We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country house in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Higueras
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Country house in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

A real feeling of a country house in the city, very fine restaurant, lovely views over the city at night from the restaurant terrace. Room a bit on the small side, good sized terrace but could have benefited from being a bit bigger and maybe could do with airconditioning in the rooms.
Fascinating city, full of surprises and Casa Higueras is a good palce to base yourself for easily touring the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonR142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    108
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
333
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Very comfortable, exceptional staff and the meals were close to Michelin standard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

A charming and atmospheric hotel in the heart of the Historic area of Valparaiso. Rooms are good, there is a splendid pool and the restaurant is recommended for dinner. (There are also good restaurants and bars within 10 mins walk) Unfortunately, the breakfasts are dull and uninspired.
The staff were friendly and helpful, but we found it surprising that quite a few did not even have the basic English words for what they were serving (though there are some good English speakers on the staff.)
The house is on many levels on a steep slope - there is a lift, but if you have difficulty with stairs, this is not for you (nor is Valparaiso).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atticuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I liked CH a lot, especially its fine restaurant. It is definitely a boutique hotel, and, as I was on business, I did miss some big hotel conveniences (for example, there was no coffee available when I had to leave for an early flight--but the hotel graciously packed a meal "to-go"). Booking and cancellation rules were also much more complex than would be the case at a big chain. Still, the staff was great. The views are phenomenal. Let's be honest--Valparaiso is not much of a town; it looks much better from afar. Up close it's gritty and somewhat sad without any of the sidewalk cafes and lovely promenades you come to expect in the cone of South America. So having this little charmer of a hotel was refreshing. The walk back up from the port is a bit of a challenge--and wrong turns take to you into some dodgy neighborhoods. So do be careful on that score. But the pool looked great (too cold though when I was there in November). Rooms are traditional, and a bit creaky, but still up to a high standard (as are the bathrooms). Even if you don't stay here make the effort to have a meal, as the food is terrific (and fairly priced). Plus, as mentioned, the views are spectacular.

Room Tip: There can be music at the restaurant, so if you are early to bed, pick a room that doesn't face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenat323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We recently stayed at Casa Higueras in Valpariaso just before new years eve of 2011 and had a truly wonderful experience. Very well positioned in easy (if hilly) walking distance to a good chunk of what valparaiso has to offer the hotel was very clean and well run, the staff were exceptionally helpful and polite, and nearly all spoke very good English. Particular note were the waiters in the restaraunt, very proffesional and easily the best service we had in all of our Chilean trip. Great view out over the bay from the pool\spa, good breakfast, and a great pisco sour :). If I had to pick one issue the hot water ran out once during our stay but it was easily forgiven.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

This spot can't be beaten - right in the barrios you'll want to wander around. A beautiful 1920s merchant's house converted into a very stylish small hotel. The restaurant just happens to be one of the city's best, and the pool is gorgeous. Really friendly staff too. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffinCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Casa Higueras is one of the nicest small hotels you'll stay in anywhere. Our bedroom had a balcony with a wonderful view over the port - the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom even better. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna were just great to lounge in during the very warm four days we were here. It was incredibly peaceful to stay here and the hotel is a dream. The breakfast was very good, but not exceptional. We had two dinners included at the Montealegre restaurant and they were the top two dinners we had in three weeks in South America - the service was just right, the view on the terrace a delight (ask for a terrace table when you book - they give blankets to the women when it gets cold!) and the food as good as the best restaurants we've been in (I'll do a separate review for it). Also, Valparaiso is an amazing town to stay in. We met two or three people on our travels before we got there who wondered why we were staying in Valparaiso not in Vina del Mar (connecting beach town a short way up the coast) which caused us to doubt our decision. Well, we visited Vina for a day and are so glad we stayed in Valparaiso! If you prefer Strasbourg to Florence, or Frankfurt to Paris, or Miami to Rome, then you just might prefer Vina to Valparaiso! If you've any love of culture over manicured town, there is simply no question which is better. Even the waiter at the restaurant in Vina told us to go back to Valparaiso if we wanted to see anything interesting that day! Valparaiso is rough around the edges but felt super safe and a delight of a town to visit. Casa Higueras is a short, but hilly, walk to the Concepcion area where the best restaurants, views and graffiti art are to experienced. Valparaiso was the highlight of a great trip.

So why four stars, not five? Casa Higueras is expensive, really expensive for a boutique hotel. And when something is that expensive, the service should be close to flawless, and it just isn't. The building, facilities and amenities are six out of five but the service was not up to scratch. Welcome when we arrived was lukewarm, bathroom products weren't replaced, internet didn't work in bedroom (staff didn't believe me when I reported this - I then heard someone else complain and they continued to say it was his laptop's fault, not theirs), concierge were not knowledgable or at least unwilling to share their knowledge of the area and generally we felt the staff, though friendly enough, were not trained properly. I hope they'll get there because this has the potential to be one of the best places to visit on earth!

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a premium superior with a balcony with views over Valparaiso - there are blank...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acdublin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#12 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
#7 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Higueras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Higueras

Property: Hotel Casa Higueras
Address: Higuera 133 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370540, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valparaiso
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
#6 Family Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Higueras 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple façade of Higuera street hides the inside of this sophisticated and warm boutique hotel of over 1600 square meters, that occupies the five floors of an original mansion, where you can find 20 guestrooms decorated with taste and elegance. On the garden level you find the pool with a line of white sun chairs. The spa invites the guests to a complete relaxation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa Higueras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Higueras Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing