We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at casa de henao”
Review of La Casa de Henao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa de Henao
Ranked #7 of 96 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at casa de henao”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Just spent two nights and were delighted with the owners, Jose and Karen, the other staff and even jack, their lively little dog. Great location, clean rooms, fine breakfast, excellent coffee and detailed briefings on where to go (and not go) in the city. We felt most welcome in the henao home, and recommend it highly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Al_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    10
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
54
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luray, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

La Casa De Henao
We just spent a week at LCDH and what a nice week it was. Jose and Karen Henao are the perfect hosts. Welcoming, warm, gracious, and delightful. The house, circa 1905 was a magnificently restored home. Close to the public bus system, (601 - 612) it was so easy to get around Valparaiso we never looked at another place to stay. Jose, a career Marine, has friends everywhere and plenty of recommendations for dining, tours, a day at the beach, whatever you want. Karen grew up in Valparaiso and knows the city completely! Don’t miss breakfast, it will hold you all day, and then have a nice dinner out and about. The bus will drop you less than a block from the front door.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street, which meant the sun woke you in the morning. There is a third floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjieG884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I loved everything. The owners are a wonderful couple who were incredibly understanding of our travel complications. My wife and I had a flight cancellation which made us miss our first night! The B&B owners refunded us for the first night, despite the fact we did not cancel it and make it available to other visitors. Beyond their generosity (and wonderful breakfasts), the owners gave great recommendations for getting around the city, where to eat, and what to see. I strongly recommend staying here when in Valparaiso.

Room Tip: Try to get a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplemts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in B&B la Casa Henao and while the rooms were nice enough and very clean we left feeling disappointed and cheated. When we went to pay on check out we were charged 8,500 CLP more than we we're expecting to pay - a total of 38,500CLP per room. When we booked the accommodation, we looked on the website where it states clearly that double rooms with a private bathroom are 30,000CLP plus 19% tax. We then called to book and the owner, Karen, told us it would be 35,000 if paying in Chilean Peso's as that included the 19% tax, but it would be 30,000 or US$60 if paying in US$. When we went to pay in US$ just 24 hours after booking and arriving, the price had suddenly changed to US$70 per room. As we didn't have the additional US$20 ( we had two rooms) we opted to pay by credit card in CLP and the price suddenly jumped to 38,500CLP. When questioned as to why the price had changed, Karen did not provide an adequate reason and insisted we pay the 38,500 per room. Jose was lovely and helpful but I got the impression Karen was all about the money - it ruined our experience at the hotel. I would not stay in this hotel again as I do not wish to be ripped off and would advise anyone planning on staying to get the price inclusive of all charges in writing - we had a verbal price from Karen on the telephone in US (US$60) and in CLP (35,000) but she went back on what she had said. For. 38,500CLP I could have gotten a much plusher hotel in the centre of town without the drama. Not impressed.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaJHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

What makes for a memorable stay in a new city? Comfort? Location? Fine service? Fancy cuisine? One can't deny that some or all of these factors may make for a pleasant stay, but even a combination of all of them won't make for a memorable stay. You will have an unforgettable experience when you stay with Jose and Karen et al at La Casa de Henao. The genuine warmth, kindness, concern, and helpfulness that they extend to their valued guests is what sets La Casa apart.

We booked for two nights and stayed for four. It is a long way from Canada to Valparaiso, but we hope to return and extend our stay once more. We came as strangers and left as friends.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timb088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed with my family at La Casa de Henao in December for 3 nights. The guest rooms were spacious and well laid out, and there's a nice living room to hang out in as well. There's also a kitchen for guests to prepare food, if they don't want to go out (or if it's Sunday when many things are closed!).

Karen and Jose serve breakfast in their own kitchen, and you get the feeling of being family friends.Jose, Karen and Karen's mother were very helpful with information about Valparaiso - and both Jose and Karen are bilingual in English and Spanish for those, like me, who aren't that great at Spanish. Jose, in particular, would give a morning briefing based on what we were planning to do for the day (e.g. info on public transit, local sites, possible places to eat).

At the end of the trip, Jose also helped out with a trip to the Santiago airport for a late evening flight, with side trips to a winery and to Isla Negra. At first, we weren't sure if he'd be able to do the trip with us, and he offered to contact other people who could do the transfer for us as well. But as it turns out, he was free to take us, and everything went perfectly.

Room Tip: If you want a great view of Valparaiso and the ocean, they have a triple room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ry_8274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you travel to Valparaiso and do not stay at La Casa de Henao, you're missing a great experience. Jose and Karen, the proprietors, and their family are wonderful hosts. The rooms are charming, the amenities and breakfast are perfect. Jose went out of his way to help us discover Valparaiso, Isla Negra, and wineries.
While walking in Valparaiso, my wife tripped on a broken sidewalk. Her fall was nasty, badly bruising her face and leaving her with a concussion. We were able to get her back to the b&b, and Jose went into action. He got us to a clinic, stayed with us throughout the entire ordeal, and got us back to the b&b. A large chain hotel would have called us a cab or an ambulance and wished us luck. The matter ended well, she recovered well enough to permit us to continue our trip. Jose salvaged our South American vacation. We have a lot of memories and reminders that Chile is a wonderful country, but La Casa de Henao is at the top of that list.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
1.0 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#13 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
492 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
486 reviews
1.0 mi away
Puerta Escondida B&B
Puerta Escondida B&B
#2 of 96 in Valparaiso
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Henao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Henao

Property: La Casa de Henao
Address: Vista Hermosa 345, Valparaiso 2360439, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Henaos House with the fine construction from the beginning of the 20 century combine the great familiar atmosphere, comfort, security and cleanliness for our fellow travelers enjoy their stay in this picturesque port heritage of humanity, Valparaiso.Our services included Free WI-FI, Bike Rent, Guide Tour (English, German, Spanish), Laundry (Additional Cost), Traditional Breakfast and others.Within walking distances from main streets, monuments, museums, pubs, restaurants and a lot more you are invited to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa de Henao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing