We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Had a very comfortable stay in this small, cosy boutique hotel in Val Paraiso. Clean beautiful rooms with high ceilings, with a great view, and a lovely bespoke breakfast in a sleek modern yet cosy communal area. The hillside village it's located in was also very pleasant to stroll around in as well and is purportedly much safer than down where the coast is. (I took a stroll at midnight and did not have any problems at all).

For more photos of this place, have a look at:
http://fatboo.com/2013/09/atacama-desert-val-paraiso-santiago-chile.html

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatboo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    81
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
60
156
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We enjoyed our 4 night pre-cruise stay at Hotel Cirilo Armstrong very much.
The hotel had arranged our transfer from Santiago Airport and from the moment we arrived at the hotel we found the staff to be excellent. Rooms are very clean and well maintained and breakfast was always delicious.
The hotel is within walking distance to very good restaurants, even an enjoyable walk down to the waterfront, then you can catch the cable car back to hotel.
Highly recommend hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPA52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel was a bit to cool for us. The design is lovely but I felt a bit like I was in a modern art museum rather than a hotel, I felt like the (clean) walking boots I'd travelled in were frowned upon. The rooms where clean and the staff were very helpful but there was constant dog barking.There's not a lot the hotel can do about this but it was really bad, I've never heard anything like it, we have to sleep with ear plugs in. Also, at the end we were asked if we wanted to tip the staff of the hotel. Perhaps it's because England does have the same tipping culture as the US but I was a little taken back.

The best thing about our stay was the wine tasting. If you ask the hotel staff they can arrange a taxi driver to take you out to the Casablanca wineries which are excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wobble1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Cool, hip and very comfortable. Read other reviews, but found the hotel on my cellphone GPS quite easily. And yes, the street side parking was not really a problem, though it could be due to inclined streets for those who are not familiar with stick-shift cars.

Staff - Very helpful, professional and informed.
They do everything they can to make the stay comfortable, and will gladly mark out a great walking route of the town, which I would highly recommend. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent too, as were view point recommendations.

Accommodations - excellent and comfortable
Spacious, clean, and tasteful. This is not a plush hotel with marble and gilt all over, but the lines are clean, smart and functional. Stayed at the duplex unit (loft style), and really liked it for its layout. Everything was clean and lovely. The view from the room was great and looked over the city. The breakfast included fresh pressed juice, coffee, and bread and very aligned with the spirit of the place (not overly elaborate or ornate, but just great and right). Besides, there are a ton of really nice places 2-5 minutes walking from the hotel, in case you want something more elaborate.

Location - awesome. Walking to most everything.
Good restaurants, wall art, just loved walking around town. Its an oasis in comparison to the main town area, which was a little bummer for the number of cars/buses over there and hence loud and not much fun. The hotel and surroundings are residential, old town style, and just plain nice.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a good view. But then probably all rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LG_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were 7 Americans visiting Valpo, including a 2 year old. The hotel is new, small, and architecturally very interesting. Each of our rooms had a pleasant patio overlooking the canyon down towards the port. My patio had a wood fired hot tub.
The lobby is spacious with check-in doubling as a small bar for guests at night. The lobby is designed with a mix of natural elements that are warm and inviting. Large 2 story windows have a dramatic view of the city. The 2 year old had lots of room to wander but could not get into too much mischief.
Like all of Valparaiso the neighborhood ran right down a steep hill to the lower city. There are many good restaurants within easy walking distance and after dinner we quickly found a bar featuring a guitarist. Drank too many piscos.
In a city with lots of hotel choices Hotel Cirilo Armstrong is a very good pick. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldercritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Once you locate this property, it's a pretty cool place to stay in Valparaiso. Taxi driver had heck of a time finding this hotel. You have to have a pretty good sense of humor when it comes to locating anything in this city. Great part of town with great views. Rooms above reception do have better views. Having said that, we were in room 7 which had views of a lesser impressive part but still enchanting especially at night.
Wonderful, helpful staff, great location.
Only down side is the large population of of stray dogs outside that bark late into the evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I was fortunate to spend two nights at Cirilio Armstrong thanks to a friend's recommendation after her lovely visit. What a charming hotel. It's nestled in the hills of Cerro Alegre which is a lively part of the city with great restaurants and bars within close walking distance to the hotel. The hotel offers a fabulous Hot Tub option (in select ground floor rooms) which is approximate $40 USD per night but well worth it. You are able to enjoy the hot tub for 8 hours or so, overlooking the beautiful Valparaiso city views from your private deck. What a cool experience. The non ground floor hot tub rooms are mostly duplex with a living room on the ground and bed upstairs. The hotel rooms are very cool and minimally decorated similar to the hotel decor. The bathrooms are a bit small but they suffice.

In addition to the nice clean rooms this hotel offers FABULOUS service. The staff are all extremely nice, attentive and friendly. It really feels like a cozy boutique hotel in a great location of Valparaiso. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Valparaiso! Thanks Cirilio Armstrong for making my trip to Valparaiso so wonderful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JSFashionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zerohotel
Zerohotel
#8 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo Armstrong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo Armstrong

Property: Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Address: Calle Capilla c/Escalera Cirilo Armstrong 12 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cirilo Armstrong 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Cerro Alegre, steps from the center of Valparaíso, there hides the Hotel Cirilo Armstrong nailed on the gully Miraflores with an impressive sight on the local scene and the inhabitants. The hotel is a work of respectful architecture of his environment and coherent in the election of his materials and is located in a declared zone patrimony of the Humanity by the UNESCO. From the stairs, a simple front hides in his interior this hospitably, luminous and wide hotel of apartments of 650mt2. The Hotel Cirilo Armstrong has a great hall to realizes his generous spaces and the genuine work with noble materials, later to distribute to 11 exclusive apartments designed tastefully and warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Cirilo Armstrong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing