We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Higueras
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Given that we found Valparaiso generally to be stinky, run down and grossly filthy (are there no laws about littering and graffiti? or smoking pot in the street?), I was thrilled that at least our hotel was a gorgeous, clean oasis! Set into a hill on perhaps the only clean, well-maintained street in town (at least that I saw), the Casa Higueras is a beautiful building with a lovely restaurant overlooking the harbour and a beautiful pool area with a lovely infinity pool. While our room was on the small side (tight to even get our luggage in and opened), it was quite clean and had a great shaded terrace with a harbour view. The bathroom was clean and modern - though I didn't understand the half-shower door which allowed huge quantities of water to spray all over the place and collect on the floor (either have a proper door or curtain or forget it, I would say!). The hotel is not air conditioned, which was not a problem for us because our room was shaded. Our friends in the rooms upstairs from us, however, found them extremely hot and stifling, and couldn't leave the windows open at night to sleep because of the noise from the city below.

I was delighted by the pool area, where the staff came up with a pool furniture solution that every other hotel on the planet should try: they simply cover the lounge chair cushions with a fresh towel every day, so that it can be pulled off and washed before the next day, eliminating chairs with gross bird dropping stains and other dirt.

We only had one meal at the hotel, breakfast, but found it very good and served with friendliness and smiles. We sat on the terrace again overlooking the harbour, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. (Or staying in adjacent Vina del Mar rather than dirty, smelly Valparaiso.)

Room Tip: Try and get one that is either not on the sunny side (which, unfortunately, would mean no view), or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarvDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel is lovely and the friendly, helpful staff fluent in several languages. Valparaiso is a lively, artsy city and much more interesting than Santiago. However, we were surprised by the lack of both air conditioning and screens on the windows. We got lots of bug bites. Also, there is a treacherous and unavoidable step in the lovely breakfast dining room with its dark wood floors. The step is not set off by any kind of contrasting design. I saw a number of older people stumble and almost fall on it, and I almost took a tumble myself. A lot of the older people seemed to be staying at the hotel prior to boarding one of the many cruise ships that dock in Valparaiso. I was surprised that their travel agents or cruise lines had placed them in this particular hotel. I would return to the hotel if guaranteed a room with screened windows or in cooler weather.

Room Tip: If it is mosquito season, ask for a room with screened windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Valparaiso is a funky artistic city with wonderful graffiti everywhere. The Casa Higueras has wonderful rooms and a great bed. The breakfasts were very good. Walking in the area was very nice.
And the restaurant. We ate there one night and it was truly wonderful

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rweis1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed two nights here, and our room (number 19 on the fourth floor) was dark, noisy and stifling. One small window in the corner, which we left open because there is no air conditioning. Lots of mosquitos, plus the noise from the port below and from a large flock of seagulls that roost on the abandoned house next door and squawk at all hours of the night. We didn´t sleep well at all. There is no desk in the room.

The restaurant is very good, with good food and nice service, especially from Diane at breakfast and lunch. The terrace is probably the best in the city, with amazing views and big umbrellas for shade.

The hotel is in a good location and the sitting room and pool area are nice.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Benny207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed in the suite with a lovely view of the harbor. The room was spotless and very comfortable with a large bathroom. It within walking distance to restaurants and the attraction. Great staff, breakfast awesome so was dinner at their restaurant. The pool area was great after a day walking the hill streets.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very well placed for exploring the tourist area of Valparaiso with great views of the harbour especially from the restaurant where we had dinner on a chilly evening but the staff provided shawls and patio heaters for those hardy souls prepared to endure the cold for the view, fabulous. Lovely room and attentive but not overbearing service. It was a real pleasure to be here, the first stop on our Chilean tour.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 47Neptune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We loved it with my wife and my baby born daughter. Very quiet, great restaurant and a beautiful spa and swimming pool on top of Valparaiso. Located in Cerro Alegre, it´s perfect for walking around the touristic sites. The only minus is the parking fee quite expensive but no hotels in the immediate surrounding have parking spots so. We´ll go back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasilicBistrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zerohotel
Zerohotel
#8 of 35 in Valparaiso
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#5 of 35 in Valparaiso
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
#9 of 35 in Valparaiso
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Higueras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Higueras

Address: Higuera 133 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370540, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valparaiso
#2 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range: £165 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Higueras 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A simple façade of Higuera street hides the inside of this sophisticated and warm boutique hotel of over 1600 square meters, that occupies the five floors of an original mansion, where you can find 20 guestrooms decorated with taste and elegance. On the garden level you find the pool with a line of white sun chairs. The spa invites the guests to a complete relaxation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa Higueras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Higueras Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing