We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza? The Best in Valparaíso, maybe in the whole country!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malandrino

Malandrino
Ranked #4 of 421 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pizza? The Best in Valparaíso, maybe in the whole country!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

A small, cozy, remarkable restaurant.
The owner/manager, Patricio, made even the oven himself. Always there overlooking every detail.
If the weather is good, ask for the terrace. Intimate, shaded by a nice lemon tree and with fragrant spices that make the dinner a well rounded relaxed experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank senseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    165
    44
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizzas in the patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We ate in the patio out the back under some of the biggest lemons i've ever seen and grape vines; monster basil bushes behind me. Good service (the savblanc was not cold) but the pizzas were outstanding --- some of the best i've ever had anywhere! Wood fired oven, thin crust, top ingredients. Very pleasant lunch after a lovely stroll around valpo. I wish they were in santiago!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Looking for pizza in Valparaiso? Look no further. We called ahead for take out but they insisted they would not prepare it until we were in the restaurant. The restaurant was so inviting, we decided to dine there. One of the best pizzas I have ever had. And yes, I have been to italy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Sitting outside under a lemon tree eating some of the best pizza I've had outside of Italy? Perfect.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dannygdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

If you are in the mood for italian while you are in Chile, I strongly recommend Malandrino. We ate there twice with excellent food and service both times around. All the pizzas were delicious and the panna cotta is heavenly. If you drink wine, I really liked the Carmenere Adobe. The atmosphere is rustic and if the weather is nice you should eat outside on the patio where they grow fresh herbs and you can sit beneath their lemon tree. Great experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malandrino also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Malandrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing