We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Boutique Sutherland House
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fauna(Valparaiso)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ultramar Hotel(Valparaiso)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 17(Valparaiso)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Valparaiso(Valparaiso)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
114
44
7
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
44
7
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome drinkthe ownersteep drivewayshut offcerro alegrebest view in townminute walkvalparaiso baywould definitely stay here againchilligreat viewclaudioviewscityterracecleanlinessbelonged
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We loved the Sutherland House during our 2 night stay in Valpo. The hotel is in one of the few upscale neighborhoods (Cerro Alegre) which was nice for walking to and from restaurants safely at night (and there are several great ones about 10 minutes down the hill on Almirante Montt and the side streets off of Montt.)

The taxi from the bus station is a little under 6,000 pesos but after arriving the hotel we used the city buses 607 or 612 a few times. They stop right in front of the hotel and will take you all the way to Vina del Mar for only 450 pesos. They are a great way to see the city and its people and definitely the way to go to/from Vina.

As others have noted, the hotel is a beautiful old restored house with modern renovations in areas including the bathrooms. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast each morning on the terrace was a highlight of our stay in Valpo. Claudio speaks almost no English but he had a couple friendly college age boys working the front desk who do speak English.

I recommend walking to Pablo Neruda's house from the hotel as it is a flat 25 minute walk across the top of the mountain on Avenida Alemania past a number of interesting houses and with lots of great views of the city and harbor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baseball_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during shoulder season, and almost had the hotel to ourselves. The hotel is a renovated family property that stands out amongst the neighbouring building, and has excellent views across the city (not just of the docks, as offered by the hotels further down the hill). We didn't speak any Spanish, so we're only able to understand a very small portion of Claudio's and the Sutherland story.

Sutherland House is a 5-10 minute walk to the top of Cerro Alegre / Concepcion, a great area to wander around with a fair selection of restaurants, some shops, and plenty of colour in the buildings that scatter the hillside. Be warned that the area is all relatively steep and stepped, so if you can't handle hills you probably can't handle Sutherland House or Valparaiso.

Sutherland House is about 6000 pesos from Terminal bus station.

Our room had a balcony and excellent views across the city, we loved being able to watch the sunsets, evening lights, and dawn. There isn't a safe but the drawers are lockable. The room was small, basic, clean, with an exceptionally comfortable bed. The bathroom, equally basic and easily a little on the small side, but it did the job. Generally the space suited us as we were travelling light with just two small duffel bags; larger cases might have been a struggle.

Breakfast in the mornings was a simple selection, with the option of eating out on the small terrace. This was a great way for starting the day, and the coffee was good.

The area itself is quiet and we generally slept really well, but the plumbing in the building is a pretty loud. If someone in the building uses the shower or toilet in the middle of the night; you're going to be woken by the shuddering pipe work.

Service can be a little Fawlty Towers.  It's over 50 steps between reception and the roadside gate (which needs to be electronically released by reception), and several times I had to run back up to remind them to release the gate.

Overall, this is a fairly basic offering (more B&B than hotel), we found it a restful place to stay and enjoyed the convenience to Alegre / Concepcion.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

After a 13 day cruise, we stayed at this wonderful place. Claudio is a superb host. Comfortable beds, good breakfast, and the view is simply amazing. One must go up over 60 stairs but, the view is worth it. Sunset from the terrace is spectacular. Claudio is most helpful with anything one might need like transfers or tours.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank 27maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My friend, Cheryl, and I spent one night in Valparaiso before a 13-night South American "Around the Horn" cruise, based on Trip Advisor reviews. Let me say that Trip Advisor has never steered me wrong with any recommendation...and this was no exception. Claudio and Berta, the lovely couple that own and run the Sutherland House were awesome hosts, providing a welcoming drink on their terrace that has a fantastic view of Valparaiso! I believe all of the rooms have amazing views of the city (at least the two my friend and I had!) Since my friend speaks Spanish, she was able to get fascinating stories from Claudio about the history of the building and the city that she relayed to me. Everyone on staff was very accommodating and I wish we could have stayed longer. Some people might complain about the many steps to reach the hotel and the lack of an elevation -- but to me, that's part of the charm. Claudio personally carried our bags up the many steps when we arrived and the climbing was certainly worth the view. I would easily give a top recommendation to Sutherland House if you visit Valparaiso -- and I would certainly give the city top grades for charm and views!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBarclay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This gorgeous hotel is located up on a hill and offers spectacular views, especially during night time when you can see the Valparaiso bay in lights. The owner is a lovely and friendly person who is very attentive to customers. This hotel used to be his own house. At the arrival, champagne is offered and small but delicious breakfast is served out on the terrace. Rooms are simple but authentic. The whole house is just beautiful and staff could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews