn't want to tip the waitress (I ate absolutely nothing!) and the lady started screaming at me and saying that she was going to be fired because of me, that I was cheap etc etc. She called all the other waitresses to offend me. Overall, i hated everything.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lovely place to spend an evening. Great food, very friendly, super service, very large portions...so beware! We had too much food! It is in the Bellavista area, which is a wonderful place to spend some time. Wonderful wine!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PiaS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Como Agua Para Chocolate also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Como Agua Para Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing