We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alecon FineHostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alecon FineHostel
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed only one night in the Alecon FineHostel but we had a good time. The room was clean and big enough and the bathrooms were clean as well! The location is good, near to the "ascensor" and in walking distance from some nice coffees and restaurants. But the best in this hostel is his owner, Alberto. He gives you a lot of good advices what to see and what to do in Valparaiso. We have never seen a owner like him and we are travelling now for more than 5 months in Latinamerica. We could come back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

The hostel is in a perfect location, right in the middle of the bohemian district of Cerro Concepcion. The hostel decor is old school kitsch (not sure if it´s deliberate) - it´s not luxury and is a bit rough round the edges, but has character. Breakfast nothing to write home about. The owner, Alberto, is one of the most hospitable people I have ever met on my travels and genuinely cares about his guests. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earlybird97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Alberto is a great guy and full of knoweldge not just of Valpariso but of South America in general.

The location is excellent and is in the best area, safest and trendiest, in Valpariso.

Alberto had been fantastic prior to arrival via email before our arrival and had continued to be approachable and knowledgable during our stay.

The negatives for us were the cleanliness of one of the bathrooms and parts of our room were mouldy.

Breakfast was a standard Chilean breakfast but could be improved upon to make this hostal a lot better.

We would recommend this hostal for the location and Alberto.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyandMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Lovely, quiet hostel. Alberto was the most helpful and knowledgable hostel owner we have met in our 3 month trip to South America. He spent a lot of time explaining the best places to go and giving us the history behind the area, and gave us plenty of information to allow us to do our own walking tour. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrosbie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Alecon FineHostel, and its owner and host, Alberto are treasures within the old town area of Valparaiso.

The lodgings are terrific value for money in terms of the location, ease of access and proximity to the best parts of town though the real value is in Alberto.

A scholar of Valparisian and Chilean history, Alberto is the real highlight of the place and the generousity of his time, enthusiasm and knowledge sets Alecon FineHostel apart from the standard South American Inn.

Bypass the other places listed on HostelWorld and head straight to Alberto.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Alecon FineHostel is in a great location for exploring Valparaiso, with lots of nice restaurants and coffee shops close by. The room was brightly decorated, very clean and comfortable. Alberto really is a kind, helpful and hardworking host. He arranged a lift to the bus station for us early which was a big help.

Unfortunately for us we came to Valparaiso in really bad weather, but Alberto spent lots of time helping us find an itinerary for a rainy day. The restaurants he recommended were not in any of our guide books, and were where all the locals ate, and we really enjoyed trying these. We would not have known about them otherwise.

Alberto clearly values his guests and we appreciated this greatly. Thanks for a great stay, I would recommend this accommodation

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

The hotel location is perfect, central to the old town/hill area. The actual rooms were somewhat old and although comfy they were a little dusty (balls of fluff on the floor, dirty window frames). The bathrooms were old but functional.Alberto was very welcoming and provided a useful walking guide/tour and without this we may well mave missed some of the sights of the hill.The tour was explained in great detail over an hour. Breakfast was your usual fare. Internet access was good and fast. Price was reasonable. Rooms on ground floor can be noisy as there is a public footpath right outside the window (and we had people talking right outside late into the night, until I banged on the window)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostal La Colombina de Valparaiso
0.3 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#15 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecomusic Hotel
Ecomusic Hotel
#22 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Volante Hostal
Casa Volante Hostal
#2 of 183 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Acuarela
Hostal Acuarela
#16 of 183 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alecon FineHostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alecon FineHostel

Property: Alecon FineHostel
Address: Cochrane 313 | Barrio Puerto Valparaíso, Valparaiso, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 183 Speciality Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alecon FineHostel, the perfect holiday destination in a perfect private room with the best and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Alecon FineHostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing