We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful host and value for money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valpo's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valpo's Hostel
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful host and value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Valpo's Hostel, it is in a safe neighbourhood and close to all the action. The best part of this hostel is Carolina, the host. she was absolutely wonderful and helpful and made us feel at home. She speaks fluent english which helped because we knew close to no spanish!
We had booked a night bus for the day we were leaving and we were able to use the lounge and bathroom up until we left(at about 10pm,) which there was no extra charge for. Carolina even stayed up with us and called us a cheap taxi to take us to the bus station.
We did find that the double room facing the street was quite noisy as the walls are pretty thin. The beds were really comfortable, with down duvet blankets, and very spacious rooms.
Overall we absolutely loved this hostel and would recommend it to anyone staying in Valparaiso!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanpe452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We had such a great stay at Valpo's hostel. After being on the road for 8 months, this is the first hostel where I have truly felt at home.

The hostel is run by Carolina who was bright, bubbly and incredibly helpful during our stay.

The hostel is really spacious and in a perfect location in the heart of Valpariso and all it's sights.
It has the comfiest hostel bed I have slept in since starting the trip and had a really relaxed and quiet atmosphere.

Most important of all was that Carolina makes REAL coffee for breakfast and she provided one of the best breakfast I have had so far in my travels of South America.

Carolina plans to turn the bottom area of the hostel into a cafe which means that you will be able to get REAL coffee just a stroll down the stairs away at anytime of the day.

I would definitley recommend this hostel and thankyou Carolina for making it such a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justine1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

This hostel is excellent. If you are staying anywhere else you are wasting your time (and possibly your money) While there is no kitchen(only downside) the dorms are bright and super clean, the hostess is extremely helpful and speaks fluent English. The included breakfast (with real coffee!) is also very good. Hands down great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arfa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples/Brighton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I stayed at Valpo's hostel for 2 nights, following a recomendation.
I have no words to describe how lovely my stay was. The place itself is cozy, the beds are incredibly comfortable (with super soft duvets...bliss), the bathrooms are clean and the breakfast area/kitchen is perfect to make your own meal.
The owner, Carolina, lives somewhere in the property, therefore the place feels like a home. She was beyond helpful. She was caring like a mother with her children! She made sure all the heaters were on (it was a cold night, but with the heaters the place quickly became nice and warm) and in the morning she cooked a really good breakfast (scrambled eggs, fresh warm bread with butter and jam; fresh fruit salad, fruit juice and coffee or tea).
As the description says, this is not a place for wild parties. This is a place to relax, (there is a huge flat screen TV and sofas in the communal area), a place to feel at home when you're away from home.
I would definitely recommend it and I would definitely come back. Best hostel in Valparaiso.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fedejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.2 mi away
Puerta Escondida B&B
Puerta Escondida B&B
#2 of 96 in Valparaiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemuria Hostel
Lemuria Hostel
#12 of 176 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Adlafken
Hostel Adlafken
#25 of 176 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Valija Hostel
La Valija Hostel
#4 of 176 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Acuarela
Hostal Acuarela
#9 of 176 in Valparaiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal La Colombina de Valparaiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valpo's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valpo's Hostel

Property: Valpo's Hostel
Address: Almirante Montt 632, Valparaiso 2371571, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Valpo's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing