We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very warm welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Deventer, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very warm welcome!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We arrived here on New Years Eve. We had a warm welcome. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. We had a nice room, and everything was very clean.
3 months ago new owners took over and made some major changes. With the help of an artist all the rooms were redecorated. We joined in for a special dinner arrangement. First a buffet dinner with drinks, and then an exclusive view from there terras off the spectaculair fireworksshow of 20 minuts in Valparaíso and a afterparty! We had a very good time and are so happy we celebrated New Year with the staff and the other guests, like a family. Couldn't wish for better. Then in the morning skyped with our families in the room. After a nice breakfast we said goodbye tot everyone and left with all good memories. Greet and Margaret

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    53
    26
    11
    13
See reviews for
15
84
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

It looks and feels like a hostel.
On the down side, walls are pretty thin so it can get a little noisy at night.
Good service and location.
The people working at Montealegre are very kind and helpful.
The breakfast is included and its ok.
There's a lot of places to visit nerby. I highly recomend El Desayunador and Malandrino, an Italian joint.

Overall Montealegre is a correct place to stay if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristianGuajardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My friends and I have stayed in this hotel twice and have found it both times less than satiasfactory. The hotel is quite cheap so we weren't expecting luxury however, dirty rooms, broken lights and cold showers which leak all over the floor were not what we had in mind. To be honest we could have looked past all of these problems and more if it wasn't for the staff at the hotel being so unhelpful. They are VERY unorganised, our first stay they had not booked our rooms properly, the second stay they 'misplaced' my deposit and tried to get us to pay an extra $50'000. Mistakes are easily made but the least they could have offered us was a smile but apparently that was too much to ask for. We only returned a second time because we were completely stuck, but needless to say we will not be back a third.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Valparaiso hotels

cape cod, ma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Yes, the rooms are VERY small, but that's fine you're not there to hang out in your hotel room, right? The pros: good showers, hot water good pressure. Good location, close to a few restaurants and a funicular. The cons: just about everything else... First the bed, while it was comfortable it did not have a mattress cover on it, nor did the pillows have liners. I looked inside the pillowcase to see a gray (yes it was no longer white or even beige) foam pillow. At night the thin bottom sheet would come off the mattress and you'd find yourself lying on a bare mattress. No one came to clean the room during out 2 night stay or give us clean towels. The room "looked" clean although I had dirt stuck to my socks when I walked around without shoes. The door handle on the cupboard/closet was broken adding to the run down feel of the place. Breakfast was a roll with guacamole or jam and coffee. The "staff" was almost nonexistent, and were not overly helpful. If you're staying in Valpo more than a night or 2, spend the extra money and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Valparaiso is the port city 70 miles north of Santiago. Very little rooms with no room to walk; have to watch cable tv while lying down. The room was clean as was the private bathroom. The price is right. The city is crowded, small, with winding, very steep, hilly, narrow streets. There are still funiculars all over taking you up hills. Staff at the hotel was very nice and helpful. Continental breakfast was adequate and although they say no parking, there are 3 tight parking spaces. It's actually better to take a taxi from the ship disembarkation and rent a car when you leave the area. We were told the buses in all of Chile are wonderful and a good way to travel. Many people we spoke to said they take a "Pullman Bus" to Mendoza, nearest Argentinian city, with sleeping facilities on the bus. They say the lower level of the bus is most comfortable but upper level is OK and cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrannybabyFSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#14 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ecomusic Hotel
Ecomusic Hotel
#22 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ultramar Hotel
Ultramar Hotel
#18 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#17 of 34 in Valparaiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso

Property: Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso
Address: Monte Alegre 244 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370541, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing