We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go if you want a cheap lunch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delicatessen Emporio

Delicatessen Emporio
Ranked #52 of 416 Restaurants in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Fusion, Chilean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Lugar intimo y acogedor con variada gastronomia y enfasis en el servicio.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
169 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Go if you want a cheap lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Nothing special, just a customized menu. Even when the place is really small, it is a lot of work for only one waitress, our food arrived 40 minutes after we order... The music in the background is terrible, higher volume than necessary in that small place and really tacky. I felt sorry to go there, because close are much better places to have lunch with better environment and service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    50
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“5 Star Lunch in Valparaiso”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We just managed to get a table at this small restaurant before the locals arrived to fill the place. As others have indicated the $5900 peso lunch is outstanding with a choice of 3 options for each of starters, mains and desert accompanied by a pisco sour aperitif. We also had the fresh juice as an extra and this is also recommended. The food was fresh, well presented and excellent value for money. The two person team of husband and wife did a great job in the kitchen and front of house. Located not very far up the hill in Urriolo so if you are visiting Valparaiso definitely worth looking for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMMAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Valparaiso”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We saw this restaurant written up in a weekly bulletin that was posted in our hostal and decided to give it a try. It was a long walk downhill from where we were and we arrived there just as we were about to give up on finding it. We were glad we did. It's a prix fixe menus with aperitif, starter (we had the soup) main meal (roasted chicken with risotto) and dessert (tiramisu). There were other more exotic options available, such as salmon and a ceviche starter, but we weren't feeling adventurous that night. No matter, it was all delicious and well-presented. The tiramisu was just ok, but the desserts in Chile always seem a bit underwhelming. In this case, the filling was eggy rather than creamy. This is a minor complaint, however. We would definitely return here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hgavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stumbled upon this place because it was on the same street as our hostal and holy cow... It was outstanding. For about $6,000 pesos I had a pisco sour, an amazing salmon ceviche, a huge and flavorful piece of albacore with rice and an incredible blackberry mousse. My husband had a delicious Caesar salad, authentic gnocchi and the best cream brûlée we've ever tasted. GO!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I really liked this place with only a few tables - short menu with daily specials, veey good and affordable, and the service was excellent. The interior was also nice, even the music - I can really recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Delicatessen Emporio also viewed

Valparaiso Region, Chile
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region
 

Been to Delicatessen Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing