We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for any stay in Valparaiso/Vina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2011

I was extremely pleased with my stay at Cirilo Armstrong in March 2011. I was in town for a wedding in Vina but was not impressed by any of the hotels in Vina. This hotel was a much better value with much more personality than any other I saw in Vina or Valparaiso. The hotel is new and has great views. The staff is excellent. Breakfast is delivered to your room every morning and it's very good. The location is about perfect- not completely touristy yet very easily walkable to the tourist destinations/restaurants/etc. The rooms all have beautiful balconies and are lofts. I traveled with a 2 year old and the hotel was very accommodating. There is a full kitchen which is always helpful. The loft does have some pretty steep stairs and dropoffs so if that's going to make you nervous, keep that in mind, but otherwise it's really a wonderful place to stay, a great value, and a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbc1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2011

I highly recommend this hotel in the Cerro Alegre neighborhood of Valparaiso. Everyone who works there is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is modern and comfortable, with amazing views of the city. It was a treat having breakfast in our room. It was quiet and comfortable, modern and trendy.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank donnaweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

The previous reviews really said it all. Its perfect! The hotel is admittedly a little hard to find at first. We didn't have a map but after walking around for a bit, asking some locals and cafe staff we eventually found it. There is a small circular suspended sign out on the street about the size of a dinner plate which we had walked past initially without noticing.

We where struck with the 'WOW' factor when walking into a modern spacious foyer and was greeted with a friendly face and a cheery "Buenos Dias"..The staff are amazing and very curtious. All through our 2 night stay they where always fantastic with directions and advice. That includes the day and night staff. My wife and speak Spanish but there a couple of staff members with flawless English so don't despair if you can't speak the lingo.
Room was awesome and we loved the loft containing the bedroom. There is a TV with cable mounted to the wall (not that we used it) and a wood stove down stairs. What really made the place was the floor to ceiling windows. So great waking up with views of the city. The balcony was amazing to be out on at night for all the lights etc.
Maybe the only thing, and its a small thing but the down stairs area in the room is a little plain. Maybe a coloured rug or a painting would be nice but thats just a personal thing and doesn't subtract from the wonderful experience we had.
Breakfast is a simple but perfect combination of Coffee, fresh juice, toast and jam, cereal and yoghurt and fruit salad which you can have in your room or in the common area. I really can't fault this hotel.
If we are ever in town again we will be back.. No question!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasonw1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Different hotel.Not a boutique, but into this direction. Large room, nice simple breakfast. Friendly and informal service. Room with great view, well located. Room for 4 people with imited hot water for shower. Long time to recover hot water reserve.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We loved our ultra-modern two-story room with private balcony -- the ideal place to enjoy a glass of wine and enjoy Valpo's amazing landscape. The staff was incredibly helpful, arranging for messages and offering spot-on directions and dining recommendations. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We really enjoyed our stay!
Taxi had some trouble finding it at first but friendly Chileans got us there without much delay. The hotel is a steep walk back from town which we didn't mind at all and loved exploring the immediate area, including the many restaurants.
The staff were all wonderful and truely wanted us to enjoy our stay in the hotel and city. We even got a hand drawn map and metro card to make sure we got to the best spots on a day trip to Vina.
The rooms and facilities were comfortable and clean.
This hotel does feel like a hidden secret with it's location, and it is away from the noise of the city streets. You can't get away from the noisy dogs though, but I don't think that matters where you stay (locals seem to agree!) so a pair of ear plugs are recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

US$94/night
3 nights
Clean, modern 11 duplex apartments, built in 2009
Kitchen, patio overlooking city, loft bedroom.
Breakfast of yogurt and cereal, bread with cheese and jams, fresh juice and coffee.
Many excellent restaurants in area; however keep in mid most close at 3pm and reopen at 8pm.
Easy walk downhill (or take a funicular uphill) to main center, harbor, artisan shops, or metro to Vin de Mar for a day’s tour.
Negative: many barking dogs at night, so bring your earplugs.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swaskilewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#5 of 35 in Valparaiso
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
Palacio Astoreca Hotel
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
Mm 450 Hotel Boutique
#15 of 35 in Valparaiso
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zerohotel
Zerohotel
#8 of 35 in Valparaiso
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo Armstrong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo Armstrong

Address: Calle Capilla c/Escalera Cirilo Armstrong 12 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: £89 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cirilo Armstrong 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Cerro Alegre, steps from the center of Valparaíso, there hides the Hotel Cirilo Armstrong nailed on the gully Miraflores with an impressive sight on the local scene and the inhabitants. The hotel is a work of respectful architecture of his environment and coherent in the election of his materials and is located in a declared zone patrimony of the Humanity by the UNESCO. From the stairs, a simple front hides in his interior this hospitably, luminous and wide hotel of apartments of 650mt2. The Hotel Cirilo Armstrong has a great hall to realizes his generous spaces and the genuine work with noble materials, later to distribute to 11 exclusive apartments designed tastefully and warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cirilo Armstrong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing