We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencia en El Cerro
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Gaston and Alice were exremely friendly and helpful and there is a nice breakfast in the morning in the homely living room served by Gaston. It is situated down a quiet picturesque alleyway not far from restaurants and stores plus the oldest funicular in Valparaiso, Ascensor Concepcion. The house is a big old colonial-type one with lots of character and the rooms were clean and spacious, as were the bathrooms. I liked it a lot and my original one week stay soon turned into a three week one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

Absolutely brilliant spot. There are two adjacent houses, of which I took a private room in the "hostel" side (Pierre Loti 43). Fun people—both those running the place and their guests—great location, comfortable atmosphere, lovely high ceilings, fast wifi. I worked, I played, I ate, I drank, I slept like a baby. Nice place to start off a walk around the city, a bit up a hill, so you wind couterclockwise around the tourist area from there, toward Neruda's house, taking in the art-smeared cityscape as you go... Overall good times!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We found ourselves looking for a hostel last minute, wandering around the Cerros in Valparaiso and one of the hostels that had no room directed us to this one - Residencia en El Cerro. It is a big house right off a main street, in a great location between popular common streets that let you wander anywhere easily.
It is a big, old house and our room was huge, with a closet, a tv, and a huge comfy bed.
There arent many bathrooms but the main room is beautiful and comfortable and the place is homey. The breakfast includes bread, jam, butter, and freshly scrambled eggs and brewed coffee. It´s small and quiet, but really beautiful and homely. There are working computers, wifi, internet, book exchange, maps and recommendations.
For groups - it´s quiet and not many travellers
Not too expensive either

We enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngaloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have just spend one night there and I was very pleased with the attention I received. The house has a great location at Cerro Concepción, easy to go to all the attractions and to the "elevator" that can take you up and down the hill for 300 pesos (0,6 USD approx). The rooms are decent, and the shared bathrooms kept well clean. The breakfast is simple, fits the needs of budget travelers. The only down I had there is that some other guests were out partying and they woke me at 5AM when they were coming back making a lot of noise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Efrago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is a nice little hostel situated in a great location but with privacy and quiet of a pedestrian and historic street. (although room facing the back street can get a little noise - to be expected in this town). When we arrived we did point out an issue with our room, however the staff and owner were very quick to resolve. They were very helpful throughout our stay and we would certainly visit again :)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jchilds_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The hotel has a good reputation and advertises dorms. However, they are in the house of the owner's daughter next door. This is her own residence and she has rooms permanently rented out as well. the dorm room is at the back of the ground floor, a bit dark. The house has cats and there is a pervasive small of cats. The kitchen is well used by her and the tenants. If this description, and the idea of shabby chic and staying with locals floats your boat then book away.

Room Tip: She has rooms on the first floor with a view of the port/sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Francia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales
Hotel Casa Thomas Somerscales
#13 of 35 in Valparaiso
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Latitud 33 Sur
Hotel Latitud 33 Sur
#18 of 35 in Valparaiso
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
Hotel Cirilo Armstrong
#9 of 35 in Valparaiso
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Yellow House
The Yellow House
#8 of 101 in Valparaiso
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nomada Eco Hostel
Nomada Eco Hostel
#1 of 230 in Valparaiso
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Volante Hostal
Casa Volante Hostal
#3 of 230 in Valparaiso
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia en El Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia en El Cerro

Address: Pierre Loti 51, Valparaiso 2370687, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Valparaiso
Price Range: £25 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Beautiful and spacious gorgeous old house located in a typical historic neighbourhood on Cerro Concepcion. Nice view to the sea. Service and attention are personalized. Comfortable rooms and beds, linen/towels supplied, shared lockers. Single room, Double Room and Dormitory, shared bathrooms, fully equiped kitchen for guest, good common areas. Left luggage. Touristic and cultural information. Very good breakfast service, includes real coffee , tea, chocolat, milk, juice, marmalade, butter and bread. . Laundry service. Hot shower. Free Internet Services. WiFi . TV Cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Residencia en El Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing