We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel !!!”
Review of Hostal Acuarela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Acuarela
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

First of all the staff is very hospitable and would answer any question with great kindness.
there is a very nice and tasty breakfest, and coffee is available during the whole day. there is a big and housy kitchen. the rooms are very nive and clean, plus the beds are very comfortable. there is actually soap by any tap so you can really wash your hands (not likely to be in many hostels around).
the location is great, only about 5 minutes walk to the center.
long story short..Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Acuarela
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at Acuarela while traveling solo in South America. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in booking bus tickets, explaining what to do and to see in valparaiso !
The house in which the hostel is located is charming with wooden panels, a forged-iron staircase and a cute little terrace perfect to chill with a drink! Very tidy place with a lot of character.
There is also a very good buffet breakfast with bread, lots of fresh fruit, yoghurt, milk, cereals, etc. plus you can help yourself to fruit and tea/ coffee all day long.
Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigrane55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

'Best hostel in South America' might seem like a big statement, but we really felt that to be the vase for Hostal Acuarela. We arrived here wanting to stay for 2 nights, and one week later and we still don't know when we will leave. The location of the hostel is ideal, as it is situated in one of the most colourful and interesting neighbourhoods of Valparaiso, and it is also walking distance from the city centre. The rooms, from dorm to private, are big, bright and extremely clean for a hostel. The bathrooms and kitchen are also immaculately clean, and cooking here is actually enjoyable, rather than the usual hostel-kitchen experience. The free breakfast is perfect, with fruit, breads, cheeses, cereals and hot drinks all available until 11AM. However the overall importance of this hostel is the atmosphere made by the building itself, but also by the staff. From a roof-top terrace, to a iron spiral stair-case and cozy living room, to the great advice and recommendations from the staff and the home-made beer, this hostel has really benefited from the recent change in management.

Even if we were to return to Valparaiso with twice the budget, we would still choose Hostal Acuarela.

Room Tip: The rooms are universally great, so any room is a good room!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THOMAS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Staff is helpfull, the hostel is clean and well-situated. Breakfast included and they offer me the first one (I arrived at 9 am first day !). Wifi is very nice, as the kitchen, the dormroom and bathroom !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillaume R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just stayed here for three nights and loved the place. The guy working there said that it was under new management, as of just a week ago. I wasn't quite surely the set up - there seemed to be three of them running it (perhaps they have bought the place together) -but all the guys were really friendly and there was always somebody around if you had a question etc.

We stayed in the dorm as we're trying to save a bit of money. The beds were very comfortable and the ensuite to the dorm was clean and the shower had hot water.

The communal area was lovely, there was a really homely atmosphere. There's a great kitchen, living area and dining area, all open plan but with some divisions of wooden beams between them. The hostel was quite quiet when we were there but I think with more people it would've very easy to socialise in that space. The living room also has a real log fire, which was handy given it is now winter.

The hostel is really well situated in an arty neighbourhood and the owners gave some great suggestions of things to do or places to eat. The wifi also worked really well throughout the hostel.

The breakfast was simple but good. Really nice bread and proper butter and jam with some cold meat and cheese, along with tea and coffee.

For the price we think this is an excellent option, but I think if we returning on a larger budget we would still go here, but opt for one of their double rooms, as there was just such a lovely atmosphere and it was such a nice location.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is great if you want the real Valparaiso experience. I stayed there and fell in love with the city and the hostel.
Really laid back, you feel like you live there.
You get an idea of the culture and meet the locals. Friends of the owner (artists and homeowners) came by and chatted to me and gave me good advice about where to go and what to do.

If you want the real experience and character choose acuarela. But if you want the cleanest and most functional hostel I'm sure it could beaten in that regard.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thefamiliarsband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012. We stayed in a 5 bed dorm, but as we are a group of 4 we had the whole place to ourselves. The beds were warm and comfortable, although oen of our group felt the duvet was a bit smelly and hadn't been washed in a while!

The strange thing about this hostel is that you are essentially left on your own the whole time. There is one guy who runs the place, thankfully he was there when we arrived otherwise the doors are locked and you're not able to get in. We were the only guests there, he went out for a few hours. During that time a few other travellers knocked at the door, leaving only us to answer it! We explained the guy had popped out and they could wait inside. An hour later he still wasn't back and we had to go out, so we had to ask the other travellers to leave! Very strange, almost like staying in a self catering apartment rather than a hostel.

In the morning the breakfast is left out for the guests - bread, fruit and tea/coffee. On the first morning this was fine as it was only us 4 staying there. On the second morning the hostel had more people staying. This meant that when we got up, the plates/cups etc had all been used by other guests.... and of course being a hostel with no staff meant that everything was dirty!

In my opinion the whole kitchen and lounge area needed a good clean. There were cups and empty beer cans lying around both days.

The good thing was the freedom being left on your own gave us. Nobody to bother us about checkout times, no having to wait for the kitchen etc. As I said before, it was nice being left to ourselves, but at the same time quite strange to not really have anyone working in the hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckiboo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#12 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,724 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nomada Eco Hostel
Nomada Eco Hostel
#1 of 192 in Valparaiso
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Valija Hostel
La Valija Hostel
#4 of 192 in Valparaiso
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Volante Hostal
Casa Volante Hostal
#3 of 192 in Valparaiso
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Acuarela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Acuarela

Address: Templeman 862, Valparaiso 2370834, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 192 Speciality Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range: £21 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Acuarela 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Cerro Alegre, a World Heritage site, in a pleasant environment friendly and cheerful. We have double rooms $ Us37 and Us15 $ per person sharing. Includes breakfast, use of lounge with cable TV, Computer, Wifi. Terrace with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Acuarela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing