We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, good base, not so great steps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Destino Bellavista
Ranked #16 of 95 Valparaiso B&B and Inns
Wales
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great staff, good base, not so great steps”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights. It was a 25 minute walk from the bus station. Patricia met us at the hostel even though we were two hours late. If there is no one there there is a mobile number tapped to the door to contact someone.

The house is good, the shower hot and powerful, the room had everything we needed (maybe a fan would have helped as it was hot). Our room was by the terrace which was excellent until smokers congregated out side our window rather than further down the terrace. This says more about fellow guests than the hostal.

The kitchen lay out was strange, there were 3. One had a cooker and kettle, but you had to get your food and cutlery from the two others. That had fridges, kettles, toaster and microwave. As the house is being renovated this will change.

The short cut steps were fine until late afternoon when people congregate on them drinking and high on drugs, they weren't aggressive towards us, but it wasn't nice. After this first experience we walked the long way round, which was fine, but you can take the bus.

Breakfast was left in the fridge the night before and consisted of a sandwich (cheese or ham), yoghurt, juice carton and muffin. Tea and coffee are provided throughout the day. The breakfast is the most generous we've had in Chile so far.

Patricia and Sarah are very friendly and helpful. They speak Spanish and German fluently and Sarah speaks English very well, but Patricia's English isn't as good. When we got there we were given a map, info and safety advice, which was much appreciated.

If we were to go to Valparaiso again we would stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkladyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This Hostal ROCKS!!!!! Lovely big rooms in an interesting house over looking the port of Valpariso. What makes this place though is the owner (Patricia) and her daugher (Sarah). We stayed here over Christmas and they were so lovely. We were each given a small Christmas present, which we put under the tree and opened on Christmas day!!! Lovely, Lovely.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 642Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Hostal destino bellavista is the most welcoming hostel in valparaiso, it is a family run business and it truly is a home away from home. The staff here are fantastic and so friendly, Patricia and sarah are the most beautiful ladies and are so helpful with everything you ask for.

All the rooms have been freshly renovated and are amazing! do not look any further!

BEST HOSTEL IN VALPARAISO.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Thie first thing you will see is Patricia, the owner of the hostel that it is going to make you feel like you are in heaven. Great service and an excellent disposition por everything. Best place to stay in Valparaiso.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Leiton_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Patricia and Sarah - the amazing mother daughter duo - just added to the great experience we had at this great little place.

They picked us up the the airport and welcomed us like family, gave us an abundance of information on Valparaiso, and even helped me with understanding instructions on the foreign med packets I had for my sick boyfriend (and continued to check in on him throughout our stay).

The place was super clean, really cosy and our room was well thought out and nicely decorated. Patricia and Sarah live a few minutes down the road so it really feels like this is your place when you stay here. Great location too just a walk down some steps and your right down town.

Definitely recommend!! Thanks guys for a lovely stay :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tym0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

On arrival Patricia, the owner, was so welcoming with us and seemed very happy to have us arrive. She showed us through the hostal which is really just like a house with a balcony, a few rooms upstairs and a kitchen to cook in. We were lucky as the four of us travelling together were the only people staying there along with a family of three from Texas, which they also had their own upstairs area separate to us. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom clean, Patricia was always popping in during the day if you have any questions. She would leave us a muffin in the morning as well as coffee if you like it. The location is very good too, just have to walk down the end of the street/stairs and you are in one of the main areas of town, just be careful walking back up the stairs of a night time as there is a lot of young people that drink there, not that we had any trouble with them but if you were on your own I would recommend a taxi back up – very cheap. Highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
541 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We moved into Destino Bellevista from Hostel Caracol, which was located right across the street because of several bad experiences we had in the latter. Destino Bellavista was such a nice, cosy place that it almost made up for our poor experience in Caracol.

Rooms here are intimate and comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and the showers hot. The mother-daughter team running the hostel are friendly, welcoming and helpful. They did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

If you value privacy, you'll like Destino Bellavista. Guests are given their own keys and can come and go as they like. There isn't actually anyone manning the reception at the hostel so you're pretty self-sufficient and independent. Staff are only around from 10am - 5pm but there is a number you can call if you need assistance. The family running the hostel lives just around the corner.

While breakfast is not provided, there is a general supplies shop down the road from the hostel that sells very good empanadas mariscos, pino and queso.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Allegretto Bed and Breakfast
Allegretto Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 95 in Valparaiso
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puerta Escondida B&B
Puerta Escondida B&B
#2 of 95 in Valparaiso
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Valija Hostel
La Valija Hostel
#4 of 186 in Valparaiso
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Cerro Alegre
Hostal Cerro Alegre
#18 of 95 in Valparaiso
150 reviews
1.5 mi away
Costa Azul
Costa Azul
#1 of 95 in Valparaiso
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Destino Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Destino Bellavista

Property: Hostal Destino Bellavista
Address: Hector Calvo 338 Cerro Bellavista, Valparaiso 2340000, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Destino Bellavista 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOSTAL DESTINO BELLAVISTA Located in the heart of Valparaiso, the most central area of the town, Bellavista Hill owes its name to the beautiful view that overlooks the bay from its privileged position. Hostal Destino Bellavista is a two storey house, has 8 bedrooms, 3 of them with private bathroom, a full equipped kitchen and a big bright dinning room, from where you can admire the colourful hills and the marvellous bright nights of Valparaiso. At the back of the house there is a cosy and charming terrace, which is used also as the smoking area. We are placed just steps away from La Sebastiana Museum (summer house of our great poet Pablo Neruda) and immersed in The Open Sky Museum Visit Hostal Destino Bellavista, you will be sorrounded of a lovely family atmosphere with the best tips for visiting and enjoying your stay in Valparaiso in a safe and easy way. Valparaiso.... Made of steps, labyrinthine streets and colorful hills. WE REQUEST YOUR TIME ARRIVAL PLEASE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Destino Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing