We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay! Taxi had...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our stay! Taxi had...”
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We really enjoyed our stay!
Taxi had some trouble finding it at first but friendly Chileans got us there without much delay. The hotel is a steep walk back from town which we didn't mind at all and loved exploring the immediate area, including the many restaurants.
The staff were all wonderful and truely wanted us to enjoy our stay in the hotel and city. We even got a hand drawn map and metro card to make sure we got to the best spots on a day trip to Vina.
The rooms and facilities were comfortable and clean.
This hotel does feel like a hidden secret with it's location, and it is away from the noise of the city streets. You can't get away from the noisy dogs though, but I don't think that matters where you stay (locals seem to agree!) so a pair of ear plugs are recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    82
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
61
157
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

US$94/night
3 nights
Clean, modern 11 duplex apartments, built in 2009
Kitchen, patio overlooking city, loft bedroom.
Breakfast of yogurt and cereal, bread with cheese and jams, fresh juice and coffee.
Many excellent restaurants in area; however keep in mid most close at 3pm and reopen at 8pm.
Easy walk downhill (or take a funicular uphill) to main center, harbor, artisan shops, or metro to Vin de Mar for a day’s tour.
Negative: many barking dogs at night, so bring your earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swaskilewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Great location, friendly people, no stiffness.
Actually, this is more like being home. We spent a couple of nights at the end of December, 2009. The rooms, the apartments rather, are beautiful. It's really nice to know that you can have your own terrace to spend the day reading, sunbathing or just looking at the hills. Views are superb.
Also you have a little kitchen, a living room... we had been traveling for quite some time and it was really nice to find a place where you can really settle for a few days.
Service, although friendly, is not totally serviceable (breakfast, room service, etc.) although that helped to enhance our feeling of a laid back place. But then again... it's like being home.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Ok so the things going for this hotel are a smart contemporary design and nice views. The location is also good, so long as you don’t mind stray dogs and lots of poop.
The thing is – they just aren’t trying here – it’s just not good enough.
$100 a night is quite a lot for Chile and for that amount of money I expect there to be a TV in my room – there isn’t one. I’d also expect a fridge – there isn’t one. A phone please?
They market this hotel as ‘apartments’ and yes, there is a kitchenette in our room – a double hot plate, crockery, cutlery and mugs. Unfortunately no pans, so cooking would be impossible. Also no kettle – I’m not being funny, but what is the point of mugs with no kettle? Never mind – I can always get the receptionist to make me a coffee – but that will set me back $3. Just not good enough.
Next complaint – we asked the receptionist if the water is safe for drinking – it is in Santiago, but not in other South American cities. The receptionist ‘wasn’t sure’. Please – you work here! Can I have a bottle of water? Of course, 330 milliletres (a SMALL bottle) for $2 each! Oh, and we only have 2 bottles left...hey? Is this a hotel? So I had to go to the local shop to buy enough water to drink! Just not good enough.
Next complaint – the noise. This is a contemporary hotel, made of concrete – the noise travels EVERYWHERE! We were staying in room 1 - You can hear everything people say - you can hear the sound of the receptionists talking – and every time someone opens a door it wakes you up. Just not good enough. We realised this must be why they don’t allow TVs in the rooms, even if you were to have one on low it would be heard throughout the building.
The blinds in the room are just not good enough – they don’t cover the windows properly so you’re woken up with blazing sunlight. Not to mention the light that the hotel leaves on next to the window throughout the night anyway.
Next – breakfast. Woefully inadequate – half a bowl of cereals, a flavoured yoghurt (no choice of flavours, just pot luck) and 2 slices of warmed up (not toasted) bread with jam. Where are the croissants, the cheese the meat? Would it be too much to ask for some fruit? What about that old breakfast standard – eggs? Off the menu! For $100 a night – nah, just not good enough.
Oh – and for our last day we asked if we could have breakfast 15 minutes early – 7.45 am instead of 8am. Yes, of course we can, but we have to pay $4 each. What? For having our breakfast 15 minutes early? At 7.45? Most hotels start breakfast at 6.30am! Just not good enough.
Oh, and we asked them to help us book tickets for our onward bus to Mendoza – asked them three times – but they couldn’t work out what the number was...just didn’t seem to want to be helpful.
Finally – small thing, lights – why oh why can’t we have bedside lights? Would a bit of ambience to warm the concrete walls and ceiling be too much? Why must I keep my partner awake to read my book? Just not good enough.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Bob1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2010

I stayed here on a weekend trip from Santiago. My husband and I loved this hotel. The location was perfect and the staff was so friendly. The rooms and the view were perfect. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Cirilo Armstrong was one of the highlights of a great trip to Chile. It was recommended to me by a Chilean friend in Santiago and felt like one of Valpo's best kept secrets (although not for long it looks like :-)).

It is pretty new (Sep 2009 if I remember what one of the owners said) and offers a very modern hotel experience in a city that is just oozing with character. The owners were pretty nice and this was their first foray into the hotel industry- the husband designed the space and his wife did most of the artwork in the rooms and outside.

The room was a spacious two level suite - with a kitchenette and a living room downstairs. The bed and bath rooms were upstairs. Furnishings were excellent.

Pros:
Comfy bed, Clean linens, hot showers, free wifi (useful if you have a phone with wifi connectivity or of course a laptop), a decent breakfast included.
Wonderful views of the city of hills (the hotel is on Cerro Alegre). Close to some great restaurants and shopping on the hills (just walk down Almirante Montt) and makes a good base to explore the surprises Valpo's hills offer in each corner. Staff were really friendly and helpful - calling for cabs, giving directions, speaking to the bus station folks (we were trying to reserve tickets to go south to Temuco)

Cons:
Really not that much, but in the interest of providing a nit-picky balanced review, here you go :-) -
Valpo has a lot of stray dogs and they tend to bark at nights. You'll likely experience it in other hotels too, but wanted to mention it in case you want to consider earplugs (there is no air conditioning in the hotel - and we didn't want to shut the windows all the way).
Location is hard to find -- there is a Cirilo Armstrong road across the hill from the hotel so that might be confusing. Print out the map from the hotel website. It is on Capilla.

Overall an excellent experience and I would very heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishna_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Thank you trip advisor! We knew we were going to Valparaiso but did not have accomodations so we consulted Trip Advisor and were extremely pleased! It was a beautiful duplex room with a kitchenette. Clean and spacious but by far the best feature is the terrace with the amazing view. The whole town is hills and we were high up so it was stunning. And at night with all the lights, it was just as gorgeous. One whole wall is windows so you even see out when you're in the bedroom part upstairs. Right outside our room was a courtyard that all the rooms shared. It's a very modern and trendy hotel. Breakfast was free but it's worth the extra $4US to get the breakfast delivered to the room to eat on your terrace. Free wifi but since we didn't have a laptop, they let us use the hotel's laptop which they took out for us whenever we had to use it. You have to be buzzed into the hotel so it's very safe. The staff is soooo helpful! Especially Matias who gave us great recommendations for sights, restaurants and bars. It's a great great location, everything is easily accessible. Highly, highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
Hotel Palacio Astoreca
#7 of 35 in Valparaiso
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales
Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales
#14 of 35 in Valparaiso
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cirilo Armstrong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cirilo Armstrong

Property: Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Address: Calle Capilla c/Escalera Cirilo Armstrong 12 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cirilo Armstrong 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Cerro Alegre, steps from the center of Valparaíso, there hides the Hotel Cirilo Armstrong nailed on the gully Miraflores with an impressive sight on the local scene and the inhabitants. The hotel is a work of respectful architecture of his environment and coherent in the election of his materials and is located in a declared zone patrimony of the Humanity by the UNESCO. From the stairs, a simple front hides in his interior this hospitably, luminous and wide hotel of apartments of 650mt2. The Hotel Cirilo Armstrong has a great hall to realizes his generous spaces and the genuine work with noble materials, later to distribute to 11 exclusive apartments designed tastefully and warmth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cirilo Armstrong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing