We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection at a great price!”

Le Filou de Montpellier
Ranked #109 of 441 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Perfection at a great price!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Real French food! Prix fixe lunch was a bargain with several choices--all delicious. Fine service! Delightful neighborhood--colorful and Bohemian, with cobblestone streets! Charming!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathyindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    98
    37
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fun but not really very French”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Our restaurant last night purported to be French, was cash only, and didn’t have two of the wines on the list we thought we’d have liked. We did enjoy a Valdivia reserve sauvignon blanc, nonetheless. The food was good, but it wasn’t French…no French spices to speak of. Still, le Filou de Montpelier (The Swindler of Montpelier) had good food: with appetizers like lox served with blood sausage (!) and a salad for my husband and serrano ham with salad for me were very good. The amuse-bouche of homemade pâté de foie was fun. And the mains were very nice, though not quite French. My ostrich steak could have used a great deal more black pepper if it had had any on it to begin with, while my husband's filet de rein ate, the local white fish, was excellent, but much more Chilean in style than French. Both came with braised sweet onions. The baked potatoes in foil were a mid-century touch! Always potatoes in Chile.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanxlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We chose to eat in this restaurant because of veru good reviews. And I think this place did not deserve it. Food was OK, although a little bit too french. But service was not good at all. First is the panel (where the menu was written) fell over our table. Fortunately we did not get our meal. No one excused. Than we had to wait for one hour to get our orders. At the end, as we ware paying with dollars (credit card was not accepted there), they tried to trick us for 3000 peso. So, we just did not have very nice time here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiborBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, very affordable”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We just had lunch at this cute little restaurant, sitting by the window and watching the rainfall. We had a delicious broccoli soup. My partner had the beef with the pea purée for his entrée, and I had the seafood lasagna. For dessert, we shared a red berry quiche and a mango and papaya quiche. It was all very good, and we only paid 5,900 pesos each.

The restaurant is cosy, and the staff was friendly and courteous. I truly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertoMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local delight in varied neighborhood”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Culinary refuge to a cold, rainy day in Valparaiso. Welcoming waitstaff, accommodating at every level. Wonderful selection of soups, fresh foods, and local wines in a warm atmosphere. Try the onion soup! Searched area for 1/2 hour and settled on this, the best restaurant in the neighborhood. Local and not touristy, with an authentic French flavor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Filou de Montpellier also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Vina del Mar, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Le Filou de Montpellier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing