We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be 4 1/2 stars - good Valpo pizza place”
Review of Malandrino

Malandrino
Ranked #4 of 428 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
465 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Should be 4 1/2 stars - good Valpo pizza place”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a case where Trip Advisor should have a more detailed grading system. I can't give this place 5 stars but it seems better than 4.

We ate here last weekend ( for a light dinner ) and I forgot to write a review.

The value is 5/5 - quite inexpensive. I'd give the food a 4/5. Combination ham pizza cooked in the stone oven was not the best I ever had, but good. The salad for 2 was served up in large bowl and wine was cheap.

Nothing fancy going on here, no gourmet-caliber pizza but good food at reasonable price. Safe bet if you're feeling like pizza while up in Cerro Alegre. Service more than just satisfactory.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fantom_Gormay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    170
    46
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Pizzas in Chile”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I love eating pizzas, Italian food is one of my favorites. And I can say, Malandrino is one of the best pizza places you can find is this area. in addition, the place is unique, it doesnt have many tables, there is a big traditional oven so you can see how the pizzas are being cooked, etc.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoseFadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful service”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Pizzas and salad were delicious, patio under the lemon tree charming, friendly and professional service. Pizza is napoletana-style, prepared in a wood fired oven with high quality ingredients. They make their own limoncello from the lemons, yum!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Acadienne_errante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Almost there... but beg steal or borrow some cheese!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I visited Malandrino through a process of triangulation; first I googled 'Italian pizza Valparaiso .cl', and then I read the first place reviewed on tripadvisor. Sure, there are often some pretty perfunctory reviews on here, but one that stood out was from a couple from my native Australia who dismissed the food as just OK and then complained that the pizzaiole were talking about what they would like to do to their customers' daughter in Castillian, not knowing that the reviewers understood them. So of course I had to go there - to see whether the pizzas were just OK, or whether the ribaldry had clouded the integrity of judgment of the reviewers.

Well, the pizzas are very close to excellent. Good oven, good crust. Everything is good about them (even the inevitably droopy eventide rocquette on the rucola - leafy vegetables don't last long looks-wise in urban Chile due to poor transportation and pollution, but also because the produce isn't as genetically engineered as in the proper first world - they do tend to taste better, though). Everything is good except for one thing. After doing their best with some admittedly pre-cut prosciutto (most likely actually the serrano with which the market is flooded with Spain in the doldrums), for some reason they sprinkled on silly pre-grated pseudo-mozzarella. Come on loverboys, get some nice soft cheese... wet mozzarella, or bocconcini, or fior di latte, I don't really care which. How hard can it be? It's not that hard to make a passable version, Chileans. That awful plastic stuff won't do.

All this said, it's pretty good, and I thought the staff were nice. Not sure if I'd betroth my daughter to them, but they're pizza cooks keeping their chins up on very low pay in a tourist town. And working with worse cheese than they deserve. Please, proprietors, source some better cheese. It'd probably add 300 pesos to the cost of a pizza and make a world of difference. And cooks, you never know where a touch of the hidalgo will get you with the gringos.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice pizzas on the hill”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Nice pizzas with premium ingredients done in a clay oven. The place has a nice atmosphere and they do take away if you need it. Price value is really good specially if you are in a budget as most restaurants around can be pretty expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lundachile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malandrino also viewed

Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Malandrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing