We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really made us feel at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa de Henao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa de Henao
Ranked #7 of 98 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Toulouse
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really made us feel at home”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We can only endorse what everyone else has said: Jose and Karen are exceptional hosts and really made us feel part of the family. They could not have been more helpful, giving us lots of useful tips about Valparaiso, helping us find the right bus and so on. We stayed an extra day to go on a day trip with Jose, which turned out to be a highlight of our trip. Jose looked after us really well, happily answering all our questions and showing us parts of Valparaiso and the surrounding region which we would not have seen otherwise.

The B&B is in a lovely old house with an interior courtyard and a nice communal sitting room upstairs. The rooms are a good size, well-appointed and very comfortable, and the breakfast will keep you going all day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueMoon333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    10
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
54
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband Garth and I stayed 6 nights in this delightful Bed & Breakfast this past April 2014. The property is enchanting, full of character and secure. Jose and Karen are wonderful hosts, as are the rest of their beautiful family, and we were made to feel at home from the very second we set foot in the door. Our room was cosy, crisp clean linen, fresh white towels, we could not have asked for more. Breakfasts are laid back and delicious, freshly baked goods from the little bakery up the street every morning, our hosts really spoiled us and we honestly left every morning on our explorations of Valparaiso with full tummies! Jose and Karen were very kind to pin-point not to be missed hi-lights on the map, as well as suggestions for great little restaurants for the evenings, and it's because of them that I feel we really got to see the very best of Valparaiso. Although this little B&B is not located in the city centre itself, we would highly recommend staying here, as the area is quiet and peaceful, the bus stop is literally on the corner, and the public transport is not only very inexpensive, but frequent - busses passing every 2 to 3 minutes! The bus trip down the hill is brief, but so much fun! Should we ever plan to visit Valparaiso in the future, I would not hesitate in booking La Casa De Henao, and we are hoping to maintain contact with this wonderfully hospitable family in the future, they really made an impression on us. - Garth & Kim - South Africa

Room Tip: Family Rooms are available with interconnecting bathrooms, should the need arise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this enchanting house. Strongly advise you ask for the room for 3 at the top of the house-amazing views of the city and the ocean. The room was clean-lovely cotton sheets and very comfy. The house is very clean and the host and hostess very friendly and helpful and both speak fluent English. We had a wonderful time in this enchanting city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelion2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A really delightful B&B, with very welcoming, well informed and helpful hosts in Jose and Karen, offering excellent accommodation and first class breakfasts imaginatively presented in an attractive patio, complemented by a very agreeable ambience in a beautifully furnished and attractive home. Although it's located a little distance from the centre of Valparaiso it's well connected by public transport and in a safe and quiet area with great sea views. We had a very agreeable stay here and would recommend it very warmly. It's no surprise that Jose and Karen's B&B featured as a Travellers' choice 2014 winner, the accolade is very well deserved!

Cliff R

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cliff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here in November 2013, it was a lucky find. We did have our doubts when we arrived in Valparaiso on the bus and found that people we asked were not familiar with the address. After a round about route in a taxi we arrived at the B&B. All doubts evaporated when we were greeted by Jose, who immediately sorted out the taxi and sent the driver on his way. Once you are there and understand where the centre of town is it only takes 10 to 15 minutes to walk into the centre. Great location out of the noise but easy to get around. Jose will give you all the information you need on where to go (and where not to go) to enable you to get around Valparaiso.

While we were there another couple had an accident when on of them fell and was concussed. Jose spent seven hours at the hospital with them. Jose and Karen are wonderful hosts and have a lovely home full of character. The breakfast is great and will keep you going for most of the day. Don't expect a modern characterless room, this is an old building full of character and history. The rooms are clean and comfortable and no complaints on the quality of sleep to be had. I thoroughly recommend this B&B and Jose and Karen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendynjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

What sets a B&B experience apart is ultimately personal relationships. The hosts, Jose and Karen are warm, friendly and happy to go that extra mile -- and more. We are not Spanish speakers, late at night Jose drives us down to the bus terminal and sorts out trouble over our bus tickets -- all done with a smile, a joke and 'no problem'. Jose's briefing of Valparaiso is also thorough and great for newcomers like us who hadnt done our homework. The place is spotless, breakfasts generous. And the location? Quiet, but with a bus into the city centre every 5 minutes couldn't be bettered. This is a place you will enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Jose and Karen were amazing hosts and they have restored their home beautifully. The rooms were clean and they made us feel welcome, just like it was our own home. The stay comes complete with a great breakfast and Jose's full briefing on what to do and where to go, a fun event in itself! We would highly recommend Casa de Henao.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 34 in Valparaiso
426 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#15 of 34 in Valparaiso
1,636 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 34 in Valparaiso
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#5 of 34 in Valparaiso
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Azul
Costa Azul
#1 of 98 in Valparaiso
471 reviews
1.0 mi away
Puerta Escondida B&B
Puerta Escondida B&B
#2 of 98 in Valparaiso
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Henao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Henao

Property: La Casa de Henao
Address: Vista Hermosa 345, Valparaiso 2360439, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Henaos House with the fine construction from the beginning of the 20 century combine the great familiar atmosphere, comfort, security and cleanliness for our fellow travelers enjoy their stay in this picturesque port heritage of humanity, Valparaiso.Our services included Free WI-FI, Bike Rent, Guide Tour (English, German, Spanish), Laundry (Additional Cost), Traditional Breakfast and others.Within walking distances from main streets, monuments, museums, pubs, restaurants and a lot more you are invited to come. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa de Henao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing