We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Boutique Acontraluz
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts(Valparaiso)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zerohotel(Valparaiso)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ecomusic Hotel(Valparaiso)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fauna(Valparaiso)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
189
70
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
70
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscerro alegretop floorbalcony roomthird floorhelpful employeeslarge balconylovely hotelhamstea and coffeeno elevatorpublic areasthe breakfast areaconverted houserestaurant suggestionschilliquiet streetfamily home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Although we arrived in Valparaiso on New Year's Day- imagine coming home to find your teens had a huge party- Hotel Acontraluz was wonderful. This was our oasis in a city that was cleaning up for the days we were there. Our second stop in a tour of central Chile by Knowmad Adventures included a city tour and wonderful lunch at Oda Pacifico- a highlight! This is a quirky city with the feel of a small town and full of surprises. My son- an artist - especially loved it- trash, dirt and gritty parts included! Hotel Acontraluz reflects the quirkiness- a very well-done renovation of 2 old houses now a light-filled, roomy boutique hotel. Staff were very helpful with all requests, including finding a table for 8 on New Year's Day when most restaurants were closed or booked. Their dining room with complimentary 24 hour coffee, snacks and water was welcoming. The neighbourhood is an easy walk to many restaurants and the port-side streets. The views from the terraces were wonderful! We loved this hotel!

Room Tip: All 4 rooms that I saw were lovely. We had 3 with terraces facing the port and wonderful views of the city.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skipperdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We recently returned from a holiday trip to Chile, spending New Years Eve at the lovely Hotel Acontraluz! The Hotel is quite lovely and the staff is very friendly! Our meals were included and the food (especially for New Years Eve dinner) was delicious!! We had the top floor suite with the spacious terrace which was a great location from which to view the fantastic fireworks!! The staff really does go out of their way to make you feel at home. We would return to this Hotel anytime!!

Room Tip: the top floor suite is outstanding!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Hotel Acontraluz provided an oasis of comfort following our overnight flight from Florida. We spent two nights at this enchanting hotel in Valparaiso and were so glad we chose it for our first visit to this cruise port on the Pacific. Greeted by the highly competent manager Paloma and her very helpful staff Paula and Natalie, we were immediately made to feel at home in this lovely boutique hotel. Escorted to our very comfortable room, we quickly stepped out onto our spacious balcony for a lovely view of this seaside port. A family residence for many years, Acontraluz now specializes in providing comfort and individual care to its guests. We felt like we were staying in someone's home, from the attentive and tasty breakfasts to the furnishings and linens to the lovely garden and flowers so well cared for. Whenever we left for an excursion, we were offered invaluable help by the staff. From dinner reservations to directions to their warm greetings, the staff made our stay so memorable and comfortable. Don't miss this little gem in Valparaiso.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors with a view of the port.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Every positive comment you have read about hotel Acontraluz is true! Upon entering this quaint and spacious hotel, you are greeted by smiling and welcoming faces. The hotel is located on Cerro Alegre (hill), on a quiet street, overlooking the beautiful historic port area and colorful town. There are many good restaurants on nearby streets. The bedroom was very spacious and offered a beautiful patio. The rooms don’t have a TV, but you can get one upon request. We never cared to ask. The included breakfast was great offering scrambled eggs, cereals, toast, fruit and yoghurt. They happily held our luggage and offered a cold bottle of water for our walk. We joined a Tips for Tours which was great. We would highly recommend this quiet and very comfortable hotel and can easily confirm that their high TripAdvisor rating is well deserved.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannaFromCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The owner (we were told) is a former film director and the light and airy ambience of this lovely hotel, combined with fabulous views from the terrace on the 3rd floor and central location, make the Alcontraz a near perfect place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and common areas spacious and decorated with some lovely paintings and other artefacts. Some of the best restaurants and bars in Valparaiso are close by as well as access to other parts of town via narrow streets or ascensors (pulley lifts). Hard to think of a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay offer great views, however the 3rd floor terrace is available to all guests.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyLee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews