We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable little hotel high on a hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Higueras
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable little hotel high on a hill”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights at Casa Higueras. It was a little difficult to find (we drove from Santiago), due mostly to the winding roads on the hill. I recommend having an iPhone map (GPS is available, of course, but pre-load your map as there was no cell coverage for us), along with a paper map that the hotel can email to you ahead of time. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a view of the port (we had a nice balcony). Valparaiso is a working port, so you'll hear the clanks and motors all night if you keep your window/balcony door open, but it's not disruptive to sleep. The bathroom was clean and modern, but the bathtub is very deep and difficult to get into if you're short.

The breakfasts were nice and served in a dining room with a view and on a balcony when weather allows. The wifi was available in our room (#10). We were happy to pay the $30/day extra to park our car in a locked parking lot so we didn't have to worry about it. We did use the car once to get to Pablo Neruda's house, but otherwise walked. The staff recommended excellent restaurants for us. We did not get a chance to try the hotel's restaurant, which is supposed to be good, but we loved our other 2 choices (Pasta e Vino and La Concepción.

The hotel is a little pricey, and we also saw a room in a nearby hotel, Zero, which was also very nice and less expensive.

We enjoyed walking around Valpo, and recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    114
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
344
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our trip to Chile & Argentina. It was outstanding! Quiet, supportive staff made sure everything ran smoothly. After overnight flight and a long transfer to this coastal town, the large hot tub and swimming pool were just perfect. Most rooms have great views. Ask to upgrade to get your own private porch!
The buidlings in Valparaiso are stacked into the steelp hills, and this casa is no exception. It can only be seen from the back at the entrance, but not from the side since the alley is blocked off for privacy. The earthquake hit here in 2010 destroying several buildings across the ravine making for a striking contrast between color houses and empty destroyed buildings all on the same hillside - your view from here! We could watch the cruise ships come and go and hear the loading of the container vessels that continue all the time. A fascinating place!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs in the hotel, but elevators, too. Upgrade to have your own private porch overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewViewTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our trip to Chile & Argentina. It was outstanding! Quiet, supportive staff made sure everything ran smoothly. After overnight flight and a long transfer to this coastal town, the large hot tub and swimming pool were just perfect. Most rooms have great views. Ask to upgrade to get your own private porch!
The buidlings in Valparaiso are stacked into the steelp hills, and this casa is no exception. It can only be seen from the back at the entrance, but not from the side since the alley is blocked off for privacy. The earthquake hit here in 2010 destroying several buildings across the ravine making for a striking contrast between color houses and empty destroyed buildings all on the same hillside - your view from here! We could watch the cruise ships come and go and hear the loading of the container vessels that continue all the time. A fascinating place!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Great find! Gorgeous boutique hotel on the hill (or rather, one of the hills!). Generous rooms and bathroom. Staff were very helpful and friendly. On site restaurant - breakfast included but we also had dinner which was very good.
We were lucky to have one of the rooms with a (large) balcony (because we requested this at the time of booking) and had a great view down to the very nice pool and onward to the port.
Expensive, but well worth the treat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony at the time of booking - if one is available you'll be likely to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrietteG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We were sent here by our travel operator kind of on a lark. We had planned to go to the lakes district, but agreed to check out Valparaiso instead. It's. quirky but cool city perched on the hills above the historic harbor.

So you wind through the hilly streets and come to a dead end at Casa Higueras. But once inside, it has charm to spare. Great dark wood theme, with some nods to the areas nautical heritage. The room was very big by SA standards with comfy bed, A/C, excellent bathroom with both a standalone tub and a big shower. And the views... very cool views of the water and the hillsides.

Take time to hit the infinity pool for a COLD dip, then hang it on the deck to warm up. We loved having a glass of wine at night atop the terrace which was upstairs right outside our room. Comfy couches and windscreen glass to add to the setting.

As for food, the restaurant was a nice place for dinner (try the fish but avoid the conger eel) with good friendly service and a nice view across the hillsides to the waterfront.

We were pleasantly surprised and when in Valpo again would definitely stay at CH again.

Room Tip: There are several rooms with terraces but they are separated only by a half wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kujo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

After traveling all night from NY to Valparaiso and touring the harbor and Pablo Neruda's house. We checked in with our group of 10. I enjoyed the view, the whirlpool, the pool, the sauna, and especially the service. The hotel is within walking distance of fine dining and overlooks the bay. The wifi was not accessible from my room but i was able to join by the pool and the library.
Premium rooms had good sized bathroom but small bedroom. breakfast dining was easy and delightful out on the terrace. Very clean, and well appointed with hardwood floors and in laid rugs. I nice contemporary style within an older refurbished building at the end of a quiet street.
Michael with New View Tours

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank NewViewMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed in a Superior Double for two nights during our honeymoon. Since this is one of the more expensive rooms, we were disappointed to find that we did not have a terrace in our room. We had a great view of the bay, but after seeing Valparaiso, even a hills view would have been fine. The room had a large, comfortable bed, and a wrap-around couch. The bathroom was enormous. The hotel itself was beautiful and the restaurant was fabulous. We found parking on the street and had no issue leaving it there. One negative: they sprung us for gratuity at the end of the stay when we were checking out. No other hotel did this while we were in Chile, and we had already tipped all the restaurant staff during our meals. It was a percentage of our bill, and since the room was expensive, the tip was quite a lot. It left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
#9 of 35 in Valparaiso
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
#10 of 35 in Valparaiso
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Higueras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Higueras

Property: Hotel Casa Higueras
Address: Higuera 133 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370540, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valparaiso
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
#6 Family Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Higueras 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple façade of Higuera street hides the inside of this sophisticated and warm boutique hotel of over 1600 square meters, that occupies the five floors of an original mansion, where you can find 20 guestrooms decorated with taste and elegance. On the garden level you find the pool with a line of white sun chairs. The spa invites the guests to a complete relaxation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Higueras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Higueras Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing