We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay ”
Review of Angel Hostal

Angel Hostal
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Angel Hostal
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay ”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Would stay here again. Great welcome with map, tips of top sights and gave great recommendation of restaurant and tours. Great big private room with huge skylight. Clean and tidy. Bathrooms clean, only 1 shower. Nice breakfast with variety. Modern looking building/interior. Top place to stay

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danny6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    26
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
28
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed two nights in angel Hostal in Valparaiso. Its a small home like place. Shared baths are kept clean. Rooms comfortable and my single room small with a window on an interior courtyard so well ventilated. Kitchen available for guest use. Small breakfast included (Chilean so grilled cheese sandwich and Nescafe). This is a typical hostal so most guests are young travelers from Europe or North America.

The staff are most helpful in how to get around in this confusing, but remarkable, city. They were very friendly and gave me some great pointers on places to eat or see. .

Room Tip: A couple rooms are dorm style. There are a couple of private rooms with the small single room very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvljnkyLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salta, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We planned to stay there for 3 nights, but ended up being there for 9. The city is wonderful and when you have hostel staff commited to make you see and experience all, you just cant leave :) I read other reviews talking about lack of space, and I have to say that yes, it is not a big place. After all, there are only 2 dorm rooms, the rest are private or family rooms, therefore there are not that many people coming and going. I never ended up having to wait to use the kitchen or bathroom. The breakfast is excellent and keeps you full until mid day, and you can not beat the location on Cummings (walking distance from all the sights, bars, restaurants, the port, and very convenient to catch the bus for Vina, or the bus station). For me, though, the heart of the place is in its staff - they work overtime to make you feel at home and make the best our of your stay in the city. there is always advice, latest info on whats going on in the city, what are the best offers etc. Always a kind word and concern of your wellbeing. I appreciated it immensely and felt very much at home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanda_and_mael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hostel is about the size of a shoebox. When the dorms are full, there is no room to move & you are jumping over bags. The kitchen has room for a maximum of about 3 people to stand in. However, worst of all is that there is no real communal space.
There are a couple of 2 seater couches & a 1 seater directly outside the dorms with a small coffee table in the middle. This means that everyone who is cooking basically has to stand or sit on the floor to eat their food. Also, being right outside the dorms, if even anyone at all is still awake & talking the noise carries loudly if you re trying to sleep.
On top of this, there is only 2 toilets & only 1 shower for the entire hostel including the privates, so if you want a shower you usually have to line up & wait outside the door.
On a plus, the staff are very friendly and accommodating, but overall this hostel is just a second floor apartment converted into a tiny hostel for 20 or so people.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed for one night only as that was the original plan. Yet, after check-in and full explanation of what to do and where to go in Valparaiso by the owners, we were tempted to stay for another night.

Common area is smallish yet sufficient, and you get to talk with other travelles which is always a plus. The breakfast was tea or coffee, cerrals with milk, yoghurt and cheese toast. The PC's and WiFi worked perfectly.

Staff is friendly, rooms are spacey and clean, you have enough blankets if you need them (Chile is quite cold county at nights with single layered windows almost everywhere...), and bathroom was cealn with hot water. Two toilets, of which the other in the bathroom.

I would recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Valparaiso.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Angel Hostal for just one night and I loved it. The boys who run the place are really sweet and helpful. The place is really clean, the rooms are a good size and come with lockers. I paid for the shared room without bunk beds (only 1000 CLP or $2US more) which was a great call. The bed was so comfy and I slept so well! When I got up one of the guys working there literally brought me trays of breakfast into the dining room. There was coffee/tea, yogurt, cereal with milk, and the guy even made me pressed grilled cheeses! Amazing. So so sweet.

People lament this place for having just one shower (two toilets) but I didn't have any problems. There weren't too many people there when I was though. The main bathroom is also huge and clean.

Would definitely recommend this place to other travelers!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank labewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hostel won me over. The decoration, the rooms, the staff, the area, the breakfast. All of these things were really great! Me and my friend shared a double room which I did not want to leave it was so comfortable! Good pillows and duvet. The whole hostel is really clean and breakfast was filling cheese toasties,yoghurts and cereal. The staff rodriguez and Carlos were both welcoming, helpful and funny! They were even kind enough to get me some medical help after seeing I had an injury. Highly recommend this hostel. I can only hope the other hostels in South America match up to angel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Volante Hostal
Casa Volante Hostal
#3 of 186 in Valparaiso
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nomada Eco Hostel
Nomada Eco Hostel
#1 of 186 in Valparaiso
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Valija Hostel
La Valija Hostel
#4 of 186 in Valparaiso
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Acuarela
Hostal Acuarela
#19 of 186 in Valparaiso
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hostal

Property: Angel Hostal
Address: Cumming Street 160, Valparaiso, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 186 Speciality Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Angel Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Angel Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing