We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average food”
Review of Trattoria Calypso

Trattoria Calypso
Ranked #201 of 4,573 Restaurants in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, average food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

After hearing so much about this restaurant, I was excited to try it out. We went on asunday and arrived around 1pm and there was already an almost 2 hour wait. We decided to add our names to the list anyways and left to do some shopping and came back. It was a beautiful day, so we were able to sit outside, order some drinks from the bar and enjoy there yummy onion bread while we waited, so it wasn't too bad. Because of this, I was expecting awesome food, but we were overall not impressed. None of the pasta dishes were particuarly special and pizza is only available on Saturdays. Our service was not great. The best part was the mixed cheese, meat and olive appetizer. This is a great place for families as there were lots of kids playing and enjoying outside and lots of people hanging out on balnkets after lunch (great to make a day out of it), but I thought the food was pricey for the quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank britbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    74
    37
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The best place to eat in the Cajon del Maipo!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Only open at the weekend this family run restaurant is a must for anyone visiting the Cajon del Maipo with kids. Get there early to avoid the crowds. Enjoy a simple italian menu in the beautiful foothills of the Chilean mountains.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Spectacular view of the mountains, specially the view to Torrecillas del Manzano and Palestras del Manzano.
Pretty close from Santiago, very good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbeBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“it is on the expensive side but great food, service and place. Thumbs up!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

the pastas, clearly!we love the scenery and the crowd is okay, lots of young families. Thumbs up for the hammocks!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Profe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Extraordinary place and great pasta.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Located in the "Cajón del Maipo", a beautiful canyon in the Maipo river where this descends from the Andes Mountains, with a very nice view to the canyon and to the mountains, this simple but at the same time very warm and friendly restaurant offer us lovely pastas and pizzas (pizzas only on Saturday). With my family we visit it at least 4 times per year. At one hour driving from Santiago through a nice mountain road. As it is an excellent place is always full, so is very recommendable arrive early (before 1 PM) or late, after 4 PM. When wether allows it's very nice take a table in the terrace.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Calypso also viewed

Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
San Jose de Maipo, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region
San Jose de Maipo, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 
San Jose de Maipo, Santiago Metropolitan Region
San Jose de Maipo, Santiago Metropolitan Region
 

Been to Trattoria Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing