We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant, spectacular location, spotty service”

Restaurant La Concepcion
Ranked #3 of 437 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, spectacular location, spotty service”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This highly-rated restaurant was also very highly recommended to us by knowledgeable residents of Valparaiso. The location is utterly amazing. Nothing special on the outside, but once you enter, you see before you one of the most spectacular views of one of the most beautiful cities in the world, Valparaiso. We went at night, and without reservations. Thus, we did not get the best located table. Added to that, it was quite chilly. The place was crowded when we arrived, and we were off to the side. Although we placed our order right away, it took almost an hour to be served. The waiters were very apologetic, and gave us an after dinner cordial on the house. Once it arrived, the food was superb -- crab stuffed house made ravioli, merluzzo (hake fish) and a fabulous greek salad, all washed down by an excellent Chilean sauvignon blanc. I would have given this restaurant five stars, but for the slow service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    428
    127
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous food; great view”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our group of six travelers had a fantastic meal, with great starters, wine and drinks (one of the best Pisco sours ever!). Service was impeccable, plate presentation and preparation were pitch perfect and the food was to die for. A real gem, if you can get a reservation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptrounstine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food great views”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My meal at this restaurant was one of the best meals I have had anywhere. I had lamb with blueberry sauce. The service was attentive and the view great. I was sorry we only ate here once on our 5 day stay in Valparaiso.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vacation023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great views but a little underwhelmed by the food and the service”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a fantastic table, with incredible views, blankets for warmth on a slightly chilly evening and we were looking forward to a highly recommended restaurant experience in Valparaiso.

The service started off quite helpful and friendly but didn't really carry through. Help with the menu only went so far and waiting for drinks was a bit irritating.

The food was ok but nothing to get very excited about and certainly not what we were looking forward to from the no. 2 rated restaurant in Valparaiso.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Sunday evening dining”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was not our first choice in a Sunday evening but was thoroughly enjoyable. Our waiter, Maguel was so solicitous. We were seated at a table outdoors overlooking the port. It was a bit chilly and he was kind enough to offer a blanket. My husband ordered the razor clams prepared Chilean style with fish soup as his main course. I enjoyed a salad and the vegetarian lasagne. The bread was unusal. It was a biscuit not bread that was whole grain with caraway seeds. The wines by the glass were very good. Didn't order dessert.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LNM1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Concepcion also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Restaurant La Concepcion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing